Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cultural Perspectives--listed in descending order by publication date
The Scandal of Pleasure: art in an age of fundamentalism by
Call Number: 111.8509045 ST35Sl; BH39 .S8146 1995
Publication Date: 1995-12-18
Main Stacks; Undergraduate Library
A study of conflicts between modern aesthetics and religious fundamentalism. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Mixed Blessings: New Art in Multicultural America by
Call Number: 704.06930973 L664M
Publication Date: 1990-10-31
Architecture & Art
A study of ethnic art, minority artists, and intercultural communication. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
The Predicament of Culture: twentieth-century ethnography, literature, and art by
Call Number: 306.09 C612p; GN308 .C55 1988
Publication Date: 1988-05-18
Architecture & Art; Social Sciences, Health & Education Library; History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library; and Undergraduate Library
A history and philosophical discussion of 20th-century ethnology, art, and literature. Includes a bibliography and an index.
Call Number: 110 T216A
Publication Date: 1987-11-10
A collection of essays by well-known critics on difference and "otherness" in 19th- and 20th-century history, philosophy, and culture. Contents: 1. Conception: G.W.F. Hegel; 2. Cleaving: Martin Heidegger; 3. Carnality: Maurice Merleau-Ponty; 4. Real: Jacques Lacan; 5. Ecstasy: Georges Bataille; 6. Woman: Julia Kristeva; 7. Infinity: Emmanuel Levinas; 8. Nots: Maurice Blanchot; 9. Rewriting: Jacques Derrida; 10. Transgression: Søren Kierkegaard. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
Black Athena : the Afroasiatic roots of classical civilization by
Call Number: 949.5 B456b
Publication Date: 1987
Vol. 1 & 2 in Main Stacks and Oak St.; Vol. 3 in Classics
A 3-volume study of Egyptian and Phoenician influences on Ancient Greek culture. Vol. 1. The fabrication of ancient Greece, 1785-1985; Vol. 2. The archaeological and documentary evidence; Vol. 3. The linguistic evidence. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Primitivism in Modern Art by
Call Number: 759.9 G58P1986
Publication Date: 1986-12-23
Architecture & Art
A study of primitivism in 19th- and 20th-century art. Includes an index.
Call Number: 950.072 Sa21o1979
Publication Date: 1979-10-12
History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library; Literatures & Languages; Music & Performing Arts
This critique of traditional Western views of Asia and the Middle East is generally considered required by anyone studying literature, history, philosophy, and/or the arts. Includes bibliographical references and index.
The Interpretation of Cultures: selected essays by
Call Number: 301.2 G27i
Publication Date: 1977-05-19
Communications; History, Philosophy & Newspaper Library; Literatures & Languages Library; Social Sciences, Health, & Education Library; Also Online at above link
A collection of essays on cultural theory, some of which use Java, Bali, and the "New States" as examples. Includes bibliographical references and an index.
The Savage Mind by
Call Number: 572 L568PE; GN451 .L3813 1966
Publication Date: 1968-09-15
Communications; History, Philosophy & Newspaper; Oak St.; Social Sciences, Health & Education; and Undergraduate Library
An oft-cited ethnopsychological study, part of the critical canon. With a bibliography.