This history of international pottery includes chapters written by specialists in the various time periods and regions represented. With color photographs, a glossary of technical terms, a bibliography, and an index of names.
This history includes chapters by specialists on the Near East, Egypt, and the Mediterranean; Greek vases; the kilns of Ancient Rome; Islamic ceramics; European majolica and porcelain; and ceramics of North America, China, Korea, and Japan. With color photographs, black-and-white drawings, a glossary, a bibliography, and an index.
A collection of essays based on lectures given during an international symposium in Lhee, Netherlands in 1982. Explorations of various aspects of pottery in historical and ethnoarchaeological studies. Includes bibliographical references with each essay.
This history of American pottery, which uses examples from the Everson Museum of Art's collection, includes essays on ancient American ceramics through American cermaics since 1950. With black-and-white photographs, a bibliography, and an index.
This is a comprehensive study of American art/studio pottery, dinnerware, and other functional wares (including china painting and ceramic decoration and design) produced without a primary profit-making motivation. Researched over a period of six years, it documents ceramics activity from the first recreational china painting enthusiasts, through varying stages of formal ceramic instruction, to the shift from ceramics as craft to art. This invaluable resource details works from non-commercial programs, including the Saturday Evening Girls, the Works Progress Administration, and many others.
Brief survey of pre-Columbian potteryof Central and South America from the second millenium B.C. to the Spanish conquest. Includes a few pieces from the Southwestern U.S. With a classified bibliography.
This history discusses the developments, styles, and trends in pottery in Italy, France, Britain, and other European countries from the Middle Ages to the early 19th century. With color photographs and an index.
A history of Renaissance maiolica based on the Howard I. and Janet H. Stein Collection at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, this work includes several color photographs, a selected bibliography, and an index.
A history of Islamic ceramics from the 8th and 9th centuries to the 19th century, which includes information on works from Syria, Egypt, Iran, Turkey, India, and China. With color photographs, a bibliography, a glossary, and an index.
This catalog of Chinese export ceremics includes introductory historical essays; large color photographs and essays about the many pieces represented; appendices on provenance, donors, armorials, and a list of figures; a glossary; a bibliography; and an index.