Directories: Marks & Makers (books in descending order by publication date)
Ceramic Makers' Marks by Call Number: 738.0275G357cISBN: 9781598741889Publication Date: 2010-11-15Architecture & Art
This book provides reproductions of ceramic makers' marks, organized alphabetically by manufacturer, and within manufacturer by mark. With a list of references and indexes of mark numbers by city, country and state, element, mark type, work, and maker.- Biographies in American ceramic art, 1870-1970 byCall Number: Q.738.0973F774bISBN: 0764336118Publication Date: 2010Architecture & Art Reference
This dictionary serves as a companion to Forster's _Alternative American Ceramics, 1870-1955_ (see "Histories & Handbooks"), offering over 2,000 biographical entries for art/studio potters, pottery owners and managers, decorators, designers, sculptors, china painters, Native American craftsmen, teachers, administrators, arts and crafts enthusiasts, and key figures active in government-sponsored ceramic works programs. Includes a bibliography. 
Marks on German, Bohemian, and Austrian Porcelain: 1710 to the Present by Call Number: 738.20943R669m2007ISBN: 9780764325212Publication Date: 2006-10-01Architecture & Art Reference
Part One of this German/English-language work contains reproductions of porcelain marks with information about the user of the mark, the location and time period during which it was used, and other helpful details. Part Two lists manufacturers by location. Part Three provides images and information on marks that could easily be mistaken for those of other manufacturers, an index of proper names, a bibliography, a list of motifs and symbols appearing in the marks, and an appendix of additional marks that did not appear in previous editions.- Ceramic figures : a directory of artists byCall Number: Q. 738.0922 F679cISBN: 0713651172Publication Date: 2002Main Stacks
Arranged in alphabetical order by the artists' last names, this directory includes biographical information and photographs of ceramics by potters working worldwide. British, American, German, French, and Belgian artists are the best represented here. - Who's Who in Contemporary Ceramic Arts: A Comprehensive Bio-Bibliographical Guide to Austria, Germany, Switzerland byCall Number: 738.03W62ISBN: 3929554011Publication Date: 1996Architecture & Art Reference
This English- and German-language publication includes over 2,000 biographical entries on 20th-century Austrian, German, and Swiss ceramists. - Designers international index byCall Number: Q.016.74544922J184dISBN: 1857390008Publication Date: 1991Architecture & Art Reference
This 3-volume index of artists includes a list of potters with basic biographical information in the section entitled "Ceramics," Volume 3, pp. 1512-1535. Volumes 1 (A-K) and 2 (L-Z) include bibliographical references on these artists. - Directory of European Porcelain: Marks, Makers and Factories byCall Number: 738.2D19h:EkISBN: 9780719800030Publication Date: 1990-05-01Architecture & Art Reference
This directory includes entries on nearly 5,000 European ceramics marks as well as over 2,000 entries that extensive background information on porcelain makers, as the work aims to cover the history of European ceramic art. With a bibliography. - Art Pottery of the United States byCall Number: 738.0973Ev16a1987ISBN: 0961957700Publication Date: 1987-12-01Architecture & Art Reference
This work consists of an encyclopedia of ceramics potters and their marks as well as a directory of studio potters working in the U.S. through 1960. With black-and-white and color photographs and an index. 
Kovels' New Dictionary of Marks by Call Number: 738.0275K849kISBN: 0517559145Publication Date: 1986-12-13Architecture & Art Reference
The main body of this work is divided into sections based on the symbols used in the marks represented (such as anchors, animals, arrows, circles, lines, initials, etc.) Also includes information on the vocabulary of marks, dating systems used by specific factories, additional tips for dating pottery and porcelain, pottery and porcelain " 'Family Trees'," fakes and forgeries, a selected bibliography, and an index.- Sèvres Porcelain: makers and marks of the 18th century byCall Number: 738.0944D269sISBN: 0870992279Publication Date: 1986-01-01Architecture & Art Reference
A guide to artists and marks associated with Vincennes and Sèvres in the 18th century. - Nineteenth-Century Pottery and Porcelain in Canada byCall Number: 738.0971C684n1984ISBN: 0773503935Publication Date: 1984-10-01Main Stacks
A comprehensive history of 19th-century Canadian ceramics. Appendices include a discussion of marks and a list of potters. With bibliographical footnotes. - Pocket Book of British Ceramic Marks byCall Number: 738.0278C959p1976ISBN: 0571131085Publication Date: 1984-01-01Architecture & Art Reference
Intended for use by collectors and dealers, this book offers facsimiles of marks from the 19th and 20th centuries, organized in alphabetical order by towns, then subdivided by names of factories or owners. Approximate dates of use are given with each mark. Includes an index. - Handbook of Pottery & Porcelain Marks byCall Number: 738.0278C959hPublication Date: 1980Architecture & Art Reference
This work is organized primarily by country, with a brief introduction to the ceramics of each country included. Within each of these sections, marks are organized alphabetically by cities and makers. Includes an index of cities, makers, and symbols and initials used in the marks. - The handbook of British pottery and porcelain marks byCall Number: 738.88G541hPublication Date: 1968Main Stacks
This pocket-sized handbook of British ceramics marks is arranged alphabetically by the names of the makers and includes an index by initials. With a chronological list of Staffordshire potters since 1780. - European ceramic art, from the end of the Middle Ages to about 1815 byCall Number: 738H75euPublication Date: 1963Main Stacks
A comprehensive illustrated history/handbook of European ceramics from the 15th century to circa 1815. Volume One is a concise survey with 192 plates and descriptive notes. Volume Two is a dictionary of factories, artists, terms, etc. Includes bibliographies of specialized literature, facsimiles of marks, and a repertory of marks by letters and names in the appendix of Volume Two. - A dictionary of marks: metalwork, furniture, ceramics; the identification handbook for antique collectors byCall Number: 739.21M14dPublication Date: 1962Architecture & Art Reference [non-circulating]
A guide to marks used by metalworkers, furniture-makers, and pottery-makers. Includes a bibliography and an index. - Early American Pottery and China byCall Number: 738Sp25e1948Publication Date: 1948Main Stacks
This history of American ceramics from the Colonial period through the 19th century includes a chronological list of potters and a selected list of marks. - Marks of American potters, with facsimiles of 1000 marks, and illustrations of rare examples of American wares byCall Number: 666.3B23mPublication Date: 1904Main Stacks; full text also available online via the Hathi Trust (see UIUC Online Public Access Catalog)
Facsimile reproductions of over 1,000 marks. Includes brief historical sketches of each region represented.
