Decorative Arts: Ceramics

Architecture & Art

A practical guide for ceramic artists, which includes several color photographs, an index of contributing artists, and a general index.

Architecture & Art

This guide to ceramics making includes chapters on fabrication methods; design, decoration, and glazing; clays; glazes; kilns, firing, and marketing; highpoints in ceramic history; a "portfolio" of contemporary artists; and a "compendium" that consists of technical sections, artists' techniques, a list of artists, a list of museum collections, an annotated bibliography, a list of ceramics magazines, and an index.

Architecture & Art Reference

Detailed but easy to follow definitions for a wealth of terms related to pottery making. Includes color plates, dozens of tables, a bibliography, and a "recipe appendix."

Architecture & Art

This guide includes a brief history of ceramics, but focuses primarily on materials and equipment, techniques and methods, and step-by-step instructions for ceramic artists. With color photographs and illustrations, a glossary, and an index.

Architecture & Art Reference

This handbook explains how to work with various types of clay and how to prepare, apply, and set different types of glazes. Includes a brief "dictionary of clay and glaze compounds," several charts, a select bibliography, and a glossary/index.

Main Stacks

Essays by British experts on the history of ceramics. Contents: 1. The Lustre Tradition; 2. Sèvres: Luxury for the Court; 3. The Blue and White Tradition; 4. The Influence of Japan and the Kakiemon Style; 5. The Observation of Nature; 6. The Debt to Metalwork; 7. The Revival of Craft Pottery; 8. Wares: Useful and Decorative. Includes a bibliography of books in English.

Architecture & Art

This guide includes an introduction which discusses historical, cultural, and social factors that contributed to the growth of studio ceramics in the 20th century as well as chapters on design sources, ceramic form, decoration, colour, kiln techniques, and speculation on the future of studio ceramics. With a bibliography and an index.

Main Stacks

A handbook of designs and techniques used in Oriental and Western pottery. With line drawing diagrams, plates, and a glossary of terms, tools, and materials.