Over 12,000 printed works, including books, pamphlets, and broadsides. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Over 17 million books, periodicals, and government documents digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and research libraries. About 2,500,000 of these works can be read online (because they are public domain works, and therefore freely accessible).

Over 20,000 digitized books. Most of the books in the collection were published before 1923.

1802-1925. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

About 170 periodicals published by, for, or about African Americans. Part of the Archive of Americana.

1740-1940. Over 1,000 titles. Probably the single most important digital collection of early American periodicals. Includes the sub-collection American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, which is particularly strong in trade and labor periodicals.

1951-2015. Over 1,000 alternative press newspapers and periodicals. Currently includes nine subcollections: African American; student protest; feminist; military; LGBTQ; Latino/Latina; literary; American Indian; and radical Right. Click here to view a complete title list for Independent Voices.

Extensive runs of 18 major women's magazines, including Better Homes and Gardens (1886-2005); Cosmopolitan (1928-2005); Essence (1970-2005); Good Housekeeping (1885-2005); Ladies' Home Journal (1885-2005); Parents (1926-2005); Redbook (1903-2005); Seventeen (1944-2005); Town and Country (1846-2005); Woman's Day (1937-2005); Chatelaine (1928-2005); and WIN News (1975-2003). Coverage primarily twentieth century.

Over 100 twentieth century publications, with some outliers (one nineteenth century title, and a few post-2000). The bulk come from the United States, and to a lesser extent Britain and Ireland. Titles are mostly communist and socialist. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

25 periodicals documenting education in the twentieth century, primarily United States and Australia, but also Europe, with emphasis on professional publications like American Teacher, and Black Collegian.

Prison newspapers and newsletters. Click here to view a title list for American Prison Newspapers.

Full color reproductions of 27 periodicals, chiefly British and American. Module I is strongest in magazines for women. Also notable in this module are fashion magazines, children's magazines, travel magazines, and general interest magazines.

Historically significant U.S. farm weeklies, predominantly published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, but including some through the Twentieth Century. Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America.

1896-2015. Art and architecture periodicals, including trade and consumer magazines.

1962-2020.

The popular, American illustrated weekly magazine. One of the few major American periodicals not included in American Periodicals Online. Includes searchable subject indexes, with separate subject access to the illustrations. 1913-1916 available in HathiTrust.

1929-2000.

Influential business magazine for executives, managers, investors, and others engaged in business or commerce.

1880- . Major consumer and trade magazines, from their first issues through recent years. Includes: Variety; Picturegoer; Box Office; Back Stage; Stage; Billboard; Vox; Spin; Rolling Stone; Hollywood Reporter; and more. Emphasis is on Anglo-American publications.

Hundreds of periodicals and books covering the early twentieth century American entertainment industry, including radio, television, and motion pictures.

1853-1922. Trade journals published for the entertainment industry in the United States, with a focus on vaudeville. Digitized by the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois.

1967-present (may not include the most recent issues). Full color reproductions. Although principally a music magazine (rock-and-roll and other youth-oriented music genres), it was influenced by the underground press movement of the era, publishing articles on politics and culture from a left wing perspective.

Folk and rock magazines from the late 20th and early 21st centuries. No longer available.

1931-present. Full color reproductions. Includes the magazine's preceding title, Apparel Arts, 1931-1958. Includes a company/brand name index.

1892-present. Full color, searchable facsimiles of every issue, with garment type, designer and brand name indexes.

1867-present. Full color, searchable facsimiles of every issue. Supports browsing by product name.

Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody was founded in 1924 by Joseph Patterson, publisher of the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, publisher of the Chicago Tribune. They set out to make the magazine more topical, daring and exciting than any competitors. Information was presented in a style heavily influenced by the emerging motion picture industry and focused on the most sensational and popular issues. Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).

1888-present.

Full color reproductions of influential photojournalism magazine.

1865-present. Facsimile edition of the influential, American liberal news weekly.

15 periodicals covering international relations and global policy in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, including Newsweek, Church and State, and State Legislatures.

23 periodicals from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, chiefly United States and Britain, including Catholic World and Islamic Horizons.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Women's suffrage periodical published by Helen S. Harmon-Brown in New Canaan, Connecticut. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Published in Washington, D.C. by the National Woman’s Party. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Dozens of major metropolitan newspapers, like the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, major African American newspapers like the Chicago Defender, and more. Especially strong coverage of the 20th century. Click here to see a complete list.

Hundreds of titles, with especially strong coverage of the eighteenth- and nineteenth-centuries, but also strong coverage of the early twentieth-century. Includes the following sub-collections: Early American Newspapers, Series I through VII, X, XIII, and IV (1690-1922); Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980); African American Newspapers, Series I-II (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1977); and Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876). Newspapers were primarily sourced from the American Antiquarian Society and the Center for Research Libraries. Part of the Archive of Americana.

American newspapers published during 1836-1960. Also includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory with information about American newspapers from 1690 to the present.

Over one hundred newspapers of immigrant communities, with heaviest representation frjom Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Polish, and Slovak newspapers. Click here to view a complete title list for Ethnic American Newspapers. Part of America’s Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

A wide ranging collection that complements our largest collection of digitized African American newspapers, ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers. While ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers covers the major, metropolitan black newspapers of the twentieth century, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides access to a broader range of publications, especially the black press of America's smaller cities, and the few extant issues of the earliest black newspapers, most of which were previously available only on microfilm or in smaller digital collections scattered around the Internet. Click here to view a complete title list for African American Newspapers Series I and II. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

A federated collection of newspaper articles documenting the African American experience. Supports keyword searching, or structured browsing by time period and subject.

Mostly scattered issues of over 300 Hispanic-American newspapers. Purports to be largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the nineteenth and twentith centuries. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" collection at the the University of Houston. Click here to view a complete title list for Hispanic American Newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

Federated collection of newspaper articles documenting the Hispanic American experience. Supports keyword searching and structured browsing by time and period and subject.

59 newspapers, most of which are digitized in full color. Few are already available on our various microfilm collections, so the collection includes many sources that our new to our Library. Collection includes issues from nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries. Click here to view a complete title list for American Indian Newspapers. Formerly titled American Indian Newspapers.

1951-2015. Over 1,000 alternative press newspapers and periodicals. Currently includes nine subcollections: African American; student protest; feminist; military; LGBTQ; Latino/Latina; literary; American Indian; and radical Right. Click here to view a complete title list for Independent Voices.

Guide to finding newspapers at the University of Illinois Library, with an emphasis on historical newspapers and digitized, historical newspapers.

More than one million pages of digitized historic newspapers and trade journals. The titles are organized into four distinct collections: the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (Illinois newspapers); Farm, Field, and Fireside (Midwestern farm newspapers); American Popular Entertainment (entertainment trade journals); and Collegiate Chronicle (college newspapers). Browse the newspapers by date, or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions. The site includes interactive features allowing users to tag articles, correct OCR text, and share on social media. NDNP Partner. For more digitized Illinois newspapers, see the listing in our Newspaper Database.

The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Work Projects Administration of Illinois. Its purpose was to translate into English and classify selected news articles appearing in the Chicago area foreign language press from 1861 to 1938. The project consists of a file of 120,000 typewritten pages translated from newspapers of 22 different foreign language communities in Chicago.

American College newspapers, including newspapers from historically black universities. Included are the Eagle from American University and the Hoya from Georgetown University, both in Washington D.C.; the F&M College Reporter from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, the Lincolnian from Oxford, Pennsylvania, and the Weekly Gettysburgian from Gettysburg, Pennsylvania; the Ithacan from Ithaca College in New York; and the Daily Illini from the University of Illinois.

Nine labor, socialist, and communist newspapers published in the United States. All nine newspapers are connected to the Daily Worker. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Over 200 military newspapers, mostly from English-speaking countries.

The complete run of this newspaper's first edition, which subsequently (in World War II) spun off into dozens of editions for different theaters of war. Library of Congress also has a Guide to the different editions of this important newspaper.

TRIAL. 25 prison camp newspapers. Part of Archives Unbound.

Supports browsing by subject and full text searching against transcripts.

Newsreels (commercial and governmental), archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentary films. Includes global coverage of the 20th century, though from an American perspective. Videos were sourced from the Works Progress Administration, the Black Panther Party Library, the Library of Congress, United Newsreel, Universal Newsreel, Chronoscope, United States Information Agency, National Archives and Records Administration, and more.

Over 200 news-reels from the years 1942-1944. Browse collection by date or country. Collection also includes “dope sheets”, which are records of stories that were excluded from the newsreels.

Popular film newsreels shown in American movie theaters.

All extant episodes from 1949 through 2013.

Television news footage. Collection currently includes footage from 2009-present.

CANCELED. 1968 to the present. Identifies network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN. Some segments are available for viewing online.

Two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990)

Documents selected from the Associated Press Corporate Archives. Collection includes 26 Associated Press Directories from the period 1894-1944; almost 2,000 issues of the Associated Press's internal staff bulletin from the period 1942-2005; Over 200 issues of the A.P. Log, an irregularly published bulletin that described the activities of the A.P., and distributed to member newspapers from the period 1935-2002; over 1,000 issues of miscellaneous serial publications that were distributed internally from the period 1945-2004; 89 issues of the Service Bulletin, an in-house periodical from the period 1904-1927; the Angus M. Thuermer Papers, 1938-1947; the Conrad C. Fink Papers, 1957-1967; the George Bria Papers, 1945-2002; the Haldore Hanson Papers, 1934-1944; the Moses Sperry Beach Papers, 1848-1914; records of the Washington, D.C. bureau from the period 1938-2009; 22 editions of the A.P. Stylebook, from the earliest edition 1953 to 2000; News Department Circulars communicating A.P. policy to field reporters, from the period 1928-1990; the A.P. News Features collection from the period 1944-1993; the News in Pictures collection from the period 1939-1944; miscellaneous publications from 1894-1955; miscellaneous writings about the Associated Press from the period 1874-1985; and wire copy from the following city bureaus: Atlanta, 1949-1994; Austin, 1959-1996; Birmingham, 1959-1988; Chicago, 1931-1991; Dallas, 1946-1993; Miami, 1952-2004; New Orleans, 1957-1995; Pittsburgh, 1961-2000; and San Francisco, 1934-1999.

Part of ProQuest History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975.

Part of ProQuest History Vault: Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975.

375 volumes of Associated Press dispatches from the AP's Washington, D.C. bureau.

Issued in two modules, the first module covers United States Executive Branch publications from 1789 to 1932 (not already printed in the U.S. Serial Set). The second module extends coverage to 1939. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "Executive Branch".

Executive orders and proclamations are legal instruments, and as such carry the force of law. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "Presidential Materials".

Covers the years immediately following World War II to the present. Documents on major foreign and domestic events, including the Cold War, Vietnam, foreign policy shifts, the civil rights movement, and others. Former title: Declassified Documents Reference System. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

A selected collection of the most important documents from collections of presidential papers. Includes: Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Washington through Taft; the Public Papers of the Presidents, Hoover to Obama; the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Carter through George W. Bush; the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, Obama. Project of the University of California, Santa Barbara.

The Census enumeration forms are used to conduct the Decennial Census. In theory, they identify every resident of every household in the country, along with information about each resident. Information recorded changes from census to census, but usually includes each resident's relationship to the head of household, the date of birth, the person's country of origin, the person's occupation, gender, marital status, whether or not the person owns his or her own home, and other information. Because so much personal information is included on these forms, they are not made publicly available until 72 years after it was collected. Thus, the most recently available enumeration forms are from the 16th Census of the United States (1940). Part of HeritageQuest.

TRIAL. From NARA Record Group 210, Records of the War Relocation Authority (Department of the Interior). The records include an abundance of information about evacuees, including name, sex, date of birth, marital status, citizenship status, alien registration number, method of original entry into center (from an assembly center, other institution, Hawaii, another relocation center, birth, or other), date of entry, pre-evacuation address, center address, type of final departure (indefinite leave, internment, repatriation, segregation, relocation, or death), date of departure, and final destination. Part of Archives Unbound.

1861-. Documentary history of U.S. foreign policy, organized by presidential administration. More recent volumes only available in print. Some individual volumes are cataloged separately in the Library's online catalog, e.g., Foreign relations of the United States, 1952-1954 Vol. X, Iran, 1951-1954 (327.73055 UN32F Education Library). Publication usually delayed about twenty years.

Declassified government documents that cover U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.

Declassified records drawn from the archives at George Washington University.

Cold War era open source intelligence. The bulk of the collection comprises translations of technical reports from around the world, with an emphasis on publications of Communist and Third World nations. In addition to technical reports, the collection includes translated television and radio transcripts, translated newspaper and periodical articles, translated government documents, translated speeches, and translated books. Topics range from science, economics, the military, sociology and the environment to specific events like conferences, congresses, and symposia. For more information on the JPRS, see David Y. Allen's article, "Buried Treasure: The Translations of the Joint Publications Research Service" in Government Publications Review, March/April 1982.

Collection of Central Intelligence Agency documents commonly requested by FOIA (Freedom of Information Act) requests, historically significant CIA special collections, and CIA documents more than 25 years old.

TRIAL. Records from the U.S. State Department. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Digitized from NARA Record Group 84, Records of Foreign Service Posts of the Department of State, U.S. Consulate, Beirut, The Lebanon, Confidential Files. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm set The Complete Records of the Mission of General George C. Marshall to China, December 1945 -January 1947, selected from Record Group 59, Records relating to the U.S. Department of State. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Documents from the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm sets John F. Kennedy and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 1: Subject File; John F. Kennedy and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 2: Regional Security File; and John F. Kennedy and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 3: Departments and Agencies. Part of Archives Unbound.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Digitized from the microfilm set, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm set, Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944. Part of Archives Unbound.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean history.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

Part of Latin America and Caribbean History.

TRIAL ENDED. Online access to 21 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including Cuba, Part 1: 1930-1939; Cuba, Part 2: 1940-1945; El Salvador, 1930-1945; Honduras, 1930-1945; Nicaragua, 1930-1945; Japan: Part 1, 1914-1918; Japan: Part 2, 1919-1929; Japan: Part 3, Section A, 1930-1935; Japan: Part 3, Section B, 1936-1941; Aden, 1925-1941; Beirut, 1925-1941; Iran, 1925-1941; Iran, 1942-1944; Iraq, 1925-1941; Iraq, 1942-1944; Jerusalem, 1925-1941; Lebanon, 1942-1944; Russia and the Soviet Union: Part 1, Russia: From Czar to Commissars, 1914-1918; Russia and the Soviet Union: Part 2, The Soviet Union, Section A: 1919-1924; Russia and the Soviet Union: Part 2, The Soviet Union, Section B: 1925-1935; and Russia and the Soviet Union: Part 3, The Soviet Union: 1934-1941.

TRIAL ENDED. Online access to 14 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including Argentina, 1918-1941; China, 1911-1941; France, 1919-1941; Germany, 1919-1941; Germany, 1941-1944, Part 1: Geography, Population and Social Conditions, Politics and Government, Economy, and Finance; Germany, 1941-1944, Part 2: National Defense, Army, Navy, and Military Aviation; Italy, 1918-1941; Japan, 1918-1941; Mexico, 1919-1941; Soviet Union, 1919-1941; Soviet Union, 1941-1944; Combat Estimates, Europe, 1920-1943; Combat Estimates, Western Hemisphere, 1920-1943; and the Bi-Weekly Intelligence Summaries, 1928-1938.

A large collection of the files and records most recently requested by Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. Examples: Weather Underground, Black Panther Party, Dorothy Day, Mississippi Burning, Elijah Muhammad, and more. Suspected communists and socialists were frequently investigated.

TRIAL. FBI documents on the investigation that led to the arrest of six people in 1945 on suspicion of espionage. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. FBI records on the organization Vietnam Veterans Against the War (VVAW). Digitized from the microfilm set America in Protest, Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, Part 1: Vietnam Veterans Against the War, 1968-1975. Part of Archives Unbound.

1968-1979 . FBI Files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. Digitized from the 26 reel microfilm collection, FBI Files on the American Indian Movement and Wounded Knee. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. FBI records on the Black Liberation Army (BLA), from the period 1970-1983. Part of Archives Unbound.

U.S. State Department, FBI, and El Salvadoran government memoranda, correspondence, specimen analyses, photographs of weapons, field reports, newspaper clippings, witness statements, and polygraph examination reports, as well as information requests made by the victims' families to both the U.S. and El Salvadoran governments. Part of Latin America and the Caribbean History.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Digitized from the following microfilm sets: COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI; FBI File on Abbie Hoffman; FBI file on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina; FBI File on Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers; FBI File on the Fire Bombing and Shooting at Kent State University; FBI Files on Malcolm X; FBI File: MIBURN (Mississippi Burning); FBI File on Muslim Mosque, Inc.; FBI File on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU); FBI File on the Students for a Democratic Society and the Weatherman Underground Organization; FBI File on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee; and FBI Investigation File on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm sets FBI File on A. Philip Randolph; FBI File on Adam Clayton Powell; COINTELPRO: Black Nationalist Hate Groups; FBI File on the Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID); FBI File on the Black Panther Party, North Carolina; FBI File on the Committee for Public Justice; FBI file on Elijah Muhammad; FBI File on the Highlander Folk School; FBI File on the KKK Murder of Viola Liuzzo; FBI File on Malcolm X; FBI File: MIBURN (Mississippi Burning); FBI File on the Moorish Science Temple of America; FBI File on the Murder of Lemuel Penn; FBI File on Muslim Mosque, Inc.; FBI File on the NAACP; FBI File on the National Negro Congress; FBI File on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU); FBI File on Paul Robeson; FBI File on the Reverend Jesse Jackson; FBI File on Roy Wilkins; FBI File on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee; FBI File on Thurgood Marshall; FBI File on W.E.B. Du Bois; FBI Investigation File on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference; FBI Surveillance File: Malcolm X; and FBI Investigation File on Marcus Garvey. Part of Archives Unbound.

1941-1982. F.B.I. records. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Records from the FBI. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Davis was an African American leader in the Communist Party. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Records from the FBI, ATF, and the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department. Part of Archives Unbound.

Records from the United States National Archives and Records Administration documenting efforts to revoke the citizenship of Indians naturalized as U.S. citizens, and to exclude Indians from admission to the United States. Digitized from NARA microfilm publication M1868: "Department of Justice and U.S. Attorney General records produced herein primarily concern the United States government's prosecution of [Indian] nationalists in the "Hindu Conspiracy Case" for violations of the Espionage Act (40 Stat. 217-231)." Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. FBI records on James Meredith. Includes selections from Meredith's correspondence from the period. Part of Archives Unbound.

All public and private bills and resolutions of the United States Congress. Previously called "Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions". Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "Bills and Laws".

Both the published and unpublished hearings, which includes transcripts of spoken testimony, written statements of witnesses, reports, exhibits, correspondence, or other material submitted by interested parties. Hearings are held by Congressional committees as a way of collecting the information needed to inform decision making. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select the file "Hearings".

In ProQuest Congressional (for best results, choose the "Congressional Record Only" search tab). The Congressional Record, which began publication in 1873, is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Its predecessors were the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). The Hein Online Congressional Documents Library has a slightly more-extensive collection: the Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789), the Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1825-1837), the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), the Congressional Record (1873-present), and the Congressional Record Daily (1980-present, updated daily). Part of ProQuest Congressional: navigate to "Advanced Search" and select the file "Congressional Record".

Part of ProQuest Congressional. Combines two separate files: CRS Reports, 1916-present; and Committee Prints, 1830-present. CRS Reports are produced by the Congressional Research Service, an official arm of the United States Congress, in response to requests from Congress. Committee Prints are studies and reports produced for specific Congressional committees. Both CRS Reports and Committee Prints are used to support Congressmen and Congresswomen in their legislative work. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "CRS Reports".

A collection of Congressional "Reports" and "Documents". A Congressional Report is an official report to the House of Representatives or the Senate, issued by a House or Senate committee, usually related to legislation about to be considered by Congress. Congressional Documents, on the other hand, are typically reports to Congress by Executive Branch departments, but can also include documents received by Congress from other sources. Congress began publishing the Serial Set in 1817. The predecessor to the Serial Set was the National State Papers of the United States, also known as the American State Papers. The American State Papers cover the years 1789-1817, and then were published alongside the Serial Set until 1838. The Serial Set and the American State Papers are also available through ProQuest Congressional. ProQuest Congressional's version of the Serial Set includes the most recent volumes, whereas the version linked above (Readex) ends with the volumes for the 96th Congress in 1980.

An additional, specialized search module for the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Serial Set Maps allows users to focus searches on the maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity. Serial Set Maps will eventually cover the full scope of the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Please look under Search Hints to see the range of congresses and sessions currently covered.

Links Congressional documents like bills, committee hearings, committee reports, and Congressional Record entries (debates and other floor action including votes)--the multiple versions of a bill and publications that document the (typically fairly complicated) history of a Public Law. Organized by Public Law number. Not comprehensive, with emphasis on landmark legislation. Currently goes back to 1930.

Centerpiece of this collection is a complete run of the United States Reports, which is the official, published version of all Supreme Court rulings. Expect a lag of several years between a ruling and its final, published form. After the Court rules on a case, the ruling is issued (within several days) as a numbered "Slip Opinion." These slip opinions are eventually compiled and published as Preliminary Prints prior to their final publication in the U.S. Reports. The Hein Supreme Court Library also includes a large collection of books and periodicals on the Court and its rulings.

Almost 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. Digitized from the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and the the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.

Unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations that document Anglo-American trials, with coverage of the British Empire. Digitized from the collections at Harvard University, Yale University, and the Bar of the City of New York.

Major collection of government documents, including documents of the states, federal U.S. documents (statutory law, administrative law, case law), documents of foreign countries, international law, and more. Also includes a large collection of legal periodicals.

Historical record of statutory, administrative, and case law for U.S. federal government, states, and territories.

Published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.

Unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations that document Anglo-American trials, with coverage of the British Empire. Digitized from the collections at Harvard University, Yale University, and the Bar of the City of New York.

Cold War era open source intelligence. The bulk of the collection comprises translations of technical reports from around the world, with an emphasis on publications of Communist and Third World nations. In addition to technical reports, the collection includes translated television and radio transcripts, translated newspaper and periodical articles, translated government documents, translated speeches, and translated books. Topics range from science, economics, the military, sociology and the environment to specific events like conferences, congresses, and symposia. For more information on the JPRS, see David Y. Allen's article, "Buried Treasure: The Translations of the Joint Publications Research Service" in Government Publications Review, March/April 1982.

Treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence, much of it historical. Includes rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online. Part of HeinOnline.

Online access to 37 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including East St. Louis Riot of 1917; Martin Luther King Jr. FBI Files, Parts I and II; Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929; Several series of records on civil rights during the Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Carter, and Bush administrations; and more.

TRIAL ENDED. Online access to 9 microfilm sets: Civil Rights during the Ford Administration; and Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration (seven sets of FOIA records and the Subject File of the White House Office of Records Management, 1981-1989).

Created by the Federal Reserve in St. Louis, FRASER is a digital collection of published and unpublished sources that document U.S. economic history, with an emphasis on publications of the Federal Reserve. Browse the collections by publication date, author, title, theme, and subject. The "theme" browse is basically a browse by broad subject, while the "subject" browse is a browse by more specific subject. The "Archives" section is especially impressive, as the archival collections are digitized down to the folder level, with archival organization retained, and rendered in full color. Covers all periods of American history, but is especially strong for twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

The official catalog, issued by the Government Printing Office, of the publications of the United States government that were available for purchase or distribution to depository libraries.

1789-present. See also the two Electing the President collections in Archives Unbound for party platforms and other information.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound. See also CQ voting and Elections Collection for statistical data and other information dating back to 1789.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound. See also CQ voting and Elections Collection for statistical data and other information dating back to 1789.

British government documents, mostly from the Foreign Office, but also from the Colonial Office, the Dominions Office, and the War Office. "Confidential Prints" were diplomatic dispatches and related documents deemed sufficiently important to be printed and then circulated among government officials. The prints were grouped into series by geographical region, and then numbered consecutively, but after being transferred to the Public Records Office, the prints were organized according to the National Archives' system of provenance.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

The complete British National Archives record series FCO (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) 7 and 82 for the entire period 1969-1974.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia, from 1629 to 2000. From the Newberry Library.

Based on Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright's Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, but enhanced with GIS encoded data.

1948-present. Statistical data produced by governmental agencies, private organizations, and major intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations. Emphasis on the United States, with some international coverage.

The Statistical Abstract was the official statistical compendium of the United States government, issued annually from 1878 to 2012. Since 2013 it has been compiled and published privately. Useful not only as a direct source of statistical data, but also as an index to statistical sources (mostly U.S. government agencies).

Compiled from the U.S. Decennial Census returns, and other published sources. Includes excellent, explanatory essays by expert demographers. Also includes a detailed subject index.

Public opinion polls, demographic research, and statistical reports. Bulk of their publications cover 1990-present.

Access to over 5,000 annual statistical publications of the United States Federal Government, with coverage back to 1973; over 2,200 annual statistical publications of American states and businesses; and over 2,500 annual statistical publications from International governmental and non-governmental organizations, like the United Nations, the European Union, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, and more.

Survey data from about 150 polling organizations, including Gallup. Emphasis on the United States, with some international polls. Coverage back to the 1930s.

Data on over 20,000 socio-economic indicators from 1790-present. Capable of using these statistical data to generate custom, interactive maps. Data drawn from the United States Census, 1790 to 2010; the American Community Survey, 2005 to 2012; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study, 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US); and InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010.

Compiled statistics derived from the Decennial Census long forms and short forms.

Based on New Deal-era maps and reports created by the Home Owners' Loan Corporation of the Federal Government. These maps and accompanying reports helped to codify the practice of redlining.

Using data reported by municipalities, this site documents the number of families, by race, displaced through federally-funded urban renewal projects.

Detailed descriptions of urban areas. The original maps were printed in color, and the digitized versions are low resolution black-and-white, resulting in significant loss of information. Full-color reproductions of the originals held by the University of Illinois Map Library are available here.

Newsreels (commercial and governmental), archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentary films. Includes global coverage of the 20th century, though from an American perspective. Videos were sourced from the Works Progress Administration, the Black Panther Party Library, the Library of Congress, United Newsreel, Universal Newsreel, Chronoscope, United States Information Agency, National Archives and Records Administration, and more.

Documents from the Gilder Lehrman Collection at the Gilder Lehrman Institute for American History. Record series digitized include the Henry Knox Papers; the Livingston Family Papers; hundreds of record series documenting the years 1493-1859; hundreds more documenting the years 1860-1945; a collection titled "Papers and Images of the American Civil War"; and a selection of Civil War era newspapers and periodicals. Inludes subject indexes. Note: the Henry Knox papers in this collection do not duplicate the papers in the microfilm collection, which was created from the papers at the Massachusetts Historical Society, not the Gilder Lehrman Institute. Being released in modules. Modules now available: Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859; and Module II Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.

Works on American and British law.

Colonial times to the present. Non-fiction works, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, books, pamphlets, and letters, with brief, biographical entries for all authors. Some of the documents were previously-unpublished. Supports browsing by date, event, and other subjects.

Newspapers, periodicals, oral histories, organizational records, personal papers, pamphlets, and ephemera that document the history of African American communities in Chicago, St. Louis, Atlanta, New York, North Carolina. Highlights of the collection include the Chicago Urban League records (1917-1985), the Town of Pullman records (1876-1919), the Lea Demarest Taylor papers on housing and race relations, 1893-1966, the Urban League of St. Louis records, and an extensive oral history collection. Collection is organized around five broad themes: Desegregation, Urban renewal and housing problems, Civil rights activities and protests, Race relations and community integration, and African American culture.

Online access to 37 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including East St. Louis Riot of 1917; Martin Luther King Jr. FBI Files, Parts I and II; Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929; Several series of records on civil rights during the Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Carter, and Bush administrations; and more.

TRIAL ENDED. Online access to 9 microfilm sets: Civil Rights during the Ford Administration; and Civil Rights during the Reagan Administration (seven sets of FOIA records and the Subject File of the White House Office of Records Management, 1981-1989).

Issued in modules. 36 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Bayard Rustin Papers, the Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, the Papers of A. Philip Randolph, the Records of the American Committee on Africa, the Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Claude A. Barnett Papers, and more.

TRIAL ENDED. 13 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968; the Black Power Movement, Part 2: The Papers of Robert F. Williams; Congress of Racial Equality Papers (8 modules, covering 1941-1976); the Midwest Academy (Chicago, Illinois) Records, Heather Booth's Personal Files, 1964 and 1984; the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972; and The Claude A. Barnett Papers, 1918-1967, Series 2: Africa and Other Foreign Interests, 1925-1966. Part of ProQuest History Vault.

Documents from the Archives of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries. The Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries was established for the purpose of bringing the expertise of social scientists to bear on the problem of race relations in the United States. Although the entire archive has not been digitized, the collection includes significant holdings of case studies, reports, audio recordings, scrapbooks, statistical data, academic studies, photographs, periodicals, correspondence, government documents, posters, and more. The collection also features extensive editorial apparatus intended to assist the user with exploring and interpreting the documents.

Digitized from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection, American Indian Histories and Cultures contains both published and unpublished primary sources that document the American Indian experience from first contact with Europeans through the mid-20th century.

Books, newspapers, periodicals, manuscript sources, and photographs that document American Indian experience in North America.

Photographs and artifacts documenting American Indian history. Covers both the Indians of North America and the Indians of South America.

Almost 4,000 oral histories, including more than 900 interviews with Native Americans (bulk are Seminole, Cherokee, and Creek), as well as significant collection of African American oral histories, with emphasis on civil rights movement in Florida.

Diaries, letters, postcards, personal narratives, trench literature, maps, scrapbooks, albums, photographs, sketches, paintings, sheet music, cartoons, posters, propaganda, and other ephemera. Documents the war from a global perspective, covering multiple war fronts (Western Front, Ireland, Italian Front, Eastern Front, Balkans, Gallipoli, Middle East, Africa, Asia, the Pacific, neutral countries), and including documents in over 30 different languages (Afrikaans, Arabic, Belgian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Malay, Maori, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slavic, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tamil, Turkish, Ukrainian, Welsh, and Yiddish).

In addition to oral histories, collection includes realia, pamphlets, advertisements, art objects, cartoons, certificates, correspondence (including greeting cards), diaries, flight logs, leaflets, manuals and guidebooks, maps, military papers, newspapers and newspaper clippings, magazines and magazine clippings, photographs, posters, books, scrapbooks, and sheet music.

Selections from the papers of David Sarnoff at the Hagley Museum and Library, as well as published sources like trade catalogues, periodicals, and pamphlets from the University of Maryland's Special Collections and University Archives. This digital collection focuses on Sarnoff's work for RCA, and covers the 1920s through the 1970s, when Sarnoff was a commercial manager and later executive for the company. Sarnoff was influential in developing entertainment and news programming for radio and television, which helped rapidly to popularize the new media. He encouraged RCA to invest in new technologies (such as color TV).

Diaries, letters, autobiographies, memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, alternative press periodicals, and scholarly commentary.

Underground periodicals, pamphlets, leaflets, posters, photographs, realia, and newsreels.

Emphasis on protest and social change. Archival material from the Browne Popular Culture Library (Bowling Green State University), the Bancroft Library (University of California, Berkeley), the British National Archives, the University of Sussex Library, and the Rock Source Archive.

The 1980s, primarily in the Anglophone world, especially the United States, the U.K., Australia, and Canada. Documents selected for primary source potential in several key research areas: Black Resistance Movements; Conflict and Disasters; Consumer Culture and Materialism; Disability Rights; Environmentalism; Feminism; Grassroots Activism and Community Groups; Health and Social Issues; Indigenous Rights; New Media and Technology; Politics and Rise of Conservatism; Popular Culture; Religious Movements and Spiritualism; Sexuality and Identity; Subcultures and Fandom; and Threat of Nuclear War.

1810 and 1930, with an emphasis on America, this collection features 2,200 children’s books and 6,500 other documents, including instructional texts (readers, primers, atlases, spelling books, painting books); religious texts; sheet music; ephemera (calendars, postcards, certificates, pamphlets); realia (board games, card games, stereoscopic photographs, paper dolls, toys); sources from the archives of the children’s book publisher McLoughlin Brothers (correspondence, catalogs, drawings, paintings); and artefacts documenting the history of children’s book production with an emphasis on printing and chromolithography. To help users explore the collection, the documents have been organized around twenty key themes: Animals and Nature; Calendar Events and Holidays; Crime and Punishment; Disability; Education; Family; Gender and Sex; Illness and Death; Leisure and Play; Morality, Manners, and Consequences; Nationality and Place; Poverty, Debt, and Welfare; Professions; Race, Ethnicity and Racism; Religion; Slavery; Temperance and Addiction; Travel; War and Revolution; and Women in Publishing.

18th to early 20th centuries. Ship logs, manuscripts, business records, newspapers, books, maps, realia, ephemera, paintings, photographs, and other illustrative documents, organized around 18 research themes: Cultural Exchange; Arts and Artifacts; Religion, Faith, and Philosophy; Social Life; Education; Crime; Employment and Labor; Health and Welfare; Race Relations; Travel and Tourism; Exploration and Discovery; The Natural World; Migration and Immigration; Politics, War, and Diplomacy; Trade and Commerce; Regulation and Legislation; Transport and Communication; and Advertising and Consumption.

Books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides. Emphasis on American women's social, cultural, and popular history. Digitized from the collections of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University Library and the New York Public Library. Collection aims to showcase the role of religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, with a concentration on conduct of life and domestic management literature. Collection covers regional, urban, and rural settings.

1650-1920, with bulk of documents from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Emphasis is on British colonialism in North America, Africa, and Australasia. Hybrid collection of books, government documents, legal records, correspondence, business records, maps, diaries and memoirs, pamphlets, ephemera, realia, artwork, and more. Organized around fifteen broad themes: Travel and Exploration; Natural World; Land and Property; Government and Politics; Warfare and Military History; Law and Order; Business and Commerce; Industry and Technology; Agriculture; Art and Entertainment; Healthcare; Women’s History; Children and Family; Religion; and Indigenous Peoples. Collection can also be browsed by subjects (topics, people, and places).

A subset of the record collections in Ancestry.com. Includes: U.S. Decennial Census enumeration forms (1790-1940); city directories (1821-1989); 1850 and 1860 slave schedules (from the Seventh and Eighth U.S. Decennial Censuses); Indian census rolls (1885-1940); U.S. Decennial Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 (availability of records varies by state); and U.S. Decennial Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 (emphasis on agriculture schedules and manufacturing/industry schedules).

Documents from American advertising firm J. Walter Thompson, ca. 1887-2014, with bulk of the documents covering 1945-1990. Documents include advertisements; annual reports and internal brochures; artwork; briefs and scripts; financial data; meeting minutes; memoranda and correspondence; newsletters; newspapers and magazines; product packaging; presentations, writings, and speeches; press releases; research; and reports.

The archives of market research expert Ernest Dichter, along with records from the consulting firms for which he worked. Collection includes Dichter's reports, business correspondence, notes, pilot studies, proposals, and examples of advertisements based on his research. Browse the collection by industry type, or perform keyword searches.

Letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and other materials from 28 digitized archival collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.

Comprises twelve sub-collections: American Bureau of Industrial Research: Manuscript Collections on the Early American Labor Movement, 1862-1908 -- American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations Pamphlets, 1889-1955 -- American Federation of Labor Records, Part 1: Strikes and Agreements File, 1898-1953 -- American Federation of Labor Records, Part 2: President's Office Files, Series A: William Green Papers, 1934-1952 -- American Federation of Labor Records: Minutes of the Executive Council of the American Federation of Labor, 1893-1955, Part 1: 1893-1924 (with Vote Books, 1892-1924) -- American Federation of Labor Records: Minutes of the Executive Council of the American Federation of Labor, 1893-1955, Part 2: 1925-1955 (with Vote Books, 1925-1954) -- CIO and Industrial Unionism in America: Adolph Germer Papers -- IO and Industrial Unionism in America: Minutes of the Executive Board of the Congress of Industrial Organizations, 1935-1955 -- John Mitchell Papers, 1885-1919 -- John William Hayes Papers, 1880-1921 (Knights of Labor) -- State Labor Proceedings: AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO Conventions, 1885-1974 -- Terence Vincent Powderly Papers, 1864-1937 (Knights of Labor). Part of ProQuest History Vault.

Brochures, posters, guidebooks, maps, ephemera, periodicals, films, correspondence, scrapbooks, travel journals, photographs, postcards, company records, government documents, and monographs documenting the history of tourism on all continents, and organized around the following themes: Women and Tourism; Children and Families; Road, Rail and Air Travel; Accommodation, Hospitality and Entertainment; Package Tours, Cruises and Organized Travel; Beachfront: Seaside and Coastal Destinations; The Great Outdoors; Urban Tourism; Health and Medical Travel; Historical, Cultural or Religious Tourism; International Relations; and Planning and Business. 1850 to the 1980s.

Letters, manuscript trip logs, minutes of meetings of the Board of Directors, reports, contracts, membership sales and subscriptions records, planning documents, financial statements, press releases, publications, guides, including the 1928 logbook of Lincoln Highway markers made by local Boy Scouts, and strip maps. The collection includes images of the Lincoln Highway.

Digitized texts, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, archival sources, and sheet music that document the history of the United States, including African American history, religion, immigration, and urban history.

Sources documenting the emigration of people from Europe and Asia to the United States, Canada, and Australasia. Document types include letters, diaries, scrapbooks, artwork, photographs, maps oral histories, pamphlets, ship logbooks, realia, legal papers, and government documents, including all 195 volumes of the British National Archives Record Series CO 384 (War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Emigration Original Correspondence).

Over 2,000 books, pamphlets, serials, diaries, biographies, manuscripts, and archival materials, as well as over 7,800 photographs from Harvard University's library and museum collections.

Documents authored by over 2,000 immigrants. Keyword search the collection, or browse by subject (e.g. Ku Klux Klan, Eugene Debs, Abortion, Amnesty, Crime), personal events (e.g. Arrest, Death of child, Wedding), nationality/cultural heritage, places in North America, or date.

Colonial period to 1950. Letters from 1,325 women. Letters have been transcribed, rather than reproduced as digital facsimiles, and they are extensively indexed, as well as searchable by keyword. Biographical information is provided for each author, as well as synopses of many of the source documents, reprinted from Joyce Goodfriend’s 1987 bibliography, The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women. Based on six additional bibliographies: The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women by Joyce Goodfriend; American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals by Laura Arksey, Nancy Pries, and Marcia Reed; Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters by Cheryl Cline; American Diaries in Manuscript, 1580-1954; Canadian Diaries and Autobiographies by William Matthews; And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries Published in English; and New England Diaries, 1602-1800: A Descriptive Catalogue of Diaries, Orderly Books and Sea Journals.

1844-current. Over 800 companies, mostly American.

A collection of books from both world's fairs and state fairs during the period 1834-1918, digitized from a 174 reel microfilm set; records from the Smithsonian Institution and the United States National Museum documenting their roles in world's fairs and international expositions during the period 1867-1940; world's fair memorabilia from the period 1851-1940; publications by and about world's fairs during the period 1843-1922; agricultural trade literature from the period 1820-1926; and trade catalogs and miscellaneous trade literature from the period 1850-1926.

Over 5,300 trade catalogs, and about 2,000 additional ephemeral documents, like leaflets, trade cards, price lists, order forms, sales documents, postcards, manuals, correspondence, and more. Documents organized around the following themes: Product Design; Architecture and Interior Design; Business, Economics and Retail History Fashion and Beauty trends; Architecture and Interior Design; Gender and Domesticity; Women’s History and Women as Consumers; Domestic Technologies and the rise of Labour-saving Devices; Transportation; Domestic Life and Leisure; Food and Drink; and Health and Sanitation. 1850 to 1950.

Books, brochures, audio recordings, cartoons, diaries, court reports, interviews, letters, speeches, videos, and more. Produced by historians Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin. It includes an online journal and more than 1,600 primary source documents and several hundred images. Also included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a series of subject-based teaching strategies. The database is searchable by movements, authors, sources, a controlled vocabulary of subject terms, and other parameters.

1911-1955. Advertisements from the United States and Canada covering five categories: Beauty and Hygiene; Radio; Television; Transportation; and World War II propaganda. Advertisements are drawn from the J. Walter Thompson archives at Duke University Library.

Over 3,300 advertisements digitized from the collections of Duke University Library.

Thousands of television commercials from the firm D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B), ca. 1950s-1980s.

150 films.

1900-2000. Selected primary sources, organized by decade and then sub-organized by broad topics: Arts, Business & Economy, Education, Fashion & Design; Government & Politics, Law & Justice, Lifestyles & Social Trends, Media, Medicine & Health, Religion, Science & Technology, and Sports.

Digital collections and presentations, documenting folk life and social history of the United States. See also the Association for Cultural Equity Archives.

"Over 156,000 pages of transcripts, 6,000 hours of taped interviews, 2,250 informants: form this repository of unique and unpublished primary source material for the study of what is often called the American Jewish experience in the 20th century."

Books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera documenting American radicalism, including sub-collections like Wounded Knee, American Indian Movement, Students For a Democratic Society, Ku Klux Klan, and Black Panthers.

The vast majority of these digital collections relate to California history. Collections have been contributed and digitized by all ten University of California branches as well as libraries and museums in the state. There are over 400,000 items in these collections, including: music recordings, photographs, documents, letters, art, diaries, oral histories, films, and more.

Over 300 sound recordings, 14,000 photographs, and 250 folders of manuscript materials, as well as videorecordings, publications, ephemera, administrative files, and field notes from the Chicago Ethnic Arts Project field survey, ca. 1976-1981.

TRIAL. Transcripts of interviews with Soviet and American leaders, 1950s-1990s. Part of Archives Unbound.

Books, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting nine major themes in the history of medicine: Cholera Epidemics in the 19th Century; the Great Plague of London, 1665; the Boston Smallpox Epidemic, 1721; "Pestilence" and the Printed Books of the Late 15th Century; Spanish Influenza in North America, 1918–1919; Syphilis, 1494–1923; Tropical Diseases and the Construction of the Panama Canal, 1904–1914; Tuberculosis in Europe and North America, 1800–1922; the Yellow Fever Epidemic in Philadelphia, 1793.

Over 175,000 photographs from the golden age of American documentary photography. These pictures were taken as part of the Farm Security Administration's attempt to document the real life impact of the Great Depression and Dust Bowl. Includes the work of Walker Evans, Dorothea Lange, Marion Post Wolcott, Ben Shahn, Theodor Jung, and Arthur Rothstein. For a different way to explore this collection, see Yale University's Photogrammar.

Variety of sources, ca. 1514-2010, that document the role of food in world history, with emphasis on North America and Britain. Document types include Cookbooks, menus, advertisements, food labels, pamphlets, ephemera (trading cards, stamps, posters, postcards, scrapbooks (also called "guardbooks" in this collection), marketing reports, business records, maps, photographs, books, periodicals, diaries, correspondence, government documents, realia, episodes of the radio program "Adventures in Gastronomy", and a variety of film footage from Heinz..

Restaurant menus from the 1850s to the present. Digitized from a collection of 45,000 menus at the New York Public Library.

Collection of menus with emphasis on the American southeast.

Created by the Federal Reserve in St. Louis, FRASER is a digital collection of published and unpublished sources that document U.S. economic history, with an emphasis on publications of the Federal Reserve. Browse the collections by publication date, author, title, theme, and subject. The "theme" browse is basically a browse by broad subject, while the "subject" browse is a browse by more specific subject. The "Archives" section is especially impressive, as the archival collections are digitized down to the folder level, with archival organization retained, and rendered in full color. Covers all periods of American history, but is especially strong for twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

Documents from the Free Speech Movement at the University of California, Berkeley, September-December 1964.

TRIAL. Documents from the Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Part of Archives Unbound.

No longer available. Wide range of digitized sources (manuscripts, narratives, reports, letters, photographs, prints, paintings, audio and video clips) that document the history of social welfare in the United States.

A database version of the Chicago Police Department's Homicide Record Index, which chronicles 11,000 homicides in the city between 1870 and 1930.

1890-1998. 91 paintings and drawings by Western illustrators, along with 968 illustrated Western novels and pulp fiction magazines.

33 oral histories from individuals who witnessed the protests at the 1968 Democrat National Convention in Chicago.

Anarchist pamphlets, posters, photographs, ephemera, and the newsletter of the Selma Inter-Religious Project. The collection documents social protest movements, mostly in the United States. Movements include anarchism, civil liberties, communism, socialism, labor, feminism, pacifism, environmentalism, and student protest. Bulk of the collection dates from the 1960s and later.

Almost 200 oral audio-recorded oral histories, with keyword-searchable transcripts. Also supports browsing by subject.

Books, journals, government records, video, audio, and photographs, with emphasis on the assassinations of John F. Kennedy, Robert F. Kennedy, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Also includes documents on Watergate, Iran Contra, and other government scandals.

International in scope (with heavy emphasis on North America and Europe), the collection is organized around key events and themes, such as internment camps, prison labor, prison riots, juvenile detention, capital punishment, and the economics of mass incarceration. Brings together a variety of document types, such as government documents (including trial documents); institutional records; documentary videos; web content; memoirs, interviews, and personal narratives; pamphlets and ephemera; and literary works. Bulk of the primary sources were created between 1920 and 1950.

49 catalogs from film producers, agents, manufacturers, and distributors. The predecessors to entertainment industry trade newspapers, motion picture catalogs listed films, equipment, posters, slides, lectures, and phonographs available for purchase. Part of the Thomas Edison Papers in ProQuest History Vault.

800 books and pamphlets, ca. 1890-1938, documenting the fight for women's suffrage.

Books, press clippings, photographs, drawings, sheet music, manuscripts, movies, audio recordings, posters, and programs. From the collections of the New York Public Library. No longer available. Reorganized into three separate collections: Denishawn; Sheet Music; and Variety, Vaudeville, and Burlesque.

Photo morgue from one of the most important newspapers in Chicago history.

Interviews, photographs, and other records related to the case of the State v. John Scopes.

Oral histories, photographs, films, slideshows, newspaper clippings, archival material, and contextualizing editorial apparatus like essays and timelines. Includes multiple sub-collections: Segregated Seattle; Chicano/a Movement in Washington; LGBTQ Activism in Seattle History Project; Seattle Black Panther Party History and Memory Project; The Ku Klux Klan In Washington State; Farm Workers in Washington State; Filipino Cannery Unionism Across Three Generations 1930s-1980s; Seattle's Asian American Movement; Tyree Scott and the United Construction Workers Association; The Black Student Union at UW; CORE and the Central Area Civil Rights Campaigns; and The 1907 Bellingham Riots.

1802-1925. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1801-1908. Almost 2,000 pamphlets from the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Emphasis on immigration, child labor, and working conditions.

Several major music recording projects, including Smithsonian Folkways (both released recordings and archival footage); Cook; Dyer-Bennet; Fast Folk; Monitor; Paredon; and more. Also features recordings from around the African continent, made for for the International Library of African Music (ILAM). Finally, documents and recordings from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE) on South Asian music.

Comprises four sub-collections: American Social Health Association Records, 1905-1990; "Addict in the Street" Audio Collection (interviews conducted between 1950 and 1970 with drug addicts); The Job is Never Done: 50 Years of Documenting Social Welfare History (an online exhibit); and the annual Social Work Year Book, 1929-1960.

Thousands of oral histories. Browse by name of interviewer, interviewee, ethnicity of interviewee, occupation of interviewee, and by project (the oral histories are organized by broad, subject-based projects and sub-projects). Includes original audio recordings. Transcripts are keyword.searchable.

Images and text from a report documenting tobacco bag stringing work in North Carolina and Virginia in 1939, with biographical information on the laborers.

Over 3,500 phone books from fifteen states and the District of Columbia. Illinois phone books are all from Chicago area. 1878-1988.

Oral histories documenting Los Angeles history. Not all oral histories listed are available online.

1960s-present. Comics from North America and Europe. Browse by subject (e.g. "Homosexuality" or "Hate Crime"), publisher, or publication date.

Images from the Western United States and the Pacific Northwest region. Topics include women's issues, labor, government, ethnic groups, utopian colonies, social and leisure activities, and Japanese internment camps. Ca. late 1800s to 1950s.

Ca. 1838-1923.

450 photographs, ca. 1875 to 1938, from the Records of the National Woman's Party archive at the Library of Congress.

Over 3,100 books, pamphlets, magazines, trade catalogs, diaries, memoirs, and institutional archives, as well as 1,400 photographs, all from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting women's work in the United States.

Documents (essays, speeches, manifestos, court records, correspondence) from the Women's Liberation movement in the United States, 1960s-1970s.

Oral histories, with audio recordings and transcripts, or working African Americans in Birmingham, Alabama prior to World War II.

1936-1943. Posters created by the Works Progress Administration/Work Projects Administration, an agency of President Franklin Roosevelt's "New Deal" government. Many of the posters promote public health, education, and career training as well as cultural programs. From the collections of the Library of Congress. Part of American Memory.

Oral histories by residents of northeastern Ohio. Several oral histories on labor, strikes, and the steel industry.

Documents drawn from 38 archival collections from around the world, mostly in the United States and United Kingdom. Covers migration and borderlands around the world, 1900 to the present, with emphasis on Mexico and the United States; EU; Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, and Syria; Congo; Germany; Argentina; Canada and the United States; and Turkey.

Oral histories and other sources related to Border Music; the Border Wall and Border Security; Latinas and Politics; Spanish Land Grants; and Mexican American Folklore.

Oral histories, images, and other documents. Covers 1942-1964, but some documents were created later.

Photographs of Oregon's Bracero workers, Mexican citizens that were allowed to work as farm laborers throughout the U.S., ca. 1942 through 1947. Browse collection by topic, or perform keyword searches.

Over 125,000 musical recordings.

Digitized from the Herman Baca Papers at University of California at San Diego. Baca was a Chicano rights activist, ca. 1964-2006.

Mostly scattered issues of over 300 Hispanic-American newspapers. Purports to be largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the nineteenth and twentith centuries. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" collection at the the University of Houston. Click here to view a complete title list for Hispanic American Newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

Two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990)

Thousands of oral histories. Browse by name of interviewer, interviewee, ethnicity of interviewee, occupation of interviewee, and by project (the oral histories are organized by broad, subject-based projects and sub-projects). Includes original audio recordings. Transcripts are keyword.searchable.

Over 1,250 oral histories, from World War II to the present, documenting Latinx experience.

Geographic coverage: California.
Date range: 1946-2007.
Document types: Personal and professional papers, photographs, audiovisual presentations, research files, oral histories, and ephemera.
Topical coverage: LGBTQ experience.
Source Institution: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

Geographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1860-1915.
Document types: Correspondence, speeches, writings, a legal file, financial papers, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and research notes of Dickinson's biographer, Giraud Chester..
Topical coverage: Women's suffrage.
Source Institution: Library of Congress.

Folklorist Alan Lomax's collection of audio recordings, video recordings, and photographs. Covers primarily American folk history, but also Western Europe, Eastern Europe, and Central Asia.

Geographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1970s-1990s.
Document types: Personal papers.
Topical coverage: Native American lesbian writer, speaker, photographer, and political activist Barbara Cameron.
Source institution: San Francisco Public Library.

Geographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1950-1987.
Document types: Correspondence; memoranda; speeches; notes; reports; press releases; financial records; agendas; printed material; and personal papers.
Topical coverage: African-American civil rights; gay rights; international human rights; social reform; pacifism..
Source institution: Library of Congress (originally in the A. Philip Randolph Institute, New York).
Part of ProQuest History Vault: Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1.

Issued in modules. 36 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Bayard Rustin Papers, the Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, the Papers of A. Philip Randolph, the Records of the American Committee on Africa, the Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Claude A. Barnett Papers, and more.

TRIAL ENDED. 13 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968; the Black Power Movement, Part 2: The Papers of Robert F. Williams; Congress of Racial Equality Papers (8 modules, covering 1941-1976); the Midwest Academy (Chicago, Illinois) Records, Heather Booth's Personal Files, 1964 and 1984; the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972; and The Claude A. Barnett Papers, 1918-1967, Series 2: Africa and Other Foreign Interests, 1925-1966. Part of ProQuest History Vault.

Selections from the papers of David Sarnoff at the Hagley Museum and Library, as well as published sources like trade catalogues, periodicals, and pamphlets from the University of Maryland's Special Collections and University Archives. This digital collection focuses on Sarnoff's work for RCA, and covers the 1920s through the 1970s, when Sarnoff was a commercial manager and later executive for the company. Sarnoff was influential in developing entertainment and news programming for radio and television, which helped rapidly to popularize the new media. He encouraged RCA to invest in new technologies (such as color TV).

Geographic coverage: Dallas, Texas.
Date range: 1975-2000.
Document types: Personal papers, photographs, publications, and artifacts.
Topical coverage: LGBTQ experience, Discrimination.
Source Institution: University of North Texas Library.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.

Digitized from the Herman Baca Papers at University of California at San Diego. Baca was a Chicano rights activist, ca. 1964-2006.

Geographic coverage: San Francisco.
Date range: 1941-1976.
Document types: Organizational records of the Mattachine Society (meeting minutes, correspondence), organizational records of the Pan-Graphic Press, publications of the Pan-Graphic Press, organizational records of the Council on Religion and the Homosexual, organizational records for the Society for Individual Rights, organizational records for the Daughters of Bilitis, and records of other organizations.
Topical coverage: LGBTQ experience, the homophile movement.
Source Institution: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

Personal notes, drafts, conference papers, speeches, diary pages, personal and institutional correspondence, interview transcripts, articles, memoirs, newspaper clippings and maps, relating to Reston's journalism career.

Geographic coverage: California.
Date range: 1940s-1990s.
Document types: Kepner's writings, including autobiographies, essays, science fiction, journals, notebooks, fiction, poetry, erotica, correspondence, photographs, curricular material in gay and lesbian studies, organizational records for groups in which he was active.
Topical coverage: LGBTQ life.
Source Institution: ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

Geographic coverage: California.
Date range: 1916-1984.
Document types: Correspondence, unpublished fiction, clippings, transcribed texts from published materials, photographs, writings and personal papers.
Topical coverage: LGBTQ life.
Source Institution: ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

1904-1947. From the collections of the Library of Congress. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Diaries, correspondence, speeches, clippings, realia.

Geographic coverage: North America.
Date range: 1968-2002.
Document types: Personal papers, professional papers, research, clippings, correspondence, academic papers, correspondence and memos, fact sheets, statistics, flyers, meeting minutes, newsletters, programs, and reports.
Topical coverage: LGBTQ Native American communities.
Source Institution: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

Correspondence, diaries, a daybook, scrapbooks, speeches, and ephemera, ca. 1846 to 1906. From the Library of Congress.

Geographic coverage: North America.
Date range: 1970-2007.
Document types: Personal and professional papers of Will Roscoe, founder of Gay American Indians (GAI), organizational records of GAI, clippings, correspondence, research related to gay American Indians, newsletters, member directories, zines, poetry chapbooks, pamphlets about radical politics, organizational records of the San Francisco Queer Club and Circuit Party Outreach Project, interview transcripts, publicity and grant documents, business reports, newsletters, and AIDS outreach materials.
Topical coverage: Native American LGBTQ experience.
Source Institution: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.

Documents selected from the Associated Press Corporate Archives. Collection includes 26 Associated Press Directories from the period 1894-1944; almost 2,000 issues of the Associated Press's internal staff bulletin from the period 1942-2005; Over 200 issues of the A.P. Log, an irregularly published bulletin that described the activities of the A.P., and distributed to member newspapers from the period 1935-2002; over 1,000 issues of miscellaneous serial publications that were distributed internally from the period 1945-2004; 89 issues of the Service Bulletin, an in-house periodical from the period 1904-1927; the Angus M. Thuermer Papers, 1938-1947; the Conrad C. Fink Papers, 1957-1967; the George Bria Papers, 1945-2002; the Haldore Hanson Papers, 1934-1944; the Moses Sperry Beach Papers, 1848-1914; records of the Washington, D.C. bureau from the period 1938-2009; 22 editions of the A.P. Stylebook, from the earliest edition 1953 to 2000; News Department Circulars communicating A.P. policy to field reporters, from the period 1928-1990; the A.P. News Features collection from the period 1944-1993; the News in Pictures collection from the period 1939-1944; miscellaneous publications from 1894-1955; miscellaneous writings about the Associated Press from the period 1874-1985; and wire copy from the following city bureaus: Atlanta, 1949-1994; Austin, 1959-1996; Birmingham, 1959-1988; Chicago, 1931-1991; Dallas, 1946-1993; Miami, 1952-2004; New Orleans, 1957-1995; Pittsburgh, 1961-2000; and San Francisco, 1934-1999.

Folklorist Alan Lomax's collection of audio recordings, video recordings, and photographs. Covers primarily American folk history, but also Western Europe, Eastern Europe, and Central Asia.

Issued in modules. 36 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, the Bayard Rustin Papers, the Mary McLeod Bethune Papers, the Papers of A. Philip Randolph, the Records of the American Committee on Africa, the Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Claude A. Barnett Papers, and more.

TRIAL ENDED. 13 previously-microfilmed archival collections, including the Arthur W. Mitchell Papers, 1898-1968; the Black Power Movement, Part 2: The Papers of Robert F. Williams; Congress of Racial Equality Papers (8 modules, covering 1941-1976); the Midwest Academy (Chicago, Illinois) Records, Heather Booth's Personal Files, 1964 and 1984; the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Papers, 1959-1972; and The Claude A. Barnett Papers, 1918-1967, Series 2: Africa and Other Foreign Interests, 1925-1966. Part of ProQuest History Vault.

1820-1944. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Created by the Federal Reserve in St. Louis, FRASER is a digital collection of published and unpublished sources that document U.S. economic history, with an emphasis on publications of the Federal Reserve. Browse the collections by publication date, author, title, theme, and subject. The "theme" browse is basically a browse by broad subject, while the "subject" browse is a browse by more specific subject. The "Archives" section is especially impressive, as the archival collections are digitized down to the folder level, with archival organization retained, and rendered in full color. Covers all periods of American history, but is especially strong for twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

TRIAL. Records from the Pan Pacific Women’s Association of the U.S.A. Part of Archives Unbound.

Documents from American advertising firm J. Walter Thompson, ca. 1887-2014, with bulk of the documents covering 1945-1990. Documents include advertisements; annual reports and internal brochures; artwork; briefs and scripts; financial data; meeting minutes; memoranda and correspondence; newsletters; newspapers and magazines; product packaging; presentations, writings, and speeches; press releases; research; and reports.

The archives of market research expert Ernest Dichter, along with records from the consulting firms for which he worked. Collection includes Dichter's reports, business correspondence, notes, pilot studies, proposals, and examples of advertisements based on his research. Browse the collection by industry type, or perform keyword searches.

Over 2,000 documents from the archives of the National Woman Suffrage Association, held by the Library of Congress, ca. 1890-1930.

The papers of the NAACP held by the Library of Congress. Previously available on microfilm, the digitized version comprises six modules: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files (Parts 1, 2, 14, 16, 17, and 21 of the microfilm set); Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files (Parts 12, 19, 25, 26, 27, and 29 of the microfilm set); Special Subjects (Parts 11, 18, 24, 28, and 30 of the microfilm set); The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces (Parts 3, 4, 5, 9, and 13 of the microfilm set); The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files (Parts 22 and 23 of the microfilm set); and The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses (Parts 6, 7, 8, 10, 15, and 20 of the microfilm set). Part of ProQuest History Vault.

Documents from the Archives of the Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries. The Race Relations Department of the United Church Board for Homeland Ministries was established for the purpose of bringing the expertise of social scientists to bear on the problem of race relations in the United States. Although the entire archive has not been digitized, the collection includes significant holdings of case studies, reports, audio recordings, scrapbooks, statistical data, academic studies, photographs, periodicals, correspondence, government documents, posters, and more. The collection also features extensive editorial apparatus intended to assist the user with exploring and interpreting the documents.

Comprises four sub-collections: American Social Health Association Records, 1905-1990; "Addict in the Street" Audio Collection (interviews conducted between 1950 and 1970 with drug addicts); The Job is Never Done: 50 Years of Documenting Social Welfare History (an online exhibit); and the annual Social Work Year Book, 1929-1960.

Digitized from the following microfilm collections: National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 1: Correspondence, Section A: 1877-1933; National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 1: Correspondence, Section B: 1933-1945; National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 1: Correspondence, Section C: 1945-1974; National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 2: Minutes, Legal Papers, and Financial Records, 1912-1972; National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 3: Printed Materials, 1850-1972; National Woman's Party Papers, Part I: 1913-1974, Series 4: World Woman's Party Papers, 1938-1958; National Woman's Party Papers, Part II: The Suffrage Years, 1913-1920, Series 1: Correspondence, 1891-1940: Section A, 1891-1915; National Woman's Party Papers, Part II: The Suffrage Years, 1913-1920, Series 1: Correspondence, 1891-1940: Section B, 1916-1917; National Woman's Party Papers, Part II: The Suffrage Years, 1913-1920, Series 1: Correspondence, 1891-1940: Section C, 1917-1940; National Woman's Party Papers, Part II: The Suffrage Years, 1913-1920, Series 2: Administrative Files, Printed Matter, and Photographs, 1889-1936; Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974, Part I: Meetings of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committees, Minutes and Related Documents, 1918-1974; Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974, Part II, Series A: Transcripts and Records of National Conventions, 1919-1944, and of General Councils, 1927-1943; Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974, Part II, Series B: Transcripts and Records of National Conventions, 1946-1974, and of General Councils, 1945-1973; Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974, Part III, Series A: National Office Subject Files, 1920-1932; Women's Action Alliance, Part 1: Administration--General, Board of Directors, and Executive Director, 1971-1996; Women's Action Alliance, Part 2: Administration--Publicity and Public Education, WAA Staff, Financial Records, and Development and Fundraising, 1971-1996; Women's Action Alliance, Part 3: Economics Projects, 1977-1986; Women's Action Alliance, Part 4: Education Projects, 1972-1991; Women's Action Alliance, Part 5: Health Projects, 1985-1996; Women's Action Alliance, Part 6: Coalitions, 1975-1991; Women's Action Alliance, Part 7: Information Services, 1973-1980; and Women's Action Alliance, Part 8: Library, Publications, and Photographs, 1972-1995. Part of ProQuest History Vault.

Pictures, newsletters, newspaper clippings and newspapers' typewritten transcriptions, concerning the 3rd Armored Division's history, members, military campaigns and accomplishments, recreational activities, and cartoons about soldier's daily situations.

Geographic coverage: North America.
Date range: 1970-2007.
Document types: Personal and professional papers of Will Roscoe, founder of Gay American Indians (GAI), organizational records of GAI, clippings, correspondence, research related to gay American Indians, newsletters, member directories, zines, poetry chapbooks, pamphlets about radical politics, organizational records of the San Francisco Queer Club and Circuit Party Outreach Project, interview transcripts, publicity and grant documents, business reports, newsletters, and AIDS outreach materials.
Topical coverage: Native American LGBTQ experience.
Source Institution: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Historical Society.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender.