Based on Charles Evans's American Bibliography. Includes almost every book printed in the United States between 1639-1800. See also the two supplements: the Library Company of Philadelphia supplement, and the American Antiquarian Society supplement. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Adds 2,300 books to the original collection. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Adds 1,100 books to the original collection. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Based on Ralph Shaw and Richard Shoemaker's American Bibliography: A Preliminary Checklist for 1801-1819, includes almost every book printed in the United States between 1801-1819. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Based on Joseph Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana, this collection includes books, pamphlets, and periodicals about the Americas from 1492 to 1868. Includes publications both from the Americas and from elsewhere.

Over 12,000 printed works, including books, pamphlets, and broadsides. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Over 17 million books, periodicals, and government documents digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and research libraries. About 2,500,000 of these works can be read online (because they are public domain works, and therefore freely accessible).

First editions of over 400 works. Includes both facsimile page images and carefully transcribed text.

Based on Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851–1875. Intended to complement the digital collections Early American Fiction, and Making of America.

1840-1900. 109 books (in 267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes). Collection has been retired and contents migrated to HathiTrust.

Books from Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin, ca. 1820 to 1910.

1802-1925. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1793-1905. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1787-1916. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

More than 3,300 nineteenth century U.S. newspapers published by children and young adults. Most of these newspapers exist in very short runs (typically from one issue to a few months of issues). Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).

Over 6,000 digitized children's books.

1810 and 1930, with an emphasis on America, this collection features 2,200 children’s books and 6,500 other documents, including instructional texts (readers, primers, atlases, spelling books, painting books); religious texts; sheet music; ephemera (calendars, postcards, certificates, pamphlets); realia (board games, card games, stereoscopic photographs, paper dolls, toys); sources from the archives of the children’s book publisher McLoughlin Brothers (correspondence, catalogs, drawings, paintings); and artefacts documenting the history of children’s book production with an emphasis on printing and chromolithography. To help users explore the collection, the documents have been organized around twenty key themes: Animals and Nature; Calendar Events and Holidays; Crime and Punishment; Disability; Education; Family; Gender and Sex; Illness and Death; Leisure and Play; Morality, Manners, and Consequences; Nationality and Place; Poverty, Debt, and Welfare; Professions; Race, Ethnicity and Racism; Religion; Slavery; Temperance and Addiction; Travel; War and Revolution; and Women in Publishing.

1816-1900. Collection of non-English language (not necessarily immigrant, as the title of the collection claims) children's books. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1685-1921. 266 books. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1800-1920. 453 books. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1850-1869. 10,980 books. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Works on American and British law.

1740-1940. Over 1,000 titles. Probably the single most important digital collection of early American periodicals. Includes the sub-collection American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, which is particularly strong in trade and labor periodicals.

Complements several existing digital collections (American Periodical Series Online, America’s Historical Newspapers, 19th Century American Newspapers, and Early American Imprints), and makes pre-1900 American print culture among the best covered source bases for online historical research here at the University of Illinois Library. Like these other collections, American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection, 1684-1912 has a pronounced European-American bias. Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).

About 170 periodicals published by, for, or about African Americans. Part of the Archive of Americana.

59 newspapers, most of which are digitized in full color. Few are already available on our various microfilm collections, so the collection includes many sources that our new to our Library. Collection includes issues from nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries. Click here to view a complete title list for American Indian Newspapers. Formerly titled American Indian Newspapers.

Over 180 newspapers, dating from 1788 to 1894. Many of these actually aren't farm newspapers, but simply rural newspapers with agriculture-related words in their titles. A sub-collection of American Business Periodicals. Part of the America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

1665-present. Over 700 European and American periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.

The full text of over 2,800 scholarly journals, with coverage back to the first issue for each, in some cases as far back as the 17th century. Recent issues of most journals in this database are embargoed by journal publishers, so to be certain you are also identifying the most recent publications, use an article index like Historical Abstracts or America: History, and Life.

More than 3,300 nineteenth century U.S. newspapers published by children and young adults. Most of these newspapers exist in very short runs (typically from one issue to a few months of issues). Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).

1853-1922. Trade journals published for the entertainment industry in the United States, with a focus on vaudeville. Digitized by the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois.

Flash newspapers were a type of “underground newspaper” that catered to people interested in reading about, or participating in, illicit activities, such as gambling, prostitution, and other forms of vice. Flash newspapers were often published and circulated secretly, so as to avoid detection by law-enforcement, and consequently these newspapers were rarely collected by libraries. For a complete list of titles in American Underworld: The Flash Press, click here.

Published by the Women's Executive Committee of Home Missions. From the collections of the Presbyterian Historical Society in Philadelphia. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1840-1900. 109 books (in 267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes). Collection has been retired and contents migrated to HathiTrust.

65 periodicals published in the United States. Part of Music Online.

The popular, American illustrated weekly magazine. One of the few major American periodicals not included in American Periodicals Online. Includes searchable subject indexes, with separate subject access to the illustrations. 1913-1916 available in HathiTrust.

Historically significant U.S. farm weeklies, predominantly published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, but including some through the Twentieth Century. Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America.

Semi-monthly newspaper published by the National Reform Association, a branch of the Reformed Presbyterian Church in America. From the collections of the Presbyterian Historical Society. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1867-present. Full color, searchable facsimiles of every issue. Supports browsing by product name.

1888-present.

1865-present. Facsimile edition of the influential, American liberal news weekly.

1838-1841. From the collections of the General Commission on Archives and History of the United Methodist Church in Madison, New Jersey. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1789-1897. From the collections of the General Commission on Archives and History of the United Methodist Church in Madison, New Jersey. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Extensive runs of 18 major women's magazines, including Better Homes and Gardens (1886-2005); Cosmopolitan (1928-2005); Essence (1970-2005); Good Housekeeping (1885-2005); Ladies' Home Journal (1885-2005); Parents (1926-2005); Redbook (1903-2005); Seventeen (1944-2005); Town and Country (1846-2005); Woman's Day (1937-2005); Chatelaine (1928-2005); and WIN News (1975-2003). Coverage primarily twentieth century.

Hundreds of titles, with especially strong coverage of the eighteenth- and nineteenth-centuries, but also strong coverage of the early twentieth-century. Includes the following sub-collections: Early American Newspapers, Series I through VII, X, XIII, and IV (1690-1922); Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980); African American Newspapers, Series I-II (1827-1998); Ethnic American Newspapers from the Balch Collection (1799-1977); and Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876). Newspapers were primarily sourced from the American Antiquarian Society and the Center for Research Libraries. Part of the Archive of Americana.

Hundreds of titles covering the entire continent, from both urban and rural communities, with substantive runs of some major nineteenth century newspapers like the New York Herald, the Cleveland Daily Herald, the Chicago Inter Ocean, the Milwaukee Sentinel, and the Rocky Mountain News. The new interface includes a term frequency graphing app, similar to Google’s NGram Viewer. (It’s difficult to assess the real value of this feature since the collection’s OCR text is hidden, and the page scan quality varies wildly from completely illegible to crisp, two-bit reproductions.) Click here to view a complete list. Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).

Dozens of major metropolitan newspapers, like the New York Times, the Chicago Tribune, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, major African American newspapers like the Chicago Defender, and more. Especially strong coverage of the 20th century. Click here to see a complete list.

American newspapers published during 1836-1960. Also includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory with information about American newspapers from 1690 to the present.

A wide ranging collection that complements our largest collection of digitized African American newspapers, ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers. While ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers covers the major, metropolitan black newspapers of the twentieth century, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides access to a broader range of publications, especially the black press of America's smaller cities, and the few extant issues of the earliest black newspapers, most of which were previously available only on microfilm or in smaller digital collections scattered around the Internet. Click here to view a complete title list for African American Newspapers Series I and II. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

Nine major African American newspapers of the nineteenth century, including Freedom's Journal (the first African American newspaper ever published), the Christian Recorder, the Colored American, Douglass' Monthly, Frederick Douglass' Paper, the National Era, the North Star, the Provincial Freeman, and the Weekly Advocate. Click here to view a complete title list for African American Newspapers: The Nineteenth Century.

A federated collection of newspaper articles documenting the African American experience. Supports keyword searching, or structured browsing by time period and subject.

Mostly scattered issues of over 300 Hispanic-American newspapers. Purports to be largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the nineteenth and twentith centuries. Based on the "Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project" collection at the the University of Houston. Click here to view a complete title list for Hispanic American Newspapers. Part of America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

Federated collection of newspaper articles documenting the Hispanic American experience. Supports keyword searching and structured browsing by time and period and subject.

59 newspapers, most of which are digitized in full color. Few are already available on our various microfilm collections, so the collection includes many sources that our new to our Library. Collection includes issues from nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries. Click here to view a complete title list for American Indian Newspapers. Formerly titled American Indian Newspapers.

More than one million pages of digitized historic newspapers and trade journals. The titles are organized into four distinct collections: the Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (Illinois newspapers); Farm, Field, and Fireside (Midwestern farm newspapers); American Popular Entertainment (entertainment trade journals); and Collegiate Chronicle (college newspapers). Browse the newspapers by date, or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions. The site includes interactive features allowing users to tag articles, correct OCR text, and share on social media. NDNP Partner. For more digitized Illinois newspapers, see the listing in our Newspaper Database.

Over 180 newspapers, dating from 1788 to 1894. Many of these actually aren't farm newspapers, but simply rural newspapers with agriculture-related words in their titles. A sub-collection of American Business Periodicals. Part of the America's Historical Newspapers and the Archive of Americana.

Flash newspapers were a type of “underground newspaper” that catered to people interested in reading about, or participating in, illicit activities, such as gambling, prostitution, and other forms of vice. Flash newspapers were often published and circulated secretly, so as to avoid detection by law-enforcement, and consequently these newspapers were rarely collected by libraries. For a complete list of titles in American Underworld: The Flash Press, click here.

166 pamphlets, speeches, reports, legal opinions, and convention proceedings from the Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets Collections; 1,785 pamphlets from the Civil War Pamphlet Collection; and nine major newspapers: Daily Dispatch (Richmond, Va., 1852-1865), Charleston Mercury (Charleston, SC, 1840-1865), Columbus Gazette (Columbus, Ohio, 1856-1865), Daily Picayune (New Orleans, La., 1840-1865), Boston Herald (Boston, MA, 1848-1865), New York Herald (New York, NY, 1840-1865), Louisville Daily Journal (Louisville, Ky., 1840-1865), Memphis Daily Appeal (Memphis, Tenn., 1847-1865), and Ohio State Journal (Columbus, Ohio, 1840-1853).

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.

Selections from the Amateur Newspaper collection of the American Antiquarian Society. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

More than 3,300 nineteenth century U.S. newspapers published by children and young adults. Most of these newspapers exist in very short runs (typically from one issue to a few months of issues). Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).

The Privy Council and Related Bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers, a collection of papers presented to the Privy Council and the Board of Trade between 1574-1757, and The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, an essential guide to those papers.

U.S. congressional materials, 1789 through 1838. Generally regarded as the unofficial predecessor to the United States Congressional Serial Set, though the two overlap chronologically somewhat.

A collection of Congressional "Reports" and "Documents". A Congressional Report is an official report to the House of Representatives or the Senate, issued by a House or Senate committee, usually related to legislation about to be considered by Congress. Congressional Documents, on the other hand, are typically reports to Congress by Executive Branch departments, but can also include documents received by Congress from other sources. Congress began publishing the Serial Set in 1817. The predecessor to the Serial Set was the National State Papers of the United States, also known as the American State Papers. The American State Papers cover the years 1789-1817, and then were published alongside the Serial Set until 1838. The Serial Set and the American State Papers are also available through ProQuest Congressional. ProQuest Congressional's version of the Serial Set includes the most recent volumes, whereas the version linked above (Readex) ends with the volumes for the 96th Congress in 1980.

In ProQuest Congressional (for best results, choose the "Congressional Record Only" search tab). The Congressional Record, which began publication in 1873, is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Its predecessors were the Annals of Congress (1789-1824), the Register of Debates (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873). The Hein Online Congressional Documents Library has a slightly more-extensive collection: the Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789), the Annals of the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1825-1837), the Congressional Globe (1833-1873), the Congressional Record (1873-present), and the Congressional Record Daily (1980-present, updated daily). Part of ProQuest Congressional: navigate to "Advanced Search" and select the file "Congressional Record".

All public and private bills and resolutions of the United States Congress. Previously called "Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions". Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "Bills and Laws".

Part of ProQuest Congressional. Combines two separate files: CRS Reports, 1916-present; and Committee Prints, 1830-present. CRS Reports are produced by the Congressional Research Service, an official arm of the United States Congress, in response to requests from Congress. Committee Prints are studies and reports produced for specific Congressional committees. Both CRS Reports and Committee Prints are used to support Congressmen and Congresswomen in their legislative work. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "CRS Reports".

Both the published and unpublished hearings, which includes transcripts of spoken testimony, written statements of witnesses, reports, exhibits, correspondence, or other material submitted by interested parties. Hearings are held by Congressional committees as a way of collecting the information needed to inform decision making. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select the file "Hearings".

Executive orders and proclamations are legal instruments, and as such carry the force of law. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "Presidential Materials".

Issued in two modules, the first module covers United States Executive Branch publications from 1789 to 1932 (not already printed in the U.S. Serial Set). The second module extends coverage to 1939. Part of ProQuest Congressional. Navigate to "Advanced Search" and select file "Executive Branch".

Centerpiece of this collection is a complete run of the United States Reports, which is the official, published version of all Supreme Court rulings. Expect a lag of several years between a ruling and its final, published form. After the Court rules on a case, the ruling is issued (within several days) as a numbered "Slip Opinion." These slip opinions are eventually compiled and published as Preliminary Prints prior to their final publication in the U.S. Reports. The Hein Supreme Court Library also includes a large collection of books and periodicals on the Court and its rulings.

Almost 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. Digitized from the holdings of the Jenkins Memorial Law Library, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and the the Library of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.

Unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations that document Anglo-American trials, with coverage of the British Empire. Digitized from the collections at Harvard University, Yale University, and the Bar of the City of New York.

Published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.

Major collection of government documents, including documents of the states, federal U.S. documents (statutory law, administrative law, case law), documents of foreign countries, international law, and more. Also includes a large collection of legal periodicals.

Historical record of statutory, administrative, and case law for U.S. federal government, states, and territories.

1789-present. See also the two Electing the President collections in Archives Unbound for party platforms and other information.

An additional, specialized search module for the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Serial Set Maps allows users to focus searches on the maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity. Serial Set Maps will eventually cover the full scope of the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Please look under Search Hints to see the range of congresses and sessions currently covered.

The Census enumeration forms are used to conduct the Decennial Census. In theory, they identify every resident of every household in the country, along with information about each resident. Information recorded changes from census to census, but usually includes each resident's relationship to the head of household, the date of birth, the person's country of origin, the person's occupation, gender, marital status, whether or not the person owns his or her own home, and other information. Because so much personal information is included on these forms, they are not made publicly available until 72 years after it was collected. Thus, the most recently available enumeration forms are from the 16th Census of the United States (1940). Part of HeritageQuest.

1853-1855. From the National Archives and Records Administration. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

All extant files from the records of the U.S. District and Circuit Courts at Springfield with which Abraham Lincoln has been identified as legal counsel (122 cases). Digitized from the microfilm set Lincoln at the Bar : selected case files from the United States District and Circuit Courts, Southern District of Illinois, 1855-1861 and the relevant records in NARA publication M-1530, from Record Group 21: Records of the District Courts of the United States, National Archives-Great Lakes Region, Chicago, Illinois, M -1530. Part of Archives Unbound.

Registers of signatures of depositors in branches of the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company. The Freedman's Saving and Trust Company, which was established by Congress for the benefit of freed slaves. Records include personal information of depositors, including the name of depositor, the date of application/deposit, the name of the depositor's employer, the name of plantation, the depositor's age, the depositor's height, the depositor's complexion, the name of the depositor's father and/or mother, marital status, place of birth, place of residence, occupation, names of depositor's children, and names of depositor's siblings. Part of HeritageQuest.

Created by the Federal Reserve in St. Louis, FRASER is a digital collection of published and unpublished sources that document U.S. economic history, with an emphasis on publications of the Federal Reserve. Browse the collections by publication date, author, title, theme, and subject. The "theme" browse is basically a browse by broad subject, while the "subject" browse is a browse by more specific subject. The "Archives" section is especially impressive, as the archival collections are digitized down to the folder level, with archival organization retained, and rendered in full color. Covers all periods of American history, but is especially strong for twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.

A selected collection of the most important documents from collections of presidential papers. Includes: Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Washington through Taft; the Public Papers of the Presidents, Hoover to Obama; the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Carter through George W. Bush; the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, Obama. Project of the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence, much of it historical. Includes rare compilations edited by Felix S. Cohen that have never before been accessible online. Part of HeinOnline.

The actual documents listed in Steven Johnson's bibliography Guide to American Indian documents in the Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1899, a major reference work in the field of American Indian studies.

Complete data about the creation and all subsequent changes in the size, shape, and location of every county in the fifty United States and the District of Columbia, from 1629 to 2000. From the Newberry Library.

Based on Charles O. Paullin and John K. Wright's Atlas of the Historical Geography of the United States, but enhanced with GIS encoded data.

The Statistical Abstract was the official statistical compendium of the United States government, issued annually from 1878 to 2012. Since 2013 it has been compiled and published privately. Useful not only as a direct source of statistical data, but also as an index to statistical sources (mostly U.S. government agencies).

Compiled from the U.S. Decennial Census returns, and other published sources. Includes excellent, explanatory essays by expert demographers. Also includes a detailed subject index.

Data on over 20,000 socio-economic indicators from 1790-present. Capable of using these statistical data to generate custom, interactive maps. Data drawn from the United States Census, 1790 to 2010; the American Community Survey, 2005 to 2012; the Religious Congregations and Membership Study, 1980 to 2010 (the most complete census available on religion in the US); and InfoGroup data on religious congregations in the US for 2009 and 2010.

Compiled statistics derived from the Decennial Census long forms and short forms.

An additional, specialized search module for the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, Serial Set Maps allows users to focus searches on the maps themselves - the geographic areas they depict, the subjects they represent, their titles, and the names associated with the maps either as cartographers, explorers, or in some other capacity. Serial Set Maps will eventually cover the full scope of the Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set. Please look under Search Hints to see the range of congresses and sessions currently covered.

1800-1923. From the collections of the University of Alberta Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Detailed descriptions of urban areas. The original maps were printed in color, and the digitized versions are low resolution black-and-white, resulting in significant loss of information. Full-color reproductions of the originals held by the University of Illinois Map Library are available here.

Documents from the Gilder Lehrman Collection at the Gilder Lehrman Institute for American History. Record series digitized include the Henry Knox Papers; the Livingston Family Papers; hundreds of record series documenting the years 1493-1859; hundreds more documenting the years 1860-1945; a collection titled "Papers and Images of the American Civil War"; and a selection of Civil War era newspapers and periodicals. Inludes subject indexes. Note: the Henry Knox papers in this collection do not duplicate the papers in the microfilm collection, which was created from the papers at the Massachusetts Historical Society, not the Gilder Lehrman Institute. Being released in modules. Modules now available: Module I Settlement, Commerce, Revolution and Reform: 1493-1859; and Module II Civil War, Reconstruction and the Modern Era: 1860-1945.

The Ferrar Papers (Magdalene College, Cambridge), along with transcripts of select documents. Also includes the four volumes of The Records of the Virginia Company of London. Does not include items that were once part of the collection but are so no longer; nor does it record any of those volumes from the Ferrars' library which are to be found in the Old Library at Magdalene.

When complete, this digital collection will comprise all 1,450 volumes/bundles of the British National Archives Record Series CO 5 (Records of the Colonial Office: Board of Trade and Secretaries of State: America and West Indies, Original Correspondence). The collection will be released in modules, with the first three modules currently available: Module 1: Early Settlement, Expansion and Rivalries; Module 2: Towards Revolution; and Module 3: The American Revolution.

Over 5,300 trade catalogs, and about 2,000 additional ephemeral documents, like leaflets, trade cards, price lists, order forms, sales documents, postcards, manuals, correspondence, and more. Documents organized around the following themes: Product Design; Architecture and Interior Design; Business, Economics and Retail History Fashion and Beauty trends; Architecture and Interior Design; Gender and Domesticity; Women’s History and Women as Consumers; Domestic Technologies and the rise of Labour-saving Devices; Transportation; Domestic Life and Leisure; Food and Drink; and Health and Sanitation. 1850 to 1950.

A collection of books from both world's fairs and state fairs during the period 1834-1918, digitized from a 174 reel microfilm set; records from the Smithsonian Institution and the United States National Museum documenting their roles in world's fairs and international expositions during the period 1867-1940; world's fair memorabilia from the period 1851-1940; publications by and about world's fairs during the period 1843-1922; agricultural trade literature from the period 1820-1926; and trade catalogs and miscellaneous trade literature from the period 1850-1926.

Digitized from the following microfilm collections: Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 1: Virginia Plantations -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 2: Virginia Plantations -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 3: Virginia Plantations -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 4: Cocke Family Papers -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 5: Ambler Family Papers -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E: Selections from the University of Virginia Library, Part 6: Virginia Plantations -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 1: The Deep South -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 2: South Carolina and Georgia -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Manuscript Department, Duke University Library, Part 3: North Carolina, Maryland, and Virginia -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 4: North Carolina and Virginia -- Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 5: William Patterson Smith Collection -- Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 1: Alabama and South Carolina Plantations -- Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 2: North Carolina and Virginia Plantations -- Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A: Selections from the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University, Part 3: Georgia and Florida Plantations. An archival collection digitized from fourteen already-held microfilm sets: Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series E, Parts 1-6, all focusing on Virginia plantations, with several series comprising the records of specific families. Records created between the mid sixteenth century and the late twentieth century, with records from the years 1750-1900 composing the bulk. Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series F, Parts 1-5, contain records from plantations in Virginia, South Carolina, Georgia, North Carolina, Maryland, Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Tennessee, and Connecticut. Records span the years 1765-1900. Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series A, Parts 1-3, comprise post-Civil War records from plantations in Alabama, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Georgia, and Florida. Records from the years 1865-1910 compose the bulk. Part of ProQuest History Vault.

Digitized from the following microfilm collections: Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series A: Selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina, Part 1: The Papers of James Henry Hammond, 1795-1865; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series A: Selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina, Part 2: Miscellaneous Collections; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series D: Selections from the Maryland Historical Society; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series H: Selections from Tulane University and the Louisiana State Museum Archives; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University, Part 1: Louisiana Sugar Plantations; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University, Part 2: Louisiana and Other Cotton Plantations; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University, Part 3: The Natchez Area; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from Louisiana State University, Part 6: David Weeks and Family Collection; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 4: Barrow, Bisland, Bowman, and Other Collections; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series I: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 5: Butler Family Collections; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 1: Tayloe Family, 1650-1970; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 2: Northern Neck of Virginia; also Maryland; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 3: Other Tidewater Virginia; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 4: Central Piedmont Virginia; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 5: Southside Virginia; Records of Antebellum Southern Plantations from the Revolution through the Civil War, Series M: Selections from the Virginia Historical Society, Part 6: Northern Virginia and Valley; Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 1: Louisiana Sugar Plantations; Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 2: Louisiana Cotton Plantations; Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 3: Louisiana Sugar Plantations (Bayou Lafourche and Bayou Teche); Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 4: Mississippi Cotton Plantations; Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 5: Albert A. Batchelor Papers; Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series B: Selections from the Louisiana and Lower Mississippi Valley Collections, Louisiana State University Libraries, Part 6: Weeks Family Papers; Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series C: Selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina, Part 1: Hammond Family Papers; and Records of Southern Plantations from Emancipation to the Great Migration, Series C: Selections from the South Caroliniana Library, University of South Carolina, Part 2: Selected Collections. Part of ProQuest History Vault.

Shipping manifests from nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866.

Manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings, and maps. Emphasis on the Atlantic world, but includes coverage of Middle East, Asia, and the Pacific. Documents all aspects of slave trade and the slave experience.

166 pamphlets, speeches, reports, legal opinions, and convention proceedings from the Salmon P. Chase & John P. Hale Slavery and Anti-Slavery Pamphlets Collections; 1,785 pamphlets from the Civil War Pamphlet Collection; and nine major newspapers: Daily Dispatch (Richmond, Va., 1852-1865), Charleston Mercury (Charleston, SC, 1840-1865), Columbus Gazette (Columbus, Ohio, 1856-1865), Daily Picayune (New Orleans, La., 1840-1865), Boston Herald (Boston, MA, 1848-1865), New York Herald (New York, NY, 1840-1865), Louisville Daily Journal (Louisville, Ky., 1840-1865), Memphis Daily Appeal (Memphis, Tenn., 1847-1865), and Ohio State Journal (Columbus, Ohio, 1840-1853).

1830-1865. Approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists.

Colonial times to the present. Non-fiction works, including interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, books, pamphlets, and letters, with brief, biographical entries for all authors. Some of the documents were previously-unpublished. Supports browsing by date, event, and other subjects.

Newspapers, periodicals, oral histories, organizational records, personal papers, pamphlets, and ephemera that document the history of African American communities in Chicago, St. Louis, Atlanta, New York, North Carolina. Highlights of the collection include the Chicago Urban League records (1917-1985), the Town of Pullman records (1876-1919), the Lea Demarest Taylor papers on housing and race relations, 1893-1966, the Urban League of St. Louis records, and an extensive oral history collection. Collection is organized around five broad themes: Desegregation, Urban renewal and housing problems, Civil rights activities and protests, Race relations and community integration, and African American culture.

Books, pamphlets, broadsides, advertisements, trade cards, catalogs, business records, posters, and ephemera documenting the 19th century trade in popular medical remedies. Sources taken from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Browse the collections by broad thematic areas--General Cures, Health and Hygiene, Sexual Health, Women's Health, Children's Health, Surgery and General Practice, Dentistry, Production and Trade, Satire and Parody, Education and Research, Physiology, Medical Devices, Homeopathy, and Botanic Medicine--or perform keyword searches. No subject index.

Books, brochures, audio recordings, cartoons, diaries, court reports, interviews, letters, speeches, videos, and more. Produced by historians Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin. It includes an online journal and more than 1,600 primary source documents and several hundred images. Also included are a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and a series of subject-based teaching strategies. The database is searchable by movements, authors, sources, a controlled vocabulary of subject terms, and other parameters.

Colonial period to 1950. Letters from 1,325 women. Letters have been transcribed, rather than reproduced as digital facsimiles, and they are extensively indexed, as well as searchable by keyword. Biographical information is provided for each author, as well as synopses of many of the source documents, reprinted from Joyce Goodfriend’s 1987 bibliography, The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women. Based on six additional bibliographies: The Published Diaries and Letters of American Women by Joyce Goodfriend; American Diaries: An Annotated Bibliography of Published American Diaries and Journals by Laura Arksey, Nancy Pries, and Marcia Reed; Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters by Cheryl Cline; American Diaries in Manuscript, 1580-1954; Canadian Diaries and Autobiographies by William Matthews; And So to Bed: A Bibliography of Diaries Published in English; and New England Diaries, 1602-1800: A Descriptive Catalogue of Diaries, Orderly Books and Sea Journals.

Documents authored by over 2,000 immigrants. Keyword search the collection, or browse by subject (e.g. Ku Klux Klan, Eugene Debs, Abortion, Amnesty, Crime), personal events (e.g. Arrest, Death of child, Wedding), nationality/cultural heritage, places in North America, or date.

Books, periodicals, pamphlets, and broadsides. Emphasis on American women's social, cultural, and popular history. Digitized from the collections of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University Library and the New York Public Library. Collection aims to showcase the role of religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes, with a concentration on conduct of life and domestic management literature. Collection covers regional, urban, and rural settings.

Sources documenting the emigration of people from Europe and Asia to the United States, Canada, and Australasia. Document types include letters, diaries, scrapbooks, artwork, photographs, maps oral histories, pamphlets, ship logbooks, realia, legal papers, and government documents, including all 195 volumes of the British National Archives Record Series CO 384 (War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Emigration Original Correspondence).

Emphasis of the collection is on journals written by sailors on both merchant, naval, and pirate ships. Includes other records that document the daily lives of sailors, including correspondence, court martial records, logbooks, ship's musters, medical journals, memoirs, ship's papers, records of impressment, newspapers, artwork, orderbooks, regulations, and legal records.

Brochures, posters, guidebooks, maps, ephemera, periodicals, films, correspondence, scrapbooks, travel journals, photographs, postcards, company records, government documents, and monographs documenting the history of tourism on all continents, and organized around the following themes: Women and Tourism; Children and Families; Road, Rail and Air Travel; Accommodation, Hospitality and Entertainment; Package Tours, Cruises and Organized Travel; Beachfront: Seaside and Coastal Destinations; The Great Outdoors; Urban Tourism; Health and Medical Travel; Historical, Cultural or Religious Tourism; International Relations; and Planning and Business. 1850 to the 1980s.

Letters, scrapbooks, autobiographies, notebooks and other materials from 28 digitized archival collections from the American Jewish Historical Society in New York.

Books, newspapers, periodicals, manuscript sources, and photographs that document American Indian experience in North America.

Digitized from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection, American Indian Histories and Cultures contains both published and unpublished primary sources that document the American Indian experience from first contact with Europeans through the mid-20th century.

1650-1920, with bulk of documents from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Emphasis is on British colonialism in North America, Africa, and Australasia. Hybrid collection of books, government documents, legal records, correspondence, business records, maps, diaries and memoirs, pamphlets, ephemera, realia, artwork, and more. Organized around fifteen broad themes: Travel and Exploration; Natural World; Land and Property; Government and Politics; Warfare and Military History; Law and Order; Business and Commerce; Industry and Technology; Agriculture; Art and Entertainment; Healthcare; Women’s History; Children and Family; Religion; and Indigenous Peoples. Collection can also be browsed by subjects (topics, people, and places).

1844-current. Over 800 companies, mostly American.

A subset of the record collections in Ancestry.com. Includes: U.S. Decennial Census enumeration forms (1790-1940); city directories (1821-1989); 1850 and 1860 slave schedules (from the Seventh and Eighth U.S. Decennial Censuses); Indian census rolls (1885-1940); U.S. Decennial Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 (availability of records varies by state); and U.S. Decennial Census Non-Population Schedules, 1850-1880 (emphasis on agriculture schedules and manufacturing/industry schedules).

Personal accounts from traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. Includes multiple indexes for exploring the collection in different ways. Includes a complete, transcribed edition of the Jesuit Relations.

British government documents, mostly from the Foreign Office, but also from the Colonial Office, the Dominions Office, and the War Office. "Confidential Prints" were diplomatic dispatches and related documents deemed sufficiently important to be printed and then circulated among government officials. The prints were grouped into series by geographical region, and then numbered consecutively, but after being transferred to the Public Records Office, the prints were organized according to the National Archives' system of provenance.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

18th to early 20th centuries. Ship logs, manuscripts, business records, newspapers, books, maps, realia, ephemera, paintings, photographs, and other illustrative documents, organized around 18 research themes: Cultural Exchange; Arts and Artifacts; Religion, Faith, and Philosophy; Social Life; Education; Crime; Employment and Labor; Health and Welfare; Race Relations; Travel and Tourism; Exploration and Discovery; The Natural World; Migration and Immigration; Politics, War, and Diplomacy; Trade and Commerce; Regulation and Legislation; Transport and Communication; and Advertising and Consumption.

1810 and 1930, with an emphasis on America, this collection features 2,200 children’s books and 6,500 other documents, including instructional texts (readers, primers, atlases, spelling books, painting books); religious texts; sheet music; ephemera (calendars, postcards, certificates, pamphlets); realia (board games, card games, stereoscopic photographs, paper dolls, toys); sources from the archives of the children’s book publisher McLoughlin Brothers (correspondence, catalogs, drawings, paintings); and artefacts documenting the history of children’s book production with an emphasis on printing and chromolithography. To help users explore the collection, the documents have been organized around twenty key themes: Animals and Nature; Calendar Events and Holidays; Crime and Punishment; Disability; Education; Family; Gender and Sex; Illness and Death; Leisure and Play; Morality, Manners, and Consequences; Nationality and Place; Poverty, Debt, and Welfare; Professions; Race, Ethnicity and Racism; Religion; Slavery; Temperance and Addiction; Travel; War and Revolution; and Women in Publishing.

20 record series from multiple repositories in Britain: Series 1, Records Relating to the Slave Trade at the Liverpool Record Office; Series 2, American Material in the Archives of the USPG (United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel); Series 3, Papers of William Davenport & Co., 1745-1797; Series 4, Jamaican Materials in the Slebech Papers; Series 5, Papers Relating to the Jamaican Estates of the Goulburn Family of Betchworth; Series 6, Papers of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies, 1694- ; Series 7, Journal, Annual Sermons and Reports of the SPG (Society for the Propagation of the Gospel), 1701-1870; Series 8, South American Missionary Society Records, 1844-1919; Series 9, Liverpool Street and Trade Directories, 1766-1900; Series 10, Early Colonial and Missionary Records for West Africa; Series 11, West Indies Material in the Archives of the USPG, 1710-1950; Series 12, Archives of the Associates of Dr. Bray to 1900; Series 13, Collected Papers of the Bolton Whitman Fellowship; Series 14, Canadian Papers of the 4th Earl of Minto; Series 15, American Material from the Tarleton Papers; Series 16, Liverpool Customs Bills of Entry, 1820-1900; Series 17, Tudway of Wells Antiguan Estate Papers, 1689-1907; Series 18, Bristol Presentments, 1770-1917; Series 19, Annual British Army Lists, 1740-1784; and Series 20, American Prisoners of War, 1812-1815.

Tavel narratives, manuscripts, personal papers, printed books, maps, city directories, store catalogs, newspapers, company records, and ephemera (e.g. trade cards, posters, photos, claim certificates, city prospectuses, and more) that document the American west in its frontier period.

Over 3,100 books, pamphlets, magazines, trade catalogs, diaries, memoirs, and institutional archives, as well as 1,400 photographs, all from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting women's work in the United States.

450 photographs, ca. 1875 to 1938, from the Records of the National Woman's Party archive at the Library of Congress.

Ca. 1838-1923.

Restaurant menus from the 1850s to the present. Digitized from a collection of 45,000 menus at the New York Public Library.

Images from the Western United States and the Pacific Northwest region. Topics include women's issues, labor, government, ethnic groups, utopian colonies, social and leisure activities, and Japanese internment camps. Ca. late 1800s to 1950s.

185 primary source documents. Browse by author, subject, or date, or perform keyword searches on the entire corpus. From Cornell University.

Over 3,500 phone books from fifteen states and the District of Columbia. Illinois phone books are all from Chicago area. 1878-1988.

1787-1916. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1793-1905. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1801-1908. Almost 2,000 pamphlets from the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1802-1925. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Court records (including some transcriptions) from over seven different New England archives, libraries, and historical societies; church record books; village record books; contemporary published accounts; personal letters; diaries; sermons; literary works; maps (both historical maps and GIS enabled interactive maps); and biographies documenting the 1692 Salem Witch Trials.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Books, press clippings, photographs, drawings, sheet music, manuscripts, movies, audio recordings, posters, and programs. From the collections of the New York Public Library. No longer available. Reorganized into three separate collections: Denishawn; Sheet Music; and Variety, Vaudeville, and Burlesque.

Photographs and artifacts documenting American Indian history. Covers both the Indians of North America and the Indians of South America.

49 catalogs from film producers, agents, manufacturers, and distributors. The predecessors to entertainment industry trade newspapers, motion picture catalogs listed films, equipment, posters, slides, lectures, and phonographs available for purchase. Part of the Thomas Edison Papers in ProQuest History Vault.

1840-1900. 109 books (in 267 volumes) and 22 journals (955 volumes). Collection has been retired and contents migrated to HathiTrust.

All extant files from the records of the U.S. District and Circuit Courts at Springfield with which Abraham Lincoln has been identified as legal counsel (122 cases). Digitized from the microfilm set Lincoln at the Bar : selected case files from the United States District and Circuit Courts, Southern District of Illinois, 1855-1861 and the relevant records in NARA publication M-1530, from Record Group 21: Records of the District Courts of the United States, National Archives-Great Lakes Region, Chicago, Illinois, M -1530. Part of Archives Unbound.

1685-1921. 266 books. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Over 2,000 books, pamphlets, serials, diaries, biographies, manuscripts, and archival materials, as well as over 7,800 photographs from Harvard University's library and museum collections.

A database version of the Chicago Police Department's Homicide Record Index, which chronicles 11,000 homicides in the city between 1870 and 1930.

1800-1920. 425 books. From the collections of the Milbank Memorial Library, Teachers College, Columbia University, and Harvard University Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Trial documents, broadsides, published and unpublished sources, artifacts, photographs, and other sources. From the Chicago History Museum.

Books, periodicals, newspapers, pamphlets, broadsides, letters, journals, legal documents, financial records, maps, physical artifacts, and pictorial images documenting the land, peoples, exploration, and transformation of the trans-Appalachian West from the mid-eighteenth to the early nineteenth century.

Over 3,300 advertisements digitized from the collections of Duke University Library.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound. See also CQ voting and Elections Collection for statistical data and other information dating back to 1789.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound. See also CQ voting and Elections Collection for statistical data and other information dating back to 1789.

TRIAL. Regimental histories and personal narratives from the microfilm set Travels in the Confederate States. Part of Archives Unbound.

The vast majority of these digital collections relate to California history. Collections have been contributed and digitized by all ten University of California branches as well as libraries and museums in the state. There are over 400,000 items in these collections, including: music recordings, photographs, documents, letters, art, diaries, oral histories, films, and more.

A broadside was a popular form of ephemeral publication defined as a single sheet printed on one side only. This collection contains almost 1,000 American broadsides. Learn more about broadsides in the Oxford Companion to the Book. Most of the broadsides in this collection are pre-1900.

Over 2,300 personal narratives about slavery as well as 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. Also available from the University of Virginia as American Slave Narratives.

150 films.

Over 1,300 items from 1824-1931. It includes newspapers, Lincoln's law papers, sheet music, prints, maps, drawings, letters, broadsides and other items.

1791-1892. From the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Divided into ten series: Series 1: General Correspondence, 1651-1827; Series 2: Horatio Gates Letterbook, 1780-1781; Series 3: District of Columbia Miscellany, 1790-1808; Series 4: Account Books, 1767-1782; Series 5: Commonplace Books, 1758-1772; Series 6: Randolph Family Manuscripts, 1790-1889; Series 7: Miscellaneous Bound Volumes, 1768-1829; Series 8: Virginia Records, 1606-1737; Series 9: Collected Manuscripts, 1783-1822; and Series 10: Addenda, 1781-1829.

1826-1865. From the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Correspondence, diaries, a daybook, scrapbooks, speeches, and ephemera, ca. 1846 to 1906. From the Library of Congress.

1658-1791. From the collections of the Moravian Archives in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Geographic coverage: North America (especially upper Mississippi Valley, Ozarks, and Northwest Territory).
Date range: 1788-1906 (bulk, 1820-1856).
Document types: Personal correspondence; expedition notes; manuscript magazines; literary works; lectures; government reports; financial records; genealogical notes; maps; statistical compendia; and newspaper clippings.
Topical coverage: American Indian affairs; American Indian history; American Indian culture; exploration; geology, ethnology, American Indian vocabularies and grammars; and personal life.
Source Institution: Library of Congress Manuscript Division.
Part of Indigenous Peoples of North America
NOTE: This digital collection does not include the contents of Box 91, the so-called "Outsize Material, ca. 1822-1856". For the contents of that box, please consult the microfilm edition of this collection.

From the collections of the Library of Congress. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Abolitionist who founded the Normal School for Colored Girls in 1851, in response to the prohibition against teaching African Americans in her classrooms. From the collections of the Library of Congress. Library of Congress. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1771-1957. From the collections of the Western Reserve Historical Society in Cleveland. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Geographic coverage: New England
Date range: 1798-1908.
Document types: Diaries, reminiscences, and correspondence.
Topical coverage: Unitarianism; reform movements; intellectual history; religion.
Source institution:Massachusetts Historical Society.
Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Geographic coverage: New England
Date range: 1811-1917.
Document types: Correspondence, notebooks, scrapbooks, and detailed personal journals.
Topical coverage: Unitarianism; reform movements; abolitionism; women's movement; Transcendentalism; intellectual history.
Source institution: Massachusetts Historical Society. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Geographic coverage: United States.
Date range: 1860-1915.
Document types: Correspondence, speeches, writings, a legal file, financial papers, newspaper clippings, scrapbooks, and research notes of Dickinson's biographer, Giraud Chester..
Topical coverage: Women's suffrage.
Source Institution: Library of Congress.

Digitized from the Massachusetts Historical Society editions of the Adams family papers.

Selections digitized from the manuscript collection held by the Massachusetts Historical Society. The digital archive currently includes Letters between John and Abigail Adams; Diaries of John Adams; and the Autobiography of John Adams. For the complete set of Adams papers, see the microfilm edition.

1847-1850. From the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1827-1907. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Over 2,000 documents from the archives of the National Woman Suffrage Association, held by the Library of Congress, ca. 1890-1930.

Geographic coverage: New England.
Date range: 1817-1831.
Document types: Reports; minutes; financial records.
Topical coverage: Female benevolent societies; education for the poor; Calvinism.
Source institution: Congregational Library and Archives in Boston.
Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Geographic coverage: Massachusetts.
Date range: 1811-1850.
Document types: Correspondence; membership lists; constitutions; meeting minutes; treasurer's receipts; and other printed matter.
Topical coverage: Religion; women's history; Great Awakening.
Source institution: Congregational Library and Archives in Boston.
Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1827-1916. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives in Boston. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1843-1847. From the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1827-1936. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1820-1944. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1826-1891. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1815-1894. From the collections of the Congregational Library and Archives. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.