Periodicals and Newspapers
- The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2014Influential global news weekly, based in London. Part of Gale Primary Sources: Newspaper and Periodical Databases (formerly Gale NewsVault).
- International Women’s Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political IssuesTRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.
- Keesing's World News Archive1931-present. Detailed summaries of the world's political, social, and economic events.
- National Geographic Historical Archive1888-present.
- Service Newspapers of World War IIOver 200 military newspapers, mostly from English-speaking countries.
- World Newspaper ArchiveModules currently available include Latin American Newspapers, African Newspapers, and South Asian Newspapers. Digitized from the Collections of the Center for Research Libraries. Click here to view a complete list of newspapers in World Newspaper Archive.
Themed Collections
- Age of ExplorationGlobal coverage, but from a Eurocentric perspective, ca. 1420-1920. Manuscript, printed books and other printed publications, government documents, maps, diaries, correspondence, ships' logs, newspaper clippings, photographs, ephemera, and realia. Includes some audio recordings and film footage of early 20th century explorers. Organized around ten major themes: Expedition Planning, Financing, and Sponsorship; Ships and Provisions; New Commodities and Trade; New Territories; Ports, Forts, and Entrepôts; Competition; Life at Sea; Indigenous Peoples; Navigation, Scientific Observations, and Instruments; and Personal and Family Life.
- America In World War Two: Oral Histories and Personal AccountsIn addition to oral histories, collection includes realia, pamphlets, advertisements, art objects, cartoons, certificates, correspondence (including greeting cards), diaries, flight logs, leaflets, manuals and guidebooks, maps, military papers, newspapers and newspaper clippings, magazines and magazine clippings, photographs, posters, books, scrapbooks, and sheet music.
- Amnesty International ArchivesRecords of the International Secretariat of Amnesty International, ca. 1961-1991. Document types include administrative and financial records, meting minutes and agendas, correspondence, interview transcripts, oral histories, legal documents, memoranda, circulars, press releases, reports, and resolutions. Source library: International Institute of Social History in Amsterdam.
- Border and Migration Studies OnlineDocuments drawn from 38 archival collections from around the world, mostly in the United States and United Kingdom. Covers migration and borderlands around the world, 1900 to the present, with emphasis on Mexico and the United States; EU; Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, and Syria; Congo; Germany; Argentina; Canada and the United States; and Turkey.
- British Newsreels, 1911-1930: Culture and Society on FilmOver 6,000 silent newsreels that were shown in movie theaters, ca. 1911-1930, all produced by the Topical Film Company. Source libraries: British Film Institute, and Imperial War Museums.
- Chatham House Archive, 1920-2008Documents drawn from the archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs. Includes published and unpublished sources, including journals, speeches, pamphlets, reports, and books.
- China, America, and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange18th to early 20th centuries. Ship logs, manuscripts, business records, newspapers, books, maps, realia, ephemera, paintings, photographs, and other illustrative documents, organized around 18 research themes: Cultural Exchange; Arts and Artifacts; Religion, Faith, and Philosophy; Social Life; Education; Crime; Employment and Labor; Health and Welfare; Race Relations; Travel and Tourism; Exploration and Discovery; The Natural World; Migration and Immigration; Politics, War, and Diplomacy; Trade and Commerce; Regulation and Legislation; Transport and Communication; and Advertising and Consumption.
- China: Trade, Politics, and Culture, 1793-1980English-language documents from London University's School of Oriental and African Studies, and from the British Library. Includes diaries, journals, correspondence, atlases, travel narratives, missionary periodicals, government documents, scrapbooks, and more.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs OnlineArticles, working papers, conference proceedings, policy documents, occasional papers, books, maps 1991-
- Crime, Punishment, and Popular Culture, 1790-1920Manuscripts, books, broadsheets, and periodicals with emphasis on Europe and North America.
- Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social MovementA collection of primary and secondary sources documenting the history of disability around the world. Document types include video recordings; histories; biographies; reference works; artwork; literary works; personal narratives, oral histories, diaries, and interviews; correspondence; organizational records; government documents; posters, pamphlets, brochures, and ephemera; curricular documents; research reports; periodicals and newspapers; speeches; photographs; and more. Covers 1492-present, with bulk of documents from the twentieth century.
- Empire Online15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.
- Food and Drink in HistoryVariety of sources, ca. 1514-2010, that document the role of food in world history, with emphasis on North America and Britain. Document types include Cookbooks, menus, advertisements, food labels, pamphlets, ephemera (trading cards, stamps, posters, postcards, scrapbooks (also called "guardbooks" in this collection), marketing reports, business records, maps, photographs, books, periodicals, diaries, correspondence, government documents, realia, episodes of the radio program "Adventures in Gastronomy", and a variety of film footage from Heinz..
- Food Studies OnlineArchival collections, books, periodicals, videos, photographs, and ephemera on broad range of food studies topics, including historical and religious perspectives. Food history is the second most heavily represented sub-discipline.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsCovering the period September 4, 1941 through 1996. The FBIS is a branch of the United States government that has operated variously under the Federal Communications Commission, the War Department, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Its purpose is to produce “open source intelligence” reports for the U.S. government. The agency monitors radio broadcasts, newspapers, and other publicly available news sources from around the world, and then transcribes and translates this news so that it may be used to inform American foreign policy. Sometimes news is translated in its entirety; sometimes it is summarized. In addition to news, the FBIS staff translate speeches, interviews, and other types of information sources. n addition to keyword searching, the collection also supports browsing by major historical events.
- Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement, and Colonial Encounters1650-1920, with bulk of documents from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Emphasis is on British colonialism in North America, Africa, and Australasia. Hybrid collection of books, government documents, legal records, correspondence, business records, maps, diaries and memoirs, pamphlets, ephemera, realia, artwork, and more. Organized around fifteen broad themes: Travel and Exploration; Natural World; Land and Property; Government and Politics; Warfare and Military History; Law and Order; Business and Commerce; Industry and Technology; Agriculture; Art and Entertainment; Healthcare; Women’s History; Children and Family; Religion; and Indigenous Peoples. Collection can also be browsed by subjects (topics, people, and places).
- The Gerritsen Collection of Women's History, 1543-1945Roughly 4,500 monographs and pamphlets, and more than 400 periodicals documenting women's history around the world. Books have both Library of Congress Subject Headings, and Gerritsen Subject Terms. Somewhat more than half of the material in the collection is in English, and the remainder is in German, French, and other European languages.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange1500-present. Business records, shipping manifests, correspondence, government reports, pamphlets, statistical records, maps, photographs, paintings, prints, advertising, and other artifacts, thematically arranged by the following commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, wine, and spirits.
- The Grand Tour, 1550-1850Letters, diaries, journals, account books, printed guidebooks, published travel writing, paintings, sketches, and maps that document the experiences of Englishmen and Englishwomen who took the Grand Tour in the Early Modern period.
- Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995Cold War era open source intelligence. The bulk of the collection comprises translations of technical reports from around the world, with an emphasis on publications of Communist and Third World nations. In addition to technical reports, the collection includes translated television and radio transcripts, translated newspaper and periodical articles, translated government documents, translated speeches, and translated books. Topics range from science, economics, the military, sociology and the environment to specific events like conferences, congresses, and symposia. For more information on the JPRS, see David Y. Allen's article, "Buried Treasure: The Translations of the Joint Publications Research Service" in Government Publications Review, March/April 1982.
- Leisure, Travel, and Mass Culture: The History of TourismBrochures, posters, guidebooks, maps, ephemera, periodicals, films, correspondence, scrapbooks, travel journals, photographs, postcards, company records, government documents, and monographs documenting the history of tourism on all continents, and organized around the following themes: Women and Tourism; Children and Families; Road, Rail and Air Travel; Accommodation, Hospitality and Entertainment; Package Tours, Cruises and Organized Travel; Beachfront: Seaside and Coastal Destinations; The Great Outdoors; Urban Tourism; Health and Medical Travel; Historical, Cultural or Religious Tourism; International Relations; and Planning and Business. 1850 to the 1980s.
- Life at Sea: Seafaring in the Anglo-American Maritime World, 1600-1900Emphasis of the collection is on journals written by sailors on both merchant, naval, and pirate ships. Includes other records that document the daily lives of sailors, including correspondence, court martial records, logbooks, ship's musters, medical journals, memoirs, ship's papers, records of impressment, newspapers, artwork, orderbooks, regulations, and legal records.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600-1926Treatises and monographs, from the collections of Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia. Covers international law, comparative law, foreign law, Roman law, Islamic law, Jewish law, and ancient law.
- Making of Modern Law: Foreign Primary Sources, 1600-1970Legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other European countries.
- Making of the Modern World, 1450-1914Books, pamphlets, periodicals documenting the economic history of the West, very broadly defined, including political writings, works on international relations, international trade and commerce, and slavery, travel narratives, legal cases, and government publications. Based on the Goldsmiths’ Library of Economic Literature at the University of London and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at Harvard University, The Making of the Modern World includes more than 60,000 books and 450 journals.
- Medieval Travel WritingManuscripts that document journeys by European travelers to the Holy Land, India, and China during the 13th through the 16th centuries.
- Migration to New WorldsSources documenting the emigration of people from Europe and Asia to the United States, Canada, and Australasia. Document types include letters, diaries, scrapbooks, artwork, photographs, maps oral histories, pamphlets, ship logbooks, realia, legal papers, and government documents, including all 195 volumes of the British National Archives Record Series CO 384 (War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Emigration Original Correspondence).
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO)A suite of primary source collections, primary source collections documenting the global 19th century. Comprises multiple source types, including books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more
- Revolution and Protest OnlineSupports research on revolution and protest movements around the world, eighteenth century to the present. Bulk of the collection comprises government documents and archival collections (chiefly British and American government documents–Foreign Office and State Department, respectively), but the collection also includes a wide variety of other primary sources (interviews, autobiographies, pamphlets) as well as secondary sources (scholarly monographs, documentary films). Covers over 50 revolutions and protest movements, but the best represented are the Chinese Revolution of 1911, the 1916 Arab Revolt, the Boxer Rebellion, the Cuban revolutions of 1898, the 1952 Egyptian Revolution, the 1964 Zanzibar Revolution, and the Iranian revolutions from 1953-1979.
- Security Issues OnlineSupports research on global security crises from the twentieth century to the present. Covers over 60 security crises, but the best represented are the U2 spy plane crisis of 1960, the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan, the Bay of Pigs crisis, the Tet Offensive in Vietnam, and multiple crises in Iran since 1940. Bulk of the collection has been digitized from national archives and special collections in Britain and America, supplemented by other primary and secondary sources.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and LawAll extant legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, as well as documents on free African-Americans before 1870. Includes every statute passed by every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject. Free to use, but registration required. Part of Hein Online.
- Smithsonian Collections OnlineA collection of books from both world's fairs and state fairs during the period 1834-1918, digitized from a 174 reel microfilm set; records from the Smithsonian Institution and the United States National Museum documenting their roles in world's fairs and international expositions during the period 1867-1940; world's fair memorabilia from the period 1851-1940; publications by and about world's fairs during the period 1843-1922; agricultural trade literature from the period 1820-1926; and trade catalogs and miscellaneous trade literature from the period 1850-1926.
- Socialism on Film: The Cold War and International PropagandaNewsreels, feature films, and documentaries from 1917 through the Cold War. Films were produced in communist and socialist nations, such as the Soviet Union, Vietnam, China, Korea, Cuba, East Germany, and nations of Eastern Europe and Central Asia.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World HistoryWorld travel accounts by women from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Comprises manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, drawings, guidebooks and photographs. Documents from the collections of the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University.
- U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Bi-Weekly Intelligence Summaries, 1928-1938Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 165, Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs: Office of the Director of Intelligence G-2. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944.
- U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Combat Estimates, Western Hemisphere, 1920-1943Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 165, Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs: Office of the Director ofNational Archives, Washington, D.C., Record Group 165, Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs: Office of the Director of Intelligence G-2. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944.
- Women and Social Movements, International, 1840 to the PresentA collection of both primary and secondary sources. Document types include biographies; histories; polemical works; reference works; organizational records; brochures, advertisements, and other ephemera; artwork; literary works; audio recordings; video recordings; research reports; broadsides; cartoons; case studies; government documents; oral histories, personal narratives, interviews, diaries, and autobiographies; curricular documents; periodicals and newspapers; photographs; and personal correspondence.
- Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919-2019Combines ten archival collections (incluidng the Records of the Peace Corps, 1961 - 2000 (RG490). Women in Development (WID) Program Files, 1974 - 1988 (P 72)), books, periodicals, and other document types, organized around ten broad themes: Political and Human Rights; Peace, International Governance, and International Law; Work and Class Identity; Social Reform and Political Activism; Women and Development; Women and Education; Women and Religion; Women and Sexuality, Birth Control, and Health; Women of Color; Women and Immigration; and Women, Colonization, Empire, and Post Coloniality. Like most Alexander Street Press digital collections, this one is deeply indexed and includes extensive editorial apparatus.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820A variety of document types organized around the following thematic clusters: Ottoman and post-Ottoman Empires in the Eastern Mediterranean, 1860-2015; French Empire in North Africa, 1935-2005; Italians Consider the International problem of Trafficking in Women, 1928-1936; Indigenous Women and Anti-Imperialist Activism in South Africa, 1929-1960; Anti-Imperialist Activism of Indonesian Women, 1951-1965; Filipino Women and American Empire, 1904-2004; Anti-Imperialist Writings of Cuban Feminists, 1896-1985; Women Medical Missionaries in China, 1894-1991; United States Women in the Panama Canal Zone, 1907-1975; American Women missionaries in India, 1910-1953; African American Women Shape Political Culture in South Africa, 1928-1969; Native Women Oppose Colonialism in Guatemala, 1960-1996; Moravian Missionary Women Interact with Cherokee Women before Removal, 1805-1835; and Women’s Global Networks, 1883-2007.
- World's Fairs: A Global History of ExpositionsSources from over 200 world's fairs and expositions, with emphasis on 9: the 1851 Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations (London); the 1876 Centennial International Exhibition (Philadelphia); the 1889 Exposition Universelle (Paris); the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition (Chicago); the 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition (St. Louis); the 1915 Panama Pacific International Exposition (San Francisco); the 1933/1934 Century of Progress International Exposition (Chicago); the 1939/1940 New York World's Fair; and the 1967 Expo '67 (Montreal). Includes a wide range of document types, such as posters, books, scrapbooks, maps, pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, diaries, photographs, postcards, sheet music, sound recordings, catalogs, souvenirs, organizational records, and more.
- World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966Collection of film newsreels shown in movie theaters. Newsreels produced by news agencies like Universal Newsreels, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News, Time, United Newsreel Corporation, and more.
- Japan Collections (Adam Matthew Research Source)Digitized from the following microfilm collections: Japan through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travellers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1853-1941 (Part 1: Sources from the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University; Parts 2 to 5: The William Elliot Griffis Collection from Rutgers University Library; Parts 7 and 8: The Harold S. Williams Collection from the National Library of Australia; Part 9: Siebold manuscripts from the Asian and African Studies Collection at the British Library; and Part 10: Japanese manuscripts from the Asian and African Studies Collection at the British Library); East Meets West: Parts 1 to 3: Original Records of Western Traders, Travelers, Missionaries and Diplomats to 1852 (Part 1: The logbook of W. Adams and other manuscript and rare printed material from the Bodleian Library, Oxford; Part 2: Papers of E. Kaempfer and related sources from the British Library; and Part 3: Papers of J. Scattergood, I. Titsingh, H. J. Klaproth and other early materials from the British Library, London); Asian Journals: The Anglo-Japanese Gazette, 1902-1909; and Asian Journals: The Eastern World: A Weekly Journal for Law, Commerce, Politics, Literature and Useful Information, 1899-1908. Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.
- Annual Register Historical Archive1758-present. A standard almanac of world events, valuable for its historical breadth. See also the The Statesman's Yearbook Archive.
- Archives of the Royal Geographic SocietyMaps, photographs, books, expedition reports, and other manuscript materials from the collections of the Royal Geographic Society (Britain), 1830-
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural ExchangeBritish and American diplomatic records, missionary correspondence records; and Western language periodicals dealing with the Far East. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- British Library: Ministry of Defense Maps1840-1935. 1,605 maps of regions around the world. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- British Library: Royal United Services Institution (R.U.S.I.) Maps1700-1899. Almost 5,000 maps of regions around the world. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and ConciliationTRIAL. Transcripts of interviews with Soviet and American leaders, 1950s-1990s. Part of Archives Unbound.
- Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963TRIAL. Records from the U.S. State Department. Part of Archives Unbound.
- Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and EpidemicsBooks, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting nine major themes in the history of medicine: Cholera Epidemics in the 19th Century; the Great Plague of London, 1665; the Boston Smallpox Epidemic, 1721; "Pestilence" and the Printed Books of the Late 15th Century; Spanish Influenza in North America, 1918–1919; Syphilis, 1494–1923; Tropical Diseases and the Construction of the Panama Canal, 1904–1914; Tuberculosis in Europe and North America, 1800–1922; the Yellow Fever Epidemic in Philadelphia, 1793.
- Daily Life Through HistoryPart encyclopedia, and part anthology of primary source documents. Covers all regions and all time periods from ancient history to the present.
- David Rumsey Historical Map CollectionOver 67,000 maps and related images from the 16th to the 21st century, representing all regions of the world. Includes both historical maps and GIS enabled interactive maps.
- Early Rare Photographs from the Victoria and Albert Museum, London1840-1900. Photographs from around the world. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and ConquestPart of Nineteenth Century Collections Online. The African Mail, 1845-1917; the African World and Cape-Cairo Express, 1905-1913; the Annales de l'Extreme Orient et de l'Afrique, 1878-1891; the Bulletins du Comite de l'Afrique francaise, 1891-1914; a collection of colonial African newspapers from the British Library; despatches from United States consulates in Africa, 1818-1906; the Deutsche Kolonialzeitung, 1884-1922; correspondence and entry books from the British War and Colonial Department, 1794–1843, related to the exploration of Africa; a collection of books from the Kolonialbibliothek at the Universitätsbibliothek J.C. Senckenberg at Goethe Universität, Frankfurt am Main on German colonization of Africa; colonial censuses of Africa, 1820-1931; papers of Joseph Chamberlain relating to Africa; Methodist Episcopal Church African missionary correspondence, 1846-1912; travel narratives of African exploration; official statistical registers and blue books of Cape Colony; official statistical yearbooks and censuses of the Natal Colony; Report of the Boundary Survey between British Bechuanaland and German Southwest Africa of 1898-1903; selected Africa collections from the Bodleian Library; selected British Cabinet papers on Africa; selected Colonial Office files on Africa; selected Dominions Office files on Africa; selected Foreign Office files on Africa; selected India Office records on colonial Africa; selected War Office files on Africa; selected maps and plans files on Africa; memoirs of colonial Africa; and Yale Divinity School periodicals on Africa.
- Expeditions and Discoveries: Sponsored Explorations and Scientific Discovery in the Modern AgeMaps, photographs, field notes, letters, manuscript materials, and publications from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting 34 expeditions from 1626-1953. Includes documents from expeditions to the Arctic, Antarctica, Africa, and South America.
- Global Missions and Theology, 1800-1899TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm set Literature of Theology and Church History in the United States and Canada, Missions subset. Part of Archives Unbound.
- Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration, 1938-1947TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm set Records of the Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees, 1938-1947. Part of Archives Unbound.
- International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985TRIAL. Records from the Pan Pacific Women’s Association of the U.S.A. Part of Archives Unbound.
- JFK’s Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm sets John F. Kennedy and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 1: Subject File; John F. Kennedy and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 2: Regional Security File; and John F. Kennedy and Foreign Affairs, 1961-1963, Part 1: National Security Files, Section 3: Departments and Agencies. Part of Archives Unbound.
- Mapping the World: Maps and Travel LiteratureTravel narratives; travel literature; guidebooks; maps; India Office atlases and gazetteers; British Ministry of Defense maps; British Royal United Services Institution (R.U.S.I.) maps; Crace Collection of Maps of London; selected papers on voyages to the East Indies and Asia; King George III Topographical Collection; maps and atlases of North America and the Polar Regions; maps from the American Antiquarian Society; Pacific Railway surveys, 1853-1855: reports of explorations and surveys to ascertain the most practicable and economical route from the Mississippi River to the Pacific Ocean; travel literature of the Ohio River Valley and the American South; and travel and tourist periodicals from the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- The National Archives: Selected Maps Representing the Long 19th Century1780-1925. 5,247 maps of regions in Britain and across the British Empire. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Nineteenth Century Travel Literature1800-1899. 2,510 books from the Bryn Mawr College Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Photography: The World through the LensThe Bauduin Collection of Photographs; British Admiralty Office Photographs; British Colonial Office Photographs; the British Journal of Photography and Annual, 1854-1914; Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science and Industry Collection; Early Rare Photographs from the Victoria and Albert Museum; photographs by David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson, 1843-1848; 2,100 monographs and 80 periodicals on the history of photography; Japanese photographs of the Bakumatsu-Meiji period; the Meiji and Taisho eras in photographs; portraits of modern Japanese historical figures; photographs from the Royal Archives, Windsor; the Photographic News, 1859-1908; photographs from the India Collection at the British Library; photographs from the National Media Museum in Bradford; photographs from the Royal Photographic Society Collection; photographs from the Science Museum; photographs from the Talbot Collection at the British Library; photographs from the Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine; and records of the Copyright Office of the Stationers' Company: Photographs. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Smithsonian Collections OnlineA collection of books from both world's fairs and state fairs during the period 1834-1918, digitized from a 174 reel microfilm set; records from the Smithsonian Institution and the United States National Museum documenting their roles in world's fairs and international expositions during the period 1867-1940; world's fair memorabilia from the period 1851-1940; publications by and about world's fairs during the period 1843-1922; agricultural trade literature from the period 1820-1926; and trade catalogs and miscellaneous trade literature from the period 1850-1926.
- South Seas: Voyaging and Cross-Cultural Encounters in the Pacific, 1760-1800Travel narratives; memoirs; contemporary publications on the South Seas; an interactive map tracking the voyage of H.M.S. Endeavour (August, 1768-July, 1771); an extensive reference library; and more.
- The Statesman's Yearbook Archive1864-present. See also the Annual Register Digital Archive.
- Travel and Tourist Periodicals: Selections from the British Library1848-1913. 16 periodicals from the collections of the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Travel Narratives and Personal Reminiscences1786-1921. Almost 300 travel narratives by British and French travelers. From the collections of the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Travel Narratives in the Göttingener DigitalisierungszentrumsOver 1,400 published travel narratives.
- Travels and Travelers in the 19th Century: Selected Journals and Papers1808-1878. Manuscripts from the collections of the British Library. British travelers. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- UN Comtrade1962-present. Trade statistics from over 200 nations.
- Voyages en Afrique (Gallica)Travel narratives and related documents about travel in Africa, mostly from the "long 19th century." From the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
- Women and Transnational NetworksAction Sociale De La Femme Et Le Livre Francaise, 1936-1940; the Suffragette and Britannia: Official Organ of the Women's Party; the Journal of the American National Women’s Trade Union League; the Reply, 1913-1915; the Suffragist, 1913-1921; Votes for Women, 1907-1918; the Woman Worker, 1908-1910; Woodull and Claflin's Weekly, 1870-1876; Our Corner, 1883-1888; British birth control material at the British Library of Political and Economic Sciences; the diaries of Elizabeth Fry, 1797-1845; 8,500 books, 2,000 pamphlets, 117 periodical titles, 80,000 manuscript pages, and 800 photographs from the History of Women microfilm collection; the Mary Braddon archive; the Myrtilla Miner papers; the papers of Carrie Chapman Catt; the papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton; and 18th and 19th century Quaker women's diaries. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Africa and the New Imperialism: European Borders on the African Continent, 1870-1914Sources documenting colonialism in Africa, primarily from a European perspective. Document types include diaries, journals, illustrated sketchbooks, correspondence, personal papers, government documents, photographs, printed books, reports, and films. Document creators include explorers, scientists, missionaries, travelers, military personnel, colonial administrators, diplomats, business people, journalists, and the British Foreign Office.
- Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan: 1834-1922Documents from British National Archives record series FO 65 (188 volumes), FO 106 (complete 11 volumes), FO 371 (30 volumes of correspondence), FO 539 (118 files of "Confidential Print"). Focus of the collection is on the the geopolitical rivalry between the British and Russian empires in Central Asia, especially in Afghanistan. Document types include correspondence, intelligence reports (including open source intelligence such as translations of Russian newspaper articles), telegrams, agents’ diaries, newspaper clippings, maps, government reports, treaties, photographs, and sketches.
Part of AM Archives Direct. - China and Southeast Asia Collections (Adam Matthew Research Source)Digitized from the following microfilm sets: China through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travelers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1792-1942 (Parts 1-3: Sources from the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University, including the Papers of J. A. Thomas, c. 1905-1923; Parts 4-5: Manuscript Diaries and Papers from the China Records Project at Yale Divinity Library; Part 7: The Diaries of G. E. Morrison , 1862-1920, Peking correspondent of the Times from 1897, and political adviser to the president of China, 1912-1920, from the Mitchell Library, State Library of New South Wales; Part 8: Diaries, Notebooks and Writings of Rewi Alley, 1897-1987, from the Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, New Zealand; and Part 9: The Addis and Geller Collections from the School of Oriental and African Studies, London); China Inland Mission, 1865-1951: From the School of Oriental and African Studies, London (Parts 1-2: James Hudson Taylor Papers: Correspondence, Journals and Subject Files; Part 3: Minutes and Papers of the China Inland Mission; Part 4: Additional CIM Papers and Chefoo Mission Papers; and Part 5: CIM Missionaries: Personal Papers); Asian Economic History: Series One: The Opium Trade and the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, 1945-48 (Public Record Office class FO 371/50647-50654, 57020-57024, 67641-67644, 72907-72915); and Asian Economic History: Series Two: Economic Development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980 (Part 1: Files for 1950-1954; Part 2: Files for 1955-1958; Part 3: Files for 1959-1962; and Part 4: Files for 1963-1966). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.
- Colonial Caribbean1624-1849 (will be extended to 1870 with future modules). Includes documents from the following National Archives record group CO (Colonial Office), with emphasis on the following record series: CO 7: Antigua and Montserrat; CO 8: Antigua; CO 23: Bahamas (includes Turks and Caicos Islands up to 1848); CO 28: Barbados; CO 37: Bermuda; CO 71: Dominica; CO 101: Grenada; CO 110: Guadeloupe; CO 111: British Guiana, formerly Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo; CO 116: British Guiana, formerly Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo; CO 123: British Honduras; CO 137: Jamaica; CO 152: Leeward Islands; CO 154: Leeward Islands; CO 166: Martinique; CO 175: Montserrat; CO 184: Nevis; CO 239: St Christopher (St. Kitts), Nevis and Anguilla; CO 245: Santo Domingo; CO 253: St. Lucia; CO 260: St. Vincent; CO 285: Tobago; CO 295: Trinidad; CO 301: Turks and Caicos; CO 314: Virgin Islands; and CO 318: West Indies. Collection also includes selections from the War Office (WO) record series 1: West Indies. Users can browse the collection by record series, by colony, and by governor. To further support document discovery, the collection has been organized around the following nine themes: Slavery and Emancipation; Crime and Punishment; Finance and Economy; Trade and Shipping; Law and Governance; War and Military; Religion; Plantations and Agriculture; and Piracy and Privateering.
- East India Company
This link opens in a new window
Documents from the collection of India Office records, held by the British Library. In addition to the records of the East India Company, this collection includes records of other agencies charged with administering India, especially after the British Crown took over direct administration of India in 1858 (the Company's charter officially expired in 1874). The collection at the British Library is organized into record series based on the agencies from which the records originated, and the digital collection is based on this classification scheme. Because most of the India Office Records primarily comprise manuscript material, the documents are not keyword searchable, so the interface provides many different ways of interacting with the collection, including by record series, by date, by theme, by index terms (where available), and a hierarchical index of government. Some documents are keyword searchable. - Empire Online15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.
- Empire Studies Collections (Adam Matthew Research Source)Digitized from the following microfilm collections: Empire and Commonwealth: Archives of the Royal Commonwealth Society from Cambridge University Library (Part 1: Colour Question in Imperial Policy, c1830-1939; and Part 2: Imperial and Commonwealth Conferences, 1887-1955); Convict Transportation and the Metropolis: The Letterbooks and Papers of Duncan Campbell, 1726-1803, from the State Library of New South Wales; The Empire Writes Back: Part Two: Black and Asian Visitors to Britain, 1734-1942; African and Colonial Journals (The Colonial Gazette, 1838-1847; and The African Colonizer, 1840-1841; Colonial Enterprise, Review of the Mines, Manufactures and Industries of Greater Britain, 1894-1899; and The African Times and Orient Review, 1912-1914, 1917-1918); Sex and Gender: Manuscript Sources from the National Archives (Parts 1 and 2: Empire and Suffrage); Australia: Colonial Life and Settlement: The Colonial Secretary’s Papers, 1788-1825, from the State Archives and Records Authority of New South Wales (Part 1: Letters Sent, 1808-1825; Part 2: Special Bundles [Topic Collections], Proclamations, Orders and Related Records, 1789-1825; Part 3: Letters Received, 1788-1825); Empire and Colonial Administration: The Papers of Lachlan Macquaire and Family from the State Library of New South Wales; and Plantation Life in the Caribbean (Part 1: Jamaica, c.1765-1848 : the Taylor and Vanneck-Arcedeckne Papers from Cambridge University Library and the Institute of Commonwealth Studies, University of London).
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, 1947-1980Record series DO (Dominions Office) 133, DO 134, FO (Foreign Office) 371, and FCO (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) 37 from the British National Archives.
Part of AM Archives Direct. - India Collections (Adam Matthew Research Source)Digitized from the following microfilm sets: Colonial Discourses, Series 3: Colonial fiction, 1650-1914, Parts 1-3; Curzon, India and Empire: The Papers of Lord Curzon from the British Library, London; The Empire Writes Back: Parts 1-3: Indian Views on Britain and Empire, 1810-1915, from the British Library, London; India During the Raj: Eyewitness Accounts: Diaries and Related Records Describing Life in India, 1712-1925; India in the Age of Empire
The Journals of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth (1812-1881) from the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and Indian Newspaper Reports, c. 1868-1942 (Part 1: Bengal, 1874-1903; Part 2: Bengal, 1904-1916; Part 3: Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c. 1868-1896; Part 4: United Provinces, 1897-1937; Part 5: Madras, 1876-1921; Part 6: Bombay, 1874-1898; Part 7: Bombay, 1901-1921; and Part 8: Punjab 1896-1924, Sind 1936-1939, Burma 1938-1942, Bihar and Orissa 1920). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source. - Japan Collections (Adam Matthew Research Source)Digitized from the following microfilm collections: Japan through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travellers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1853-1941 (Part 1: Sources from the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University; Parts 2 to 5: The William Elliot Griffis Collection from Rutgers University Library; Parts 7 and 8: The Harold S. Williams Collection from the National Library of Australia; Part 9: Siebold manuscripts from the Asian and African Studies Collection at the British Library; and Part 10: Japanese manuscripts from the Asian and African Studies Collection at the British Library); East Meets West: Parts 1 to 3: Original Records of Western Traders, Travelers, Missionaries and Diplomats to 1852 (Part 1: The logbook of W. Adams and other manuscript and rare printed material from the Bodleian Library, Oxford; Part 2: Papers of E. Kaempfer and related sources from the British Library; and Part 3: Papers of J. Scattergood, I. Titsingh, H. J. Klaproth and other early materials from the British Library, London); Asian Journals: The Anglo-Japanese Gazette, 1902-1909; and Asian Journals: The Eastern World: A Weekly Journal for Law, Commerce, Politics, Literature and Useful Information, 1899-1908. Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.
- Missionary Studies Collections (Adam Matthew Research Source)Digitized from the following microfilm collections: African Missions: Papers of the Missions of the United Presbyterian Church from the National Library of Scotland; African Missions, Education and the Road to Independence: The SUM in Nigeria, The Cameroons, Chad, Sudan, and Other African Territories (Part 1: Manuscript Papers, 1898-1960 from the Centre for the Study of World Christianity, New College, University of Edinburgh; Part 2: The Lightbearer, 1905-1991; Part 3: Newsletters, 1940-1989, Publications and Annual Reports, 1908-1979; Part 4: Lantern Slides, Slides and Photographs; and Part 5: Publications in Hausa); Church of Scotland Missionary Archive: From the National Library of Scotland; Congo Mission Archives: The Papers of Bishop Ridsdale, 1916-2000, Missionary to the Eastern Congo, from the Cambridge Centre for Christianity Worldwide; Korean Mission Records: Papers of the Korean Mission, 1889-1987, from the University of Birmingham Library (Part 1: Minute Books, Ledgers and Correspondence with Mission Staff, 1908-1986; and Part 2:. Periodicals, Pamphlets, Press-cuttings and Photographs, 1889-1987); Missionary Pamphlets: Alexander Duff Pamphlet Collection from the Centre for the Study of Christianity in the Non-Western World; Pacific Island Culture and Society: The Papers of the Reverend George Brown, 1835-1917, Methodist Missionary, from the State Library of New South Wales; Regions Beyond Missionary Union Archive: Papers of the RBMU concerning the Congo, India, Nepal and Peru from the Centre for the Study of World Christianity, New College, University of Edinburgh (Part 1: Minute Books of the Regions Beyond Missionary Union, 1903-1955; Part 2: Correspondence and Reports of Regions Beyond Missionary Union: The Congo Mission, 1888-1955; Part 3: Correspondence and Reports of Regions Beyond Missionary Union; Peru, Argentina, India, Nepal, Kaliminta and Irian Jaya, 1893-1955; Part 4: Regions Beyond, 1878-1981, and Horizons, 1981-1990; and Part 5: Correspondence and Reports of Regions Beyond Missionary Union: All Regions, c1955-1990); Scottish Missionary and Philanthropic Register, 1821-1842: From the Centre for the Study of World Christianity, New College, University of Edinburgh (Original microfilm collection called: African Missionary Collections from the Centre for the Study of Christianity in the Non-Western World: Scottish Missionary and Philanthropic Register, 1821-1842); Women Missionaries: From the National Library of Scotland (Part 1: Papers of the Women’s Association for Foreign Missions, 1885-1930, Church of Scotland; and Part 2: Papers of the Ladies’ Society for Female Education in Africa and India, c1878-1904); Women’s Missionary Archives: Sources from the Centre for the Study of World Christianity, University of Edinburgh; and Scottish Missionary Archives
(Part 1: Church of Scotland Foreign Missions Committee Minutes, 1929-1964; Part 2: The Missionary Record of the United Free Church of Scotland, 1901-1929; Part 3: Conference: Quarterly Papers of the United Free Church of Scotland Missions in India, 1902-1969; and Part 4: Church of Scotland Foreign Missions Committee Minutes, 1900-1929). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source. - Selected Colonial Office Files on Africa1794-1919. Includes: CO 50: War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Cape of Good Hope Colony (Cape Colony), Acts Passed by the Government of Cape Colony; CO 114: War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: British Guiana, Formerly Berbice, Demerara and Essequibo, Sessional Papers; CO 455: British South Africa Company Government Gazettes; CO 525: Colonial Office: Nyasaland Original Correspondence; CO 527: Colonial Office: South Africa, Intercolonial Council Original Correspondence; CO 528: Colonial Office: South Africa Railways Original Correspondence; CO 537: Colonial Office and predecessors: Confidential General and Confidential Original Correspondence; CO 873: Colonial Office: Wei-Hai-Wei Commissioner's Files; and CO 879: War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Africa, Confidential Print. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820A variety of document types organized around the following thematic clusters: Ottoman and post-Ottoman Empires in the Eastern Mediterranean, 1860-2015; French Empire in North Africa, 1935-2005; Italians Consider the International problem of Trafficking in Women, 1928-1936; Indigenous Women and Anti-Imperialist Activism in South Africa, 1929-1960; Anti-Imperialist Activism of Indonesian Women, 1951-1965; Filipino Women and American Empire, 1904-2004; Anti-Imperialist Writings of Cuban Feminists, 1896-1985; Women Medical Missionaries in China, 1894-1991; United States Women in the Panama Canal Zone, 1907-1975; American Women missionaries in India, 1910-1953; African American Women Shape Political Culture in South Africa, 1928-1969; Native Women Oppose Colonialism in Guatemala, 1960-1996; Moravian Missionary Women Interact with Cherokee Women before Removal, 1805-1835; and Women’s Global Networks, 1883-2007.
- Family Court of AustraliaProvides full-text judgments of this court from 1982 to the present. Click on "Database Search" and enter your keyword in the search box. This site is also sponsored by the Australasian Legal Information Institute and the Law Foundation of New South Wales.
- Family Court of Hong Kong JudgmentsContains judgments of the Family Court of Hong Kong Judgments from 1973 to 2002. Laws, ordinances, and some government reports are also included. Click on "Search Judgments" in the upper right and type a keyword (e.g., divorce) in the search box.
- GlobaLexA guide maintained by the Hauser Global Law School Program at New York University School of Law. Click on "Foreign Law" to get a list of guides to finding laws and legal resources for specific countries.
- Islamic Family LawNo longer updated. surveys of law by region, as well as legal profiles for individual countries. This site contains a note that it was current as of 2002, when funding for the project ended.
- Lexadin: World Law GuideProvides texts of laws from many countries. Click on "Search" in the upper right, choose the "Search for Law" option, and type in "marriage" as the keyword
- Women Living Under Muslim LawsSponsored by the WLUML Network and provides information by and about women living under Muslim laws. WLULM is an advocacy organization seeking to increase women's autonomy by supporting their struggles and linking them with feminist and progressive groups at large. Some of the group's publications are available as downloads from the site. It also provides news updates culled from a wide range of foreign and international sources.
- World Legal Information InstituteIndependent access to worldwide law.
World War I
- Documents on British Policy Overseas: Diplomacy in the Twentieth CenturyDocuments from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
Series I. v. 1. Conference at Potsdam, July-August 1945. v. 2. Conferences and conversations 1945, London, Washington, and Moscow. v. 3. Britain and America: Negotiation of the United States loan, 3 August-7 December 1945. v. 4. Britain and America: Atomic energy, bases and food, 12 December 1945-31 July 1946. v. 5. Germany and western Europe, 11 August-31 December 1945. v. 6. Eastern Europe 1945-1946. v. 7. United Nations: Iran, Cold War and world organisation, 2 January 1946-13 January 1947. v. 8. Britain and China 1945-1950. v. 9. The Nordic Countries : from war to Cold War, 1944-1951. v. 10 The Brussels and North Atlantic treaties, 1947-1949 -- v. 11. European recovery and the search for Western security, 1946-1948.
Series II. v. 1. The Schuman Plan, the Council of Europe and Western European integration, May 1950-December 1952. v. 2. The London Conferences, Anglo-American relations and Cold War strategy, January-June 1950. v. 3. German rearmament, September-December 1950. v. 4. Korea, June 1950-April 1951. Series III. v. 1. Britain and the Soviet Union, 1968-72. v. 2. The Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe, 1972-75. v. 3. Détente in Europe, 1972-76. v. 4. The year of Europe: America, Europe and the energy crisis, 1972-1974. v. 5. The southern flank in crisis, 1973-1976. v. 6. Berlin in the Cold War, 1948-1990. v. 7. German unification, 1989-1990. v. 8. The invasion of Afghanistan and UK-Soviet Relations, 1979-1982. v. 9. The challenge of Apartheid : UK-South African relations, 1985-1986 -- v. 10. The Polish crisis and relations with Eastern Europe, 1979-1982 -- v. 11. The unwinding of apartheid : UK-South African relations, 1986-1990 -- v. 12. Britain and the revolutions in eastern Europe, 1989. - The First World WarDiaries, letters, postcards, personal narratives, trench literature, maps, scrapbooks, albums, photographs, sketches, paintings, sheet music, cartoons, posters, propaganda, and other ephemera. Documents the war from a global perspective, covering multiple war fronts (Western Front, Ireland, Italian Front, Eastern Front, Balkans, Gallipoli, Middle East, Africa, Asia, the Pacific, neutral countries), and including documents in over 30 different languages (Afrikaans, Arabic, Belgian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Flemish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Malay, Maori, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slavic, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tamil, Turkish, Ukrainian, Welsh, and Yiddish).
- Medical Services and WarfareGeographic coverage: Global, with an Anglo-American bias.
Date range: 1850-1950.
Document types: Addresses; Clinical Notes; Correspondence; Diaries; Ephemera; Financial Documents; Government Documents; Hospital Records; Illustrations; Interview Transcripts; Manuals and Text Books; Maps; Medical Studies; Memoirs; Military Records; Realia; Official Records; Pamphlets; Periodicals; Photographs and Slides; Plans; Postcards; Printed Books; and Statistics.
Topical coverage: Ambulance Systems; Disability; Hospital Care; Medical Developments and Equipment; Mental Health; Nursing; Personal Experience; Public Health, Welfare, and Reform; Rehabilitation; Sanitation; and Women at War.
- Allied Posters of World War IOver 1,500 propaganda posters from the Special Collections of the Temple University Library.
- American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 ElectionAudio recordings of speeches by Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge, and John J. Pershing.
- First World War Poetry Digital ArchiveOver 7,000 artifacts--including text, images, audio, and video--drawn from the personal collections of ten British poets of the War. Though the poets and their poetry are the central, organizing principle of the collection, the collection is far more than an archive of literary artifacts. From Oxford University.
- French World War I Posters Collection105 posters published in France during the First World War digitized by the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois.
- Industrial Mobilization in Britain and the Ministry of Munitions, 1915-1918TRIAL. Digitized from a twelve volume reference work. Part of Archives Unbound.
- Joseph M. Bruccoli Great War CollectionComprises 7 subcollections. Browse by country or date. Collections include correspondence (including postcards), manuscripts, artwork, poetry, and posters.
- Lethbridge Cenotaph CollectionBiographies of 262 Canadian soldiers who are commemorated by a cenotaph in Lethbridge, Alberta.
- Newspaper Pictorials: World War I RotogravuresPhotographs from the rotogravure sections of the New York Times and the New York Tribune. This collection presents higher-quality reproductions than you'll find in the digitized versions of these two newspapers.
- New York State Archives Military Collections: World War I, 1917-1938No longer available. Abstracts of National Guard service, National Guard muster rolls, veterans' service data and photographs, Proclamations by the governor, posters, instructional lantern slides, and more.
- North Carolina State Library World War I CollectionRegimental histories, personal narratives, letters, posters, and photographs.
- The Papers of Vera "Jack Holme"Geographic coverage: United Kingdom.
Date range: 1870-1964.
Document types: Lecture notes, diaries, postcards, poems, music, flyers and pamphlets, government certificates, press clippings, organizational records of the Women's Social and Political Union, speeches, correspondence, reports, and photographs .
Topical coverage: LGBTQ experience.
Source Institution: London School of Economics, The Women's Library.
Part of The Archives of Sexuality and Gender. - Pennsylvania State Library World War I CollectionRegimental histories, posters, government reports, and more, from the State Library of Pennsylvania.
- Posters from the First World War, 1914-1918Over 100 posters, printed in the United States, Russia, France, Britain, Germany, and more. From the Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas at Austin.
- Propaganda PostersOver 500 posters from World War I and World War II, from Washington State University Library.
- The Stars and Stripes: The American Soldiers' Newspaper of World War I
- This link opens in a new window
The complete run of this newspaper's first edition, which subsequently (in World War II) spun off into dozens of editions for different theaters of war. Library of Congress also has a Guide to the different editions of this important newspaper. - War Poster CollectionSelection of World War I and World War II propaganda posters from the University of Washington Libraries Special Collections.
- World War I & II Poster CollectionOver 500 posters, mostly American, but also some British and French. From the University of North Texas Digital Library.
- World War I Collection (Gettysburg College Library)Letters, postcards, and memorabilia from the Musselman Library at Gettysburg College.
- World War I Collection (University of Colorado Library)War-related pamphlets, from the University of Colorado Library.
- World War I Collection (University of Wisconsin Library)Documents from the Special Collections of the Memorial Library at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Emphasis on rescue and relief efforts, but includes propaganda and other aspects of the war as well.
- World War I PamphletsOver 400 war-related pamphlets, from the Special Collections of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.
- World War I Postcards from the Bowman Gray Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel HillOver 6,000 war-themed cards printed in Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Russia, and the U.S. during the war.
- World War I PostersAlmost 2,000 posters, mostly from the United States, but from other countries as well. From the Library of Congress.
- World War I Sheet MusicAlmost 2,000 pieces of war-related sheet music from the Brown University Library.
- World War I Trench Maps and Aerial PhotographsMcMaster University's famous collection of trench maps. Emphasis on France and Belgium, but includes maps and photographs from other theaters of war as well (Eastern front, Middle East, and Africa).
World War II
- World War II Studies Collections (Adam Matthew Research Source)Digitized from the following microfilm and microfiche sets: Cabinet Papers: Series 1: Papers Concerning Defence and Operational Subjects, 1940-1945: Winston Churchill, Minister of Defence, Secretariat Papers (Part 1: PREM 3/1-51; Part 2: PREM 3/52-111; Part 3: PREM 3/112-169; Part 4: PREM 3/170-198; Part 5: PREM 3/199-238; Part 6: PREM 3/239-276; Part 7: PREM 3/277-325; Part 8: PREM 3/326-358; Part 9: PREM 3/359-403; Part 10: PREM 3/404-450; and Part 11: PREM 3/451-515); The Diaries of James V Forrestal, 1944-1949: Complete and Unexpurgated Diaries from the Seeley G Mudd Manuscript Library, Princeton University; Japan and America: The Pacific War and the Occupation of Japan c1930-1955: Series 1: The Papers of General Robert L Eichelberger, 1886-1961 (Part 1: Subject files on World War II and Japan; Part 2: Subject files on Japan and diaries; Part 3: Correspondence; and Partt 4: Subject files, writings, speeches, photographs and oversize material); Japan and America: The Pacific War and the Occupation of Japan c1930-1955: Series 2: The O’Ryan Mission to Japan and Occupied China, 1940; Special Operations Executive, 1940-1946: Subversion and Sabotage during World War II: Series 1: SOE Operations in Western Europe (Part 1: France, the Jedburgh teams and Operation Overlord, 1944-1945, circuit and mission reports and interrogations, 1944-1945, and related materials, 1940-1945; Part 2: France, political and planning files, circuits and missions, 1940-1947; Part 3: Germany, 1936-1945; Part 4: Holland, 1940-1949; Part 5: and Italy, 1941-1948); Special Operations Executive, 1940-1946: Subversion and Sabotage during World War II: Series 2: SOE Operations in the Balkans (Part 1: Yugoslavia, HS 5/868-969, from the National Archives, Kew); and Soviet War Posters: The Tass Poster Series from the University of Nottingham. Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.
Travel and Exploration
- Age of ExplorationGlobal coverage, but from a Eurocentric perspective, ca. 1420-1920. Manuscript, printed books and other printed publications, government documents, maps, diaries, correspondence, ships' logs, newspaper clippings, photographs, ephemera, and realia. Includes some audio recordings and film footage of early 20th century explorers. Organized around ten major themes: Expedition Planning, Financing, and Sponsorship; Ships and Provisions; New Commodities and Trade; New Territories; Ports, Forts, and Entrepôts; Competition; Life at Sea; Indigenous Peoples; Navigation, Scientific Observations, and Instruments; and Personal and Family Life.
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural ExchangeBritish and American diplomatic records, missionary correspondence records; and Western language periodicals dealing with the Far East. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- China, America, and the Pacific: Trade and Cultural Exchange18th to early 20th centuries. Ship logs, manuscripts, business records, newspapers, books, maps, realia, ephemera, paintings, photographs, and other illustrative documents, organized around 18 research themes: Cultural Exchange; Arts and Artifacts; Religion, Faith, and Philosophy; Social Life; Education; Crime; Employment and Labor; Health and Welfare; Race Relations; Travel and Tourism; Exploration and Discovery; The Natural World; Migration and Immigration; Politics, War, and Diplomacy; Trade and Commerce; Regulation and Legislation; Transport and Communication; and Advertising and Consumption.
- China: Trade, Politics, and Culture, 1793-1980English-language documents from London University's School of Oriental and African Studies, and from the British Library. Includes diaries, journals, correspondence, atlases, travel narratives, missionary periodicals, government documents, scrapbooks, and more.
- Chronicles of TerrorTestimony given by Polish citizens suffered war crimes perpetrated by the German and Soviet totalitarian regimes. Accounts can be explored by type of war crime, location of war crime, nationality or ethnicity of perpetrator, nationality or ethnicity of victim, and other subjects treated in the witness testimony.
- Church Missionary Society Periodicals26 periodicals published between 1804 and 2009 by Britain's Church Missionary Society, the Church Missionary Society Mid-Africa Ministry, and the South American Missionary Society. No subject index for individual articles.
- Empire Online15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.
- Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and ConquestPart of Nineteenth Century Collections Online. The African Mail, 1845-1917; the African World and Cape-Cairo Express, 1905-1913; the Annales de l'Extreme Orient et de l'Afrique, 1878-1891; the Bulletins du Comite de l'Afrique francaise, 1891-1914; a collection of colonial African newspapers from the British Library; despatches from United States consulates in Africa, 1818-1906; the Deutsche Kolonialzeitung, 1884-1922; correspondence and entry books from the British War and Colonial Department, 1794–1843, related to the exploration of Africa; a collection of books from the Kolonialbibliothek at the Universitätsbibliothek J.C. Senckenberg at Goethe Universität, Frankfurt am Main on German colonization of Africa; colonial censuses of Africa, 1820-1931; papers of Joseph Chamberlain relating to Africa; Methodist Episcopal Church African missionary correspondence, 1846-1912; travel narratives of African exploration; official statistical registers and blue books of Cape Colony; official statistical yearbooks and censuses of the Natal Colony; Report of the Boundary Survey between British Bechuanaland and German Southwest Africa of 1898-1903; selected Africa collections from the Bodleian Library; selected British Cabinet papers on Africa; selected Colonial Office files on Africa; selected Dominions Office files on Africa; selected Foreign Office files on Africa; selected India Office records on colonial Africa; selected War Office files on Africa; selected maps and plans files on Africa; memoirs of colonial Africa; and Yale Divinity School periodicals on Africa.
- Expeditions and Discoveries: Sponsored Explorations and Scientific Discovery in the Modern AgeMaps, photographs, field notes, letters, manuscript materials, and publications from Harvard University's library and museum collections, documenting 34 expeditions from 1626-1953. Includes documents from expeditions to the Arctic, Antarctica, Africa, and South America.
- Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlement, and Colonial Encounters1650-1920, with bulk of documents from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Emphasis is on British colonialism in North America, Africa, and Australasia. Hybrid collection of books, government documents, legal records, correspondence, business records, maps, diaries and memoirs, pamphlets, ephemera, realia, artwork, and more. Organized around fifteen broad themes: Travel and Exploration; Natural World; Land and Property; Government and Politics; Warfare and Military History; Law and Order; Business and Commerce; Industry and Technology; Agriculture; Art and Entertainment; Healthcare; Women’s History; Children and Family; Religion; and Indigenous Peoples. Collection can also be browsed by subjects (topics, people, and places).
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration, and Cultural Exchange1500-present. Business records, shipping manifests, correspondence, government reports, pamphlets, statistical records, maps, photographs, paintings, prints, advertising, and other artifacts, thematically arranged by the following commodities: chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver, spices, sugar, tea, timber, wheat, wine, and spirits.
- Global Missions and Theology, 1800-1899TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm set Literature of Theology and Church History in the United States and Canada, Missions subset. Part of Archives Unbound.
- The Grand Tour, 1550-1850Letters, diaries, journals, account books, printed guidebooks, published travel writing, paintings, sketches, and maps that document the experiences of Englishmen and Englishwomen who took the Grand Tour in the Early Modern period.
- Leisure, Travel, and Mass Culture: The History of TourismBrochures, posters, guidebooks, maps, ephemera, periodicals, films, correspondence, scrapbooks, travel journals, photographs, postcards, company records, government documents, and monographs documenting the history of tourism on all continents, and organized around the following themes: Women and Tourism; Children and Families; Road, Rail and Air Travel; Accommodation, Hospitality and Entertainment; Package Tours, Cruises and Organized Travel; Beachfront: Seaside and Coastal Destinations; The Great Outdoors; Urban Tourism; Health and Medical Travel; Historical, Cultural or Religious Tourism; International Relations; and Planning and Business. 1850 to the 1980s.
- Mapping the World: Maps and Travel LiteratureTravel narratives; travel literature; guidebooks; maps; India Office atlases and gazetteers; British Ministry of Defense maps; British Royal United Services Institution (R.U.S.I.) maps; Crace Collection of Maps of London; selected papers on voyages to the East Indies and Asia; King George III Topographical Collection; maps and atlases of North America and the Polar Regions; maps from the American Antiquarian Society; Pacific Railway surveys, 1853-1855: reports of explorations and surveys to ascertain the most practicable and economical route from the Mississippi River to the Pacific Ocean; travel literature of the Ohio River Valley and the American South; and travel and tourist periodicals from the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Medieval Travel WritingManuscripts that document journeys by European travelers to the Holy Land, India, and China during the 13th through the 16th centuries.
- National Geographic Historical Archive1888-present.
- Nineteenth Century Travel Literature1800-1899. 2,510 books from the Bryn Mawr College Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Photography: The World through the LensThe Bauduin Collection of Photographs; British Admiralty Office Photographs; British Colonial Office Photographs; the British Journal of Photography and Annual, 1854-1914; Early Rare Photographic Books from the Northwestern Museum of Science and Industry Collection; Early Rare Photographs from the Victoria and Albert Museum; photographs by David Octavius Hill and Robert Adamson, 1843-1848; 2,100 monographs and 80 periodicals on the history of photography; Japanese photographs of the Bakumatsu-Meiji period; the Meiji and Taisho eras in photographs; portraits of modern Japanese historical figures; photographs from the Royal Archives, Windsor; the Photographic News, 1859-1908; photographs from the India Collection at the British Library; photographs from the National Media Museum in Bradford; photographs from the Royal Photographic Society Collection; photographs from the Science Museum; photographs from the Talbot Collection at the British Library; photographs from the Wellcome Library for the History of Medicine; and records of the Copyright Office of the Stationers' Company: Photographs. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Romanticism: Life, Literature and LandscapeThe manuscript collection of the Wordsworth Trust. Document types include: verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art and maps.
- Smithsonian Collections OnlineA collection of books from both world's fairs and state fairs during the period 1834-1918, digitized from a 174 reel microfilm set; records from the Smithsonian Institution and the United States National Museum documenting their roles in world's fairs and international expositions during the period 1867-1940; world's fair memorabilia from the period 1851-1940; publications by and about world's fairs during the period 1843-1922; agricultural trade literature from the period 1820-1926; and trade catalogs and miscellaneous trade literature from the period 1850-1926.
- South Seas: Voyaging and Cross-Cultural Encounters in the Pacific, 1760-1800Travel narratives; memoirs; contemporary publications on the South Seas; an interactive map tracking the voyage of H.M.S. Endeavour (August, 1768-July, 1771); an extensive reference library; and more.
- Travel and Tourist Periodicals: Selections from the British Library1848-1913. 16 periodicals from the collections of the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Travel Narratives and Personal Reminiscences1786-1921. Almost 300 travel narratives by British and French travelers. From the collections of the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Travel Narratives in the Göttingener DigitalisierungszentrumsOver 1,400 published travel narratives.
- Travels and Travelers in the 19th Century: Selected Journals and Papers1808-1878. Manuscripts from the collections of the British Library. British travelers. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.
- Travel Writing, Spectacle, and World HistoryWorld travel accounts by women from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Comprises manuscripts, diaries, correspondence, drawings, guidebooks and photographs. Documents from the collections of the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University.
- Voyages en Afrique (Gallica)Travel narratives and related documents about travel in Africa, mostly from the "long 19th century." From the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
- World's Fairs: A Global History of ExpositionsSources from over 200 world's fairs and expositions, with emphasis on 9: the 1851 Great Exhibition of the Works of Industry of All Nations (London); the 1876 Centennial International Exhibition (Philadelphia); the 1889 Exposition Universelle (Paris); the 1893 World's Columbian Exposition (Chicago); the 1904 Louisiana Purchase Exposition (St. Louis); the 1915 Panama Pacific International Exposition (San Francisco); the 1933/1934 Century of Progress International Exposition (Chicago); the 1939/1940 New York World's Fair; and the 1967 Expo '67 (Montreal). Includes a wide range of document types, such as posters, books, scrapbooks, maps, pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence, diaries, photographs, postcards, sheet music, sound recordings, catalogs, souvenirs, organizational records, and more.