LibGuides: Guide to Digital Collections (History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library): Eastern Europe

Periodicals

The Krokodil Digital Archive, 1922-2007
Russian, satirical monthly. Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
The Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive, 1929-2011
Russian literary journal. Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
Russian Satirical Journals, 1905-1907
Over 600 issues.
The Voprosy Istorii Digital Archive, 1926-2013
Academic history journal. Published as: Istorik-Marksist (1926-1941); Istoricheskii Zhurnal (1937-1945); and Voprosy Istorii (1945-present). Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
Soviet Woman Digital Archive, 1945-1991
Part of East View.

Newspapers

The Current Digest of the Russian Press Digital Archive, 1949-2011
English-language translations of articles from the Soviet and Russian news media. Published in Columbus Ohio as a tool for teachers and researchers. Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
Gudok Digital Archive, 1918-2019
Part of East View.
The Izvestiia Digital Archive, 1917-2010
Began as the official newspaper of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.
Moscow News Digital Archive
The most complete run available of the famous, Moscow-based, international news weekly. The paper began publication in 1930, but was not published between 1949 and 1956. (The archive also includes the paper’s short-lived sibling publication, the Moscow Daily News, 1932-1938.) The newspaper began as a Soviet propaganda tool, and was issued in several languages other than English. It eventually became an important organ of liberalism in the era of perestroika and glasnost, and its reputation rests principally on its outstanding journalism from that period. Much diminished in later years, the paper became an English-language insert in Moskovskiye Novosti, and finally ceased publication altogether in 2014 as a result of Putin’s decision to liquidate the paper’s parent company. Part of EastView.
Neues Deutschland Archive, 1946-2017
Neues Deutschland began publication in 1946 as the official newspaper of the East German Communist Party (Sozialistische Einheitspartei Deutschlands). Since the Wende, the newspaper has remained a socialist organ, even as its circulation has plummeted. Part of EastView Global Press Archive.
Pravda Digital Archive
St. Petersburg, Russia, 1919-2009.
The Sovetskaia Kul’tura Digital Archive, 1929-2013
Russian weekly newspaper. Published as: Rabochii i Iskusstvo (1929-1930); Sovetskoe Iskusstvo (1931-1941); Literatura i Iskusstvo (1942-1944); Sovetskoe Iskusstvo (1944-1952); Sovetskaia Kul'tura (1953-1991); and Kul'tura (1991-current). Part of Eastview Central and Regional Russian Newspapers.

Documents of Foreign Governments about Eastern Europe

Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886
TRIAL. Digitized version of the microfilm set British Foreign Office: Russia Correspondence, 1883-1886. Part of Archives Unbound.
Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963
TRIAL. Records from the U.S. State Department. Part of Archives Unbound.
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Russia and the Soviet Union: Part 1, Russia: From Czar to Commissars, 1914-1918
Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 84: Records of the Department of State Diplomatic Post Files. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945.
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Russia and the Soviet Union: Part 2, The Soviet Union, Section B: 1925-1935
Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 84: Records of the Department of State Diplomatic Post Files: Legation, Riga, Latvia; and RG 59, Department of State Central Decimal Files. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945.
Confidential U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, Russia and the Soviet Union: Part 3, The Soviet Union: 1934-1941
Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 84: Records of the Department of State Diplomatic Post Files: Embassy, Moscow, Soviet Union; and RG 59, Department of State Central Decimal Files. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945.
East Germany from Stalinization to the New Economic Policy, 1950-1963
Digitized from the microfilm sets Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of Germany, 1950-1954; Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of Germany, 1955-1959; and Records of the Department of State Relating to the Internal Affairs of East Germany, 1960-1963. Part of Archives Unbound.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Soviet Union, 1919-1941
Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 165, Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs: Military Intelligence Division Files, Russia. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944.
U.S. Military Intelligence Reports: Soviet Union, 1941-1944
Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 165 Records of the War Department, General and Special Staffs, Military Intelligence Division Records, G-2 Regional File, Russia, and Record Group 319, Records of the Army Staff, Records of the Office of the Assistant Chief of Staff, G-2, Intelligence. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944.

Themed Collections

Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL)
Journals, books, and grey literature from and about Central and Eastern Europe. 1930-present.
Chronicles of Terror
Testimony given by Polish citizens suffered war crimes perpetrated by the German and Soviet totalitarian regimes. Accounts can be explored by type of war crime, location of war crime, nationality or ethnicity of perpetrator, nationality or ethnicity of victim, and other subjects treated in the witness testimony.
Cold War: Voices of Confrontation and Conciliation
TRIAL. Transcripts of interviews with Soviet and American leaders, 1950s-1990s. Part of Archives Unbound.
Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
TRIAL. Concentration Camps Correspondence, 1936-1945; Internment and Transit Camps Correspondence, 1940-1944; Gestapo Prisons Correspondence, 1942-1943; Prisoner of War (POW) Correspondence, 1940-1945; Receipts for Parcels, Money Orders and Personal Effects, 1940-[ca. 1945]; Paper Currency, 1940-1945; and Realia, [ca. 1939-1945]. Part of Archives Unbound.
Eastern European LGBTQ Collection
Ephemera (e.g. bookmarks, brochures, leaflets, business cards, clothing, household objects, posters, postcards), books, reports, pamphlets and booklets, and periodicals from the following nations: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Poland, and Slovenia.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
Covering the period September 4, 1941 through 1996. The FBIS is a branch of the United States government that has operated variously under the Federal Communications Commission, the War Department, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Its purpose is to produce “open source intelligence” reports for the U.S. government. The agency monitors radio broadcasts, newspapers, and other publicly available news sources from around the world, and then transcribes and translates this news so that it may be used to inform American foreign policy. Sometimes news is translated in its entirety; sometimes it is summarized. In addition to news, the FBIS staff translate speeches, interviews, and other types of information sources. n addition to keyword searching, the collection also supports browsing by major historical events.
more...less...
This first module is divided into six series: Asia and the Pacific: April 14, 1967 through March 29, 1974; Eastern Europe: April 14, 1967 through March 29, 1974; Latin America and Western Europe: February 16, 1970 through March 29, 1974; Middle East and Africa: May 28, 1970 through March 29, 1974; the People’s Republic of China: March 7, 1973 through March 29, 1974; and the Soviet Union: March 8, 1968 through March 29, 1974.
Prague Spring Archive
Video and audio recordings documenting the events of 1968-1969, with extensive supplementary material.
Stalin Digital Archive
Organized into six series. Series I: Documents written by Stalin from 1889-1952; Series II:Documents written by Stalin from 1911-1944; Series III: Books from Stalin's personal library with his marginal notes (300 books in this series); Series IV: Stalin's biographical materials; Series V: Stalin's correspondence and other documents from 1917 to 1952; Series VI: All 26 volumes of Yale University Press's Annals of Communism. Series I-V were digitized from Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI). Slavic Reference Service here at Illinois notes that this digital collection includes slightly more than half (29,000) of the 40,0000 documents in the RGASPI, and should therefore be considered quite incomplete.
Travels in Southeastern Europe
Over 130 travel narratives, primarily 19th and early 20th century, with emphasis on travels in Bosnia and Hercegovina.
Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, 1960-1969: Europe and Latin America
The European files principally cover Germany and the Soviet Union. The Latin American files cover Cuba, Mexico, and Panama. Part of ProQuest History Vault.
more...less...
Digitized from the following NARA and UPA microfilm publications. LATIN AMERICA: C155 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: South America, Internal and Foreign Affairs, 1960 - Jan. 1963); C170 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Mexico, Internal Affairs, 1960 - Jan. 1963); C171 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Mexico, Foreign Affairs, 1960 - Jan. 1963); C160 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Mexico, Feb. 1963-1966; Part 1: Political, Governmental and National Defense Affairs); C69 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba: 1960-January 1963, Internal Affairs); C183 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Cuba: 1960-January 1963, Foreign Affairs); C159 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Cuba, Feb. 1963-1966. Part 1: Political, Governmental and National Defense Affairs); and C182 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Panama: 1963-1966).
EUROPE: C67 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Germany 1960-January 1963; Foreign Affairs); C68 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Germany: 1960-January 1963, Internal Affairs); C158 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Federal Republic of Germany, Feb. 1963-1966. Part 1: Political, Government and National Defense); C185 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files: Germany, February 1963-1966, Part 1: Political, Governmental, and National Defense Affairs); C184 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files,The Soviet Union: 1960-January 1963, Foreign Affairs); C97 (Records of the U.S. Department of State Relating to Political, Governmental, and National) Defense Affairs of the Soviet Union, Part I, February 1963-1966); and C161 (Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files:The Soviet Union, 1967-1969. Part 1: Political, Governmental and National Defense Affairs).
Additional content digitized from UPA's Confidential U.S. State Department central files. internal affairs : decimal numbers 761, 861, and 961: The Soviet Union 1960-January 1963;
Belarus Anti-Fascist Leaflets
97 leaflets and clippings from 30 newspaper titles published during the German occupation of Belarus.