18th to early 20th centuries. Ship logs, manuscripts, business records, newspapers, books, maps, realia, ephemera, paintings, photographs, and other illustrative documents, organized around 18 research themes: Cultural Exchange; Arts and Artifacts; Religion, Faith, and Philosophy; Social Life; Education; Crime; Employment and Labor; Health and Welfare; Race Relations; Travel and Tourism; Exploration and Discovery; The Natural World; Migration and Immigration; Politics, War, and Diplomacy; Trade and Commerce; Regulation and Legislation; Transport and Communication; and Advertising and Consumption.

Collection of pamphlets from the Charles W. Wason Collection at Cornell University Library. Covers the period 1750-1929.

English-language documents from London University's School of Oriental and African Studies, and from the British Library. Includes diaries, journals, correspondence, atlases, travel narratives, missionary periodicals, government documents, scrapbooks, and more.

Documents from the collection of India Office records, held by the British Library. In addition to the records of the East India Company, this collection includes records of other agencies charged with administering India, especially after the British Crown took over direct administration of India in 1858 (the Company's charter officially expired in 1874). The collection at the British Library is organized into record series based on the agencies from which the records originated, and the digital collection is based on this classification scheme. Because most of the India Office Records primarily comprise manuscript material, the documents are not keyword searchable, so the interface provides many different ways of interacting with the collection, including by record series, by date, by theme, by index terms (where available), and a hierarchical index of government. Some documents are keyword searchable.

15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.

Covering the period September 4, 1941 through 1996. The FBIS is a branch of the United States government that has operated variously under the Federal Communications Commission, the War Department, and the Central Intelligence Agency. Its purpose is to produce “open source intelligence” reports for the U.S. government. The agency monitors radio broadcasts, newspapers, and other publicly available news sources from around the world, and then transcribes and translates this news so that it may be used to inform American foreign policy. Sometimes news is translated in its entirety; sometimes it is summarized. In addition to news, the FBIS staff translate speeches, interviews, and other types of information sources. n addition to keyword searching, the collection also supports browsing by major historical events.

46 periodicals, ca. 1968-2001. Part of EastView.

1878-1891. Official bulletin of the Société Académique Indo-Chinoise. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

British and American diplomatic records, missionary correspondence records; and Western language periodicals dealing with the Far East. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Collection of over 170 maps that document how the West's image of East Asia evolved over the course of the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Rare source collections for the study of Asian history, with English-language interface.

Multiple sub-collections, including Japanese Empire Postcard Collection, Truku-Japanese War Commemorative Postcard Collection, Japanese Imperial House Postcard Album, Stereoviews of the Siege of Port Arthur, Imperial Postcards, Tsubokura Russo-Japanese War Postcard Album, Sino-Japanese War Postcard Album, Lin Chia-Feng Family Postcards, Japanese History Study Cards, Pacific War Postcards, Dutch East Indies Negatives, Manchuria Negatives, Taiwan Negatives, Japan Slides, Souvenirs of Beijing and Tokyo, and more.

TRIAL. Digitized from NARA Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Germany, 1910-1929: 62a, 62c, 62d, 62e, 62f, 62g, 62h, 621, 62k, 62L, 62m. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Part of Archives Unbound.

Manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road.

1800-1906. From the manuscript collections of the British Library. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Diary of a 1926 trip to China, Japan, and other parts of East Asia.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Historical maps and images of Tibet from the holdings of the American Geographical Society Library.

Oral histories.

Documents the post-World War II revival of interest in bunraku. More that 12,500 slides and nearly 7,000 black-and-white photographs, as well as theater programs, texts, and audio and video recordings of interviews. Most of the collection has yet to be digitized.

1862-1870. 527 photographs of places in Japan, taken or collected by Anthonius Franciscus Bauduin. From the collections of Nagasaki University. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Collection of monographs issued by the Center for Japanese Studies, University of Michigan.

Examples of late 17th century to early 20th century Japanese woodblock prints by the artists Chikanobu (1838-1912) and Yoshitoshi (1839-1892).

Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 84: Records of the Department of State Diplomatic Post Files: Japan. From ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945.

Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 84: Records of the Department of State Diplomatic Post Files: Legation, Tokyo, Japan. From ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945.

Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 84: Records of the Department of State Diplomatic Post Files: Embassy, Tokyo, Japan. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945.

Photographs, illustrations, and field notes from anthropologist David Plath's 1965 research trip to Japan, where he studied four utopian communities: Ittoen, Atarashiki Mura, Shinkyo, and Yamagishi Kai.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

TRIAL. Digitized from NARA Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Germany, 1910-1929: 62a, 62c, 62d, 62e, 62f, 62g, 62h, 621, 62k, 62L, 62m. Part of Archives Unbound.

Drawn from the British National Archives record series FO 262 and FO 371.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Collection of print publications (newspapers, magazines, books, and pamphlets) issued in Japan during the immediate post-World War II years, 1945-1949. Includes guides to collections that haven't yet been digitized, and a section of English-language sources.

TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm sets Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, Japan, 1930-1939; Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, Japan, 1940-1944; and Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, Japan, 1945-1949. Part of Archives Unbound.

Digitized from the following microfilm collections: Japan through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travellers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1853-1941 (Part 1: Sources from the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University; Parts 2 to 5: The William Elliot Griffis Collection from Rutgers University Library; Parts 7 and 8: The Harold S. Williams Collection from the National Library of Australia; Part 9: Siebold manuscripts from the Asian and African Studies Collection at the British Library; and Part 10: Japanese manuscripts from the Asian and African Studies Collection at the British Library); East Meets West: Parts 1 to 3: Original Records of Western Traders, Travelers, Missionaries and Diplomats to 1852 (Part 1: The logbook of W. Adams and other manuscript and rare printed material from the Bodleian Library, Oxford; Part 2: Papers of E. Kaempfer and related sources from the British Library; and Part 3: Papers of J. Scattergood, I. Titsingh, H. J. Klaproth and other early materials from the British Library, London); Asian Journals: The Anglo-Japanese Gazette, 1902-1909; and Asian Journals: The Eastern World: A Weekly Journal for Law, Commerce, Politics, Literature and Useful Information, 1899-1908. Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.

Important Japanese historical documents with English-language translations.

1858 -1897. 6,239 photographs from the collections of Nagasaki University. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Classical Japanese literature.

1868-1926. From the collections of the National Diet Library in Tokyo, Japan. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Documents (diaries, correspondence, research files, drawings, lecture notes, publications, scrapbooks and manuscripts) from the Edward Sylvester Morse Collection in the Peabody Essex Museum's Phillips Library.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1860-1914. From the collections of the National Diet Library in Tokyo, Japan. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 165, Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs: Military Intelligence Division Files, Japan. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944.

Digitized Japanese newspapers, ca. 1874-present. Includes the Daily Yomiuri, an English language Japanese newspaepr, 1989-1992.

18th to early 20th centuries. Ship logs, manuscripts, business records, newspapers, books, maps, realia, ephemera, paintings, photographs, and other illustrative documents, organized around 18 research themes: Cultural Exchange; Arts and Artifacts; Religion, Faith, and Philosophy; Social Life; Education; Crime; Employment and Labor; Health and Welfare; Race Relations; Travel and Tourism; Exploration and Discovery; The Natural World; Migration and Immigration; Politics, War, and Diplomacy; Trade and Commerce; Regulation and Legislation; Transport and Communication; and Advertising and Consumption.

Collection of pamphlets from the Charles W. Wason Collection at Cornell University Library. Covers the period 1750-1929.

English-language documents from London University's School of Oriental and African Studies, and from the British Library. Includes diaries, journals, correspondence, atlases, travel narratives, missionary periodicals, government documents, scrapbooks, and more.

Digitized from the following microfilm sets: China through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travelers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1792-1942 (Parts 1-3: Sources from the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University, including the Papers of J. A. Thomas, c. 1905-1923; Parts 4-5: Manuscript Diaries and Papers from the China Records Project at Yale Divinity Library; Part 7: The Diaries of G. E. Morrison , 1862-1920, Peking correspondent of the Times from 1897, and political adviser to the president of China, 1912-1920, from the Mitchell Library, State Library of New South Wales; Part 8: Diaries, Notebooks and Writings of Rewi Alley, 1897-1987, from the Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, New Zealand; and Part 9: The Addis and Geller Collections from the School of Oriental and African Studies, London); China Inland Mission, 1865-1951: From the School of Oriental and African Studies, London (Parts 1-2: James Hudson Taylor Papers: Correspondence, Journals and Subject Files; Part 3: Minutes and Papers of the China Inland Mission; Part 4: Additional CIM Papers and Chefoo Mission Papers; and Part 5: CIM Missionaries: Personal Papers); Asian Economic History: Series One: The Opium Trade and the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, 1945-48 (Public Record Office class FO 371/50647-50654, 57020-57024, 67641-67644, 72907-72915); and Asian Economic History: Series Two: Economic Development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980 (Part 1: Files for 1950-1954; Part 2: Files for 1955-1958; Part 3: Files for 1959-1962; and Part 4: Files for 1963-1966). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.

China-related records from the archive series India Office Records (IOR) held by the British Library. The collection reflects British security interests, particularly with regard to India. Document types include reports, memoranda, correspondence, pamphlets and official publications, intelligence diaries, accounts of political and scientific expeditions, travel diaries, handbooks and maps.

Correspondence from British National Archives record series CO 129 (War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office: Hong Kong, Original Correspondence).

Gazetteers from across China, ca.1229-1949. Collection also includes dictionaries and travel guides.

TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm set Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1949. Part of Archives Unbound.

Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954.

Thousands of periodicals from the period 1911 to 1949.

Rubbings made from stone stelae, tomb tablets, rocks, bronze vessels, jade objects, ceramics, tomb bricks, and roof tiles. Source objects date from the Qin Dynasty (221-207 BCE) to the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644 CE).

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Contains judgments of the Family Court of Hong Kong Judgments from 1973 to 2002. Laws, ordinances, and some government reports are also included. Click on "Search Judgments" in the upper right and type a keyword (e.g., divorce) in the search box.

Complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, from 1919-1980.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Complete British Foreign Office Files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, from 1919-1980.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

TRIAL. Digitized from the microfilm set The Complete Records of the Mission of General George C. Marshall to China, December 1945 -January 1947, selected from Record Group 59, Records relating to the U.S. Department of State. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Digitized from NARA Record Group 242: National Archives Collection of Foreign Records Seized, T-1141: Records of the German Foreign Ministry Pertaining to China, 1919-1935. Part of Archives Unbound.

Over 5,000 photographs taken by Hedda Hammer Morrison (1908–1991) while resident in Beijing from 1933 to 1946.

Popular Chinese women's magazine.

The Bangkok Calendar, 1848-1873; the Chinese Social and Political Science Review, 1916-1941; the Far-Eastern Review, 1904-1941; the Journal of the Ceylon Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society, 1845-1870; the Journal of the China Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society, 1847-1912; the Journal of the North-China Branch of the Royal Asiatic Society, 1858-1948; Mélanges Asiatiques, 1849-1894; and shorter runs of other periodicals: Chinas Millionen; the World's Chinese Students' Journal; the Chinese Missionary Gleaner; China's Young Men: Nanking University Magazine; Chine et Ceylond; and more. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

TRIAL. Three sub-collections: A Compilation of Rare English Journals Published inside and outside China before 1911; The China Review: or Notes and Queries on the Far East (1872-1901); and Indo-Chinese Gleaner (1817-1822). Part of Archives Unbound.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Collection of portraits of patients at the Canton Hospital, China, ca. 1830s.

12 English language, Chinese newspapers and periodicals: the Canton Times (1919-1920); the China Critic (1939-1940, 1946); the China Press (1925-1938); the Chinese Repository (1832-1851); Millard's Review of the Far East (1917-1953); the Missionary Recorder (1868-1940); the North-China Herald (1850-1941); the Peking Daily News (1914-1917); the Peking Gazette (1915-1917); the Peking Leader (1918-1919); the Shanghai Gazette (1919-1920); and the Shanghai Times (1914-1921).

The ProQuest Historical South China Morning Post comprises the following Hong Kong newspaper files: the South China Morning Post (1903-1941); the South China Morning Post and the Hongkong Telegraph (1945-1946); and the South China Morning Post (1946-2001) with Sunday edition files for 1950-1974, and 1985-2001. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Images from China, 1898-1908, including images of the Boxer Rebellion.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Currently unavailable online. Might be available on microfilm--inquire with librarian. NARA RG 165, Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs: Military Intelligence Division Files, China. Part of ProQuest History Vault: U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944.

1937-1979; Burke Chinese Medical Lantern Slides; Chinese Medical Directories; and a run (1919-1923) of the National Medical Journal of China. Also includes a portal to additional document collections.

Digitized from the following microfilm sets: China through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travelers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1792-1942 (Parts 1-3: Sources from the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University, including the Papers of J. A. Thomas, c. 1905-1923; Parts 4-5: Manuscript Diaries and Papers from the China Records Project at Yale Divinity Library; Part 7: The Diaries of G. E. Morrison , 1862-1920, Peking correspondent of the Times from 1897, and political adviser to the president of China, 1912-1920, from the Mitchell Library, State Library of New South Wales; Part 8: Diaries, Notebooks and Writings of Rewi Alley, 1897-1987, from the Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, New Zealand; and Part 9: The Addis and Geller Collections from the School of Oriental and African Studies, London); China Inland Mission, 1865-1951: From the School of Oriental and African Studies, London (Parts 1-2: James Hudson Taylor Papers: Correspondence, Journals and Subject Files; Part 3: Minutes and Papers of the China Inland Mission; Part 4: Additional CIM Papers and Chefoo Mission Papers; and Part 5: CIM Missionaries: Personal Papers); Asian Economic History: Series One: The Opium Trade and the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, 1945-48 (Public Record Office class FO 371/50647-50654, 57020-57024, 67641-67644, 72907-72915); and Asian Economic History: Series Two: Economic Development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980 (Part 1: Files for 1950-1954; Part 2: Files for 1955-1958; Part 3: Files for 1959-1962; and Part 4: Files for 1963-1966). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Almost fifty Singaporean and Malaysian newspapers, majority in English. Coverage is primarily late nineteenth century and early-to-mid twentieth century. Some issues (especially post-1989) are embargoed. Click here to view a complete list of titles in NewspaperSG.

Documents produced by and for the British Foreign Office, now part of UK National Archives record series FO 371 (FO 371/143956 through FO 371/80511). Collection presents a view of the regional conflicts from the perspective of the British government. Part of AM Archives Direct.

Digitized from the following microfilm sets: China through Western Eyes: Manuscript Records of Traders, Travelers, Missionaries and Diplomats, 1792-1942 (Parts 1-3: Sources from the William R. Perkins Library, Duke University, including the Papers of J. A. Thomas, c. 1905-1923; Parts 4-5: Manuscript Diaries and Papers from the China Records Project at Yale Divinity Library; Part 7: The Diaries of G. E. Morrison , 1862-1920, Peking correspondent of the Times from 1897, and political adviser to the president of China, 1912-1920, from the Mitchell Library, State Library of New South Wales; Part 8: Diaries, Notebooks and Writings of Rewi Alley, 1897-1987, from the Alexander Turnbull Library, Wellington, New Zealand; and Part 9: The Addis and Geller Collections from the School of Oriental and African Studies, London); China Inland Mission, 1865-1951: From the School of Oriental and African Studies, London (Parts 1-2: James Hudson Taylor Papers: Correspondence, Journals and Subject Files; Part 3: Minutes and Papers of the China Inland Mission; Part 4: Additional CIM Papers and Chefoo Mission Papers; and Part 5: CIM Missionaries: Personal Papers); Asian Economic History: Series One: The Opium Trade and the UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs, 1945-48 (Public Record Office class FO 371/50647-50654, 57020-57024, 67641-67644, 72907-72915); and Asian Economic History: Series Two: Economic Development in Brunei, Hong Kong, Malaysia, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan, 1950-1980 (Part 1: Files for 1950-1954; Part 2: Files for 1955-1958; Part 3: Files for 1959-1962; and Part 4: Files for 1963-1966). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.

Documents drawn from British National Archives record series FO 371, DO 169, DO 187, FCO 15 and FCO 24. Emphasis on Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, and Philippines. Documents digitized in full color.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

TRIAL. Digitized from three microfilm sets: Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, Afghanistan, 1945-1949; Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs, Afghanistan, 1960-1963; and Records of the Department of State Relating to Political Relations, U.S. and Afghanistan, 1930-1959. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Documents from the Records of the Military Department held by the British Library. Part of Archives Unbound.

1830-1934. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Documents from British National Archives record series FO 65 (188 volumes), FO 106 (complete 11 volumes), FO 371 (30 volumes of correspondence), FO 539 (118 files of "Confidential Print"). Focus of the collection is on the the geopolitical rivalry between the British and Russian empires in Central Asia, especially in Afghanistan. Document types include correspondence, intelligence reports (including open source intelligence such as translations of Russian newspaper articles), telegrams, agents’ diaries, newspaper clippings, maps, government reports, treaties, photographs, and sketches.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Images and maps, as well as reference sources, newspapers, scholarly monographs, statistics, and more.

Documents from the collection of India Office records, held by the British Library. In addition to the records of the East India Company, this collection includes records of other agencies charged with administering India, especially after the British Crown took over direct administration of India in 1858 (the Company's charter officially expired in 1874). The collection at the British Library is organized into record series based on the agencies from which the records originated, and the digital collection is based on this classification scheme. Because most of the India Office Records primarily comprise manuscript material, the documents are not keyword searchable, so the interface provides many different ways of interacting with the collection, including by record series, by date, by theme, by index terms (where available), and a hierarchical index of government. Some documents are keyword searchable.

15th century to the present. Emphasis on the British Empire. Collection tilts heavily toward the 18th century, 19th century, and early 20th centuries.

TRIAL. Digitized from the records of the Presbyterian Historical Society in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Part of Archives Unbound.

Record series DO (Dominions Office) 133, DO 134, FO (Foreign Office) 371, and FCO (Foreign and Commonwealth Office) 37 from the British National Archives.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

Records from the United States National Archives and Records Administration documenting efforts to revoke the citizenship of Indians naturalized as U.S. citizens, and to exclude Indians from admission to the United States. Digitized from NARA microfilm publication M1868: "Department of Justice and U.S. Attorney General records produced herein primarily concern the United States government's prosecution of [Indian] nationalists in the "Hindu Conspiracy Case" for violations of the Espionage Act (40 Stat. 217-231)." Part of Archives Unbound.

1710-1937. Diaries, journals, official papers, letters, sketches, paintings, histories and literary works documenting the British presence in India. Emphasis on the role of the Scottish in India as traders, generals, missionaries, viceroys, governor-generals. Documents drawn from the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland

Selections from the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration Record Groups 59. Digitized from the 16 reel microfilm set, Records of the U.S. State Department: India and Pakistan: Political and Governmental Affairs, February 1963-1966: Subject-Numeric File POL. Part of Archives Unbound.

Digitized from the following microfilm sets: Colonial Discourses, Series 3: Colonial fiction, 1650-1914, Parts 1-3; Curzon, India and Empire: The Papers of Lord Curzon from the British Library, London; The Empire Writes Back: Parts 1-3: Indian Views on Britain and Empire, 1810-1915, from the British Library, London; India During the Raj: Eyewitness Accounts: Diaries and Related Records Describing Life in India, 1712-1925; India in the Age of Empire
The Journals of Michael Pakenham Edgeworth (1812-1881) from the Bodleian Library, Oxford; and Indian Newspaper Reports, c. 1868-1942 (Part 1: Bengal, 1874-1903; Part 2: Bengal, 1904-1916; Part 3: Punjab, Agra, Oudh, Rajputana and Central Provinces, c. 1868-1896; Part 4: United Provinces, 1897-1937; Part 5: Madras, 1876-1921; Part 6: Bombay, 1874-1898; Part 7: Bombay, 1901-1921; and Part 8: Punjab 1896-1924, Sind 1936-1939, Burma 1938-1942, Bihar and Orissa 1920). Part of Adam Matthew Research Source.

Digitized from the 2 reel microfilm set, Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files. India: Internal Affairs, 1945-1949. Documents selected from National Archives and Records Administration Record Group 59, decimal numbers 645, 745, 845 and 711.45. Part of Archives Unbound.

Official Army war diaries for the North-West Indian Frontier. Diaries selected from British Library record series IOR/L/MIL/17/5/4066-4121. War diaries are an official category of British government document, and provide information on the activities of the Army for which each diary reports. These are not personal diaries of soldiers, officers, or other military personnel. Part of Archives Unbound.

Part of the digital collection, Afghan Central Press. Covers the years 1962-2023.

1850-1914. 11,655 photographs. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

1838-2008. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Currently includes nine newspapers from south Asia, covering late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Click here to view a complete title list for South Asian Newspapers (World Newspaper Archive). Part of the World Newspaper Archive.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

TRIAL. Digitized from NARA Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Netherlands, 1910-1929: 856d, 856e, 856f, 856g, 856h, and 856i. Part of Archives Unbound.

TRIAL. Digitized from NARA Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Germany, 1910-1929: 62a, 62c, 62d, 62e, 62f, 62g, 62h, 621, 62k, 62L, 62m. Part of Archives Unbound.

Documents drawn from British National Archives record series FO 371, DO 169, DO 187, FCO 15 and FCO 24. Emphasis on Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, and Philippines. Documents digitized in full color.
Part of AM Archives Direct.

John R.M. Taylor's The Philippine Insurrection Against the United States: A Compilation of Documents with Notes and Introduction, (Washington, D.C.: Bureau of Insular Affairs, War Department, 1906.) along with 1,430 supporting documents. Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

TRIAL. Records from the Pan Pacific Women’s Association of the U.S.A. Part of Archives Unbound.

Part of Nineteenth Century Collections Online.

Travel narratives; memoirs; contemporary publications on the South Seas; an interactive map tracking the voyage of H.M.S. Endeavour (August, 1768-July, 1771); an extensive reference library; and more.

Almost fifty Singaporean and Malaysian newspapers, majority in English. Coverage is primarily late nineteenth century and early-to-mid twentieth century. Some issues (especially post-1989) are embargoed. Click here to view a complete list of titles in NewspaperSG.