LibGuides: French and Francophone Studies: Literature

Featured Resource: Fabula

Launched in 1999 by Alexandre Gefen and René Audet, Fabula is an an online resource and a meeting place for researchers in the broad field of literary studies. The site includes articles published in their journals, call for papers, and news of interest to readers.

Marcel Proust Resources

Relevant Databases--in order of relevance

Bibliographie de la littérature française This link opens in a new window
Published in print as Bibliographie de la littérature française

Klapp-Online This link opens in a new window
The 'Klapp', officially Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft = Bibliographie d'histoire littéraire française but mostly called after its creator Otto Klapp, is the most comprehensive survey of publications on French literature since 1956. In 2012, it was converted into a database covering the years 1991-2011, and presented as Klapp-Online. Annual updates will be released each fall, integrated with the cumulative coverage.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Alternate Access Link

ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
This database contains 3 million literature citations from thousands of journals, monographs, dissertations, and more than 500,000 primary works. These include rare and obscure texts, multiple versions, and non-traditional sources like comics, theatre performances, and author readings. It also includes book reviews and criticism related to this content.

Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Gale Literature Criticism Online. LCO covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays. Database subscriptions may include any or all of the following titles, based on subscriber preferences: Contemporary literary criticism; Twentieth-Century literary criticism; Nineteenth-Century literature criticism; Literature criticism from 1400-1800; Shakespearean criticism; Classical and medieval literature criticism; Poetry criticism; Short story criticism; Drama criticism; and Children's literature review.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of full-text articles, essays, book reviews, plot summaries, poems, short stories, plays, and interviews with contemporary writers.

Project Muse provides full-text access to over 200 scholarly journals in the following fields: literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, and many others.

JSTOR provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis.

Print Bibliographies

Bibliographies of literary criticism for French-language literature are available two forms: online and in print. Online databases tend to be limited to works dating from the last few decades and to journal articles and book chapters (but often omit full books). Print bibliographies usually cover articles and books and can go back many years, perhaps even centuries. A list of online article indexes can be found in the box below.

Major Print Bibliographies:

Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft. Otto Klapp, ed. Annual. Frankfurt: Vittorio Klostermann, 1956--.For help with BFL, aslo known as Klapp after the editor, see the box below. This resource is now online: Klapp-Online

French XX bibliography. French Institute-Alliance Française, from 1885-2921.

~To find more print bibliographies on French literature, search the using the subject heading French literature--bibliographies. and searching by SUBJECT.

To find bibliographies on specific authors, perform a subject search in the Online Catalog for the author's name (last name, first name) and the word "bibliography".