International Resources
- H-Net Online Book Reviews ( WWW )H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly review resource. H-Net Reviews bring a new dimension to the world of academic publishing. Our reviews are published online via discussion networks and the H-Net web site. This permits our reviews to reach scholars with a speed unmatched in any other medium. It also makes a new kind of interactivity possible, as reviewers, authors and readers engage in discussions of the reviews online. Through the power of e-mail and the web, H-Net has helped pioneer online scholarly reviewing.
- IFB: Informationsmittel für Bibliotheken ( WWW )Edited by Dr. Klaus Schreiber of the Wurttembergische Landesbibliothek in Stuttgart, Germany, this online source of reviews of scholarly books on all areas of the humanities and social sciences has come to be one of the best book selection sources on the Internet for academic librarians. All issues are archived by date of issue. Within a given issue reviews are located under major subject headings. Although most of the titles reviewed are in the German language, increasingly works in other languages are also being reviewed in this source.
- RRE: Reference Reviews Europe Online/Annual ( WWW )Reference Reviews Europe Online is a quarterly version of IFB in which selected reviews are abstracted and translated into English by a group of North American abstractors/translators. Reference Reviews Europe Annual (028.12 R259) represents, in a print version, a cumulative selection of the abstracted reviews from Reference Reviews Europe Online.
- The Medieval Review ( WWW )Since 1993, The Medieval Review (TMR; formerly the Bryn Mawr Medieval Review) has been publishing reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies, a field it interprets as broadly as possible. The electronic medium allows for very rapid publication of reviews, and provides a computer searchable archive of past reviews, both of which are of great utility to scholars and students around the world.
Book Reviews in Journal Databases ( UIUC )
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Academic Search Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences. Disciplines covered include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. A brief bibliographic description of each title is given. Searches can be conducted across the full text of all journals in the database.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Historical Abstracts with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
