Apps for Your Phone and Computer
Beelinguapp is a free app exclusively for mobile devices and focuses on learning and practicing languages through reading. Within the app, you can listen and read stories in your language of choice, as well as follow along with its English translation. The side-by-side reading lets you check any vocabulary or sentences you don't quite understand. A variety of stories are available, including folk and fairy tales, mysteries, classics, and more.
Busuu is a free language learning app, providing access to lessons for twelve languages. The app uses the four main language concepts--reading, speaking, listening, and writing--and provides tailored lessons to aid in the learning process. Additionally, Busuu can connect users to native speakers, who can provide feedback on lessons, writings, and more. You can access the app on your computer or mobile device.
Drops is a free app that uses game-style mechanics to help you learn the language. The short, five minute lessons combine aesthetically pleasing word games with mnemonic devices. Drops also has a companion app, called Scripts, for learning character-based languages (or languages with a different writing system). While the basic app is free, there are also subscription options for more features. In addition to accessing the app on your device, you may also try it in your browser or download it to your computer.
Duolingo is a free language learning application that you can use on your computer or your mobile device. The app uses a game-like system to aid learning, letting you accumulate points for every correct answer, and even allowing you to compete against your friends. Small, short lessons make up a majority of Duolingo exercises, and the more you use the app, the more personalized your lessons become. There are a variety of languages available (with more being added every day), and no limit to how many you can learn! Best of all, you can practice your language skills wherever and whenever you want!
Babbel- This app is a paid "cousin" of Duolingo, though with 40 free lessons, it is a great option! Each class uses pictures to teach you vocabulary. Then the words you learned are used in related phrases and short dialogues adjusted to the the level you are at to build conversation skills. There are handy pop-ups that explain the most important grammatical points related to the learned material and if you are on a computer, they also include short cultural notes. You can also get separate packages devoted to improving specific skills such as grammar or vocabulary if you already have some experience with the language and only want to improve certain skills. Lastly, Babbel’s classes can be downloaded and kept offline for you to study.
Memrise is a free app designed to adapt to your needs as you learn a new language. It provides audio and video clips from native speakers to help with pronunciation, vocabulary building, and to grow your own speaking skills. Rather than focusing on grammar, Memrise prioritizes speaking confidently and learning how to communicate.
Mondly is a free app that uses course materials, chatbots, and augmented reality to aid the language learning process. They have 33 languages to choose from, and even allows you to learn a new language using your native language, instead of from English. This is relatively unique amongst language apps. The free version of Mondly gives you a daily lesson as well as seven other "Hello" lessons. Like Duolingo, Mondly awards you points for correct answers, even ranking you among other users in a friendly competition.
Conversational Apps
HelloTalk is a language learning app that focuses on learning through conversation. The app connects you to native speakers of the language you wish to learn, as well as allows you to teach them your native language as well. You can communicate with them through messages, voice recordings, video and voice calls, and even drawings. Additionally, the app provides language tools to help with pronunciation, translation, and tools to correct grammar or vocabulary errors within messages.
Like HelloTalk, Tandem is a language exchange app that uses communication with native speakers to help teach or aid in language acquisition. After joining Tandem, users may start conversations with native speakers of the language they wish to learn. Communication methods include text messages and voice and video calling/recording. Additionally, there are correction and translation tools for users, so they can correct grammar and vocabulary while chatting with one another.
HiNative- A Free App! This app makes learning correct pronunciation a breeze. It allows you to get the benefits of getting in touch with native speakers without the hassle of searching for an exchange partner or having to schedule a chat. Anything is up for question here; you can ask for translations, input on pronunciation, or advice on cultural norms. You can also help fellow learners with the knowledge of your own language(s)!
Print & Electronic Textbooks
The UIUC Library has a number of print and electronic textbooks for learning French. Below are a selection of them. To find more, search search the Primo Library Catalog using the subject heading:
Bravo! by ISBN: 0838413218Publication Date: 2001BRAVO is a one-volume intermediate French text that integrates communication, grammar, culture and literature.
Colloquial French by ISBN: 1317306678Publication Date: 2015Colloquial French: The Complete Course for Beginners has been carefully developed by an experienced teacher to provide a step-by-step course to French as it is written and spoken today. No prior knowledge of the language is required. Audio material to accompany the course is available to download free in MP3 format from www.routledge.com/cw/colloquials.
Easy French Step-By-Step by ISBN: 9780071453875Publication Date: 2008Learn French step-by-step and soon you'll be making leaps and bounds Your quickest route to learning French is through a solid grounding in grammar basics. Now don't be put off by the "G-word." What you won't find in this book is a lot of repetitive drills. Instead, you get an original, step-by-step approach to learning French based on the way people naturally acquire language.
Savoir-Faire by ISBN: 0415153115Publication Date: 1999A wide-ranging course for post-A level students in higher education. The course has been designed with first-year students in mind but, with its emphasis on transferable skills, it could be successfully adapted for use with second and final-year students.
Vis-à-Vis by ISBN: 0072560320Publication Date: 2003Provides French course for students with a multimedia package and cultural information. This text's overall goal is to promote a four-skills approach to learning French through a variety of listening, speaking, reading, and writing activities, while introducing students to the richness and diversity of the Francophone world.
Rosetta Stone
The Library subscribes to Rosetta Stone Foundations, which features 30 languages from around the globe. To enter the database, go to Rosetta Stone Foundations . You can also use Rosetta Stone on a mobile device. To get set up, use the Tutorial for Rosetta Stone Mobile.
If you have trouble entering the database and signing up for an account, contact Paula Carns at pcarns@illinois.edu.
If you have difficulties once you set up your account, please use the "Contact Support" option at Rosetta Stone (linked off of the entry page).
Free Online Courses
Français Interactiv--The Department of French at UTAustin offers an online course with PFFs for learning French.
Le Point du FLE--A gateway to lessons and activities as well as links to the best online tools for learning French as a foreign language.
C.A.F.E : French Courses -- Free exercises and dictionaries
Amélioration du Français : Improve Your French -- Online exercises
Mooc - Free Online Courses offered by Universities. Click on the orange tab GO TO COURSE in the middle of the page, and choose whichever course fits your needs -the World Mentoring Academy, or Self-Paced, or the Foreign Service Institute, and upon receiving the list of results, select the second page and get to the French link. There are also other languages like Italian, German, Chinese, Spanish and many others.
Learn French via News
Slow News In French
French Podcasts
Learn French by Podcasts iTunes A well-reviewed series of lessons for beginners and those who want to brush up on their French.
Native French Speech Podcast iTunes Listen to interesting conversations between Native French speakers and learn about everyday life in France and cultural French topics.
Open Access Textbooks
- Au Boulot! First-Year French byPublication Date: 1995Au boulot! is a two-year college French program consisting of: a textbook, workbook and 21 accompanying audio exercises; as well as a reference grammar, to be used the entire two years.
- Tout un Monde: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Intermediate French byPublication Date: 2019This book is intended for use with intermediate level college French classes. Its multidisciplinary approach introduces students to topics and vocabulary associated with fields such as medicine, advertising, travel, business, agriculture, and relationships.
French Grammars
Practice Makes Perfect Complete French Grammar by ISBN: 0071594353Publication Date: 2008Contains dozens of engaging exercises, with answer keys Exercises appear in various formats to suit every learning style Teaches everyday language used by native speakers
To find more, search the Online Catalog using the subject heading French Language Grammars and searching by SUBJECT.
Vocabulary Building/ Usage Handbooks
Using French Vocabulary by ISBN: 0521570409Publication Date: 1999This textbook provides a comprehensive and structured vocabulary for all levels of undergraduate French courses, including relevant higher and further education courses. It offers a broad coverage of concrete and abstract vocabulary relating to the physical, cultural, social, commercial and political environment, as well as exposure to commonly encountered technical terminology.
Using French by ISBN: 9780521645935Publication Date: 2000This book was first published in 2000 and is a thoroughly revised edition of the acclaimed Using French, first published as A Guide to Contemporary French Usage in 1982. It provides guidance for those who have already acquired the basics of French and wish to extend their fluency and confidence. Unlike conventional grammars, it gives special attention to those areas of vocabulary and grammar which cause most difficulty to English-speakers, and incorporates the concept of register differences throughout. This third edition takes account of the expanding vocabulary and changing grammatical usage of contemporary French. * Designed to promote fluency and accuracy vital to effective communication * Tailored to the needs of the English-speaking user * Clear format for ease of reference * Full treatment of key grammatical areas * Important section on vocabulary extension, with index for efficient access * Invaluable to all advanced learners, and to anyone requiring up-to-date guidance on points of grammar and vocabulary
Mastering French Vocabulary by ISBN: 0764123947Publication Date: 2003This French word-power builder presents more than 5,000 words and phrases with translations into English. The feature that makes this vocabulary book distinctive is the way words are divided into themes, grouped together so that the foreign traveler or language student can find words related by subject. The subject themes include business terms, medical terms, household terms, scientific words and phrases, units of measurement, clothing, food and dining, transportation, art and culture:24 separate themes in all. The new second edition has been expanded and updated with increased vocabulary.
