LibGuides: French and Francophone Studies: Media

Finding Individual Newspapers at the UIUC Library

You can find newspapers through the Primo Library Catalog by searching by title.

Direct Links

Le Figaro

Le Monde

Newspaper Databases

PressReader This link opens in a new window
PressReader provides online access to over 700 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. The PressReader App is available for reading papers on tablet devices. Formerly Library PressDisplay.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Identifies articles in regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires and newspaper columns, as well as TV and radio news transcripts. Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 20 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. Also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Alternate Access Link

Newspaper Gateways

Newslink

This section provides links to the commercial websites of international and domestic/regional newspapers that are available without a subscription. Further links to online newspapers from around the world are found through Newslink.com, which organizes them by continent. The response times and transmission delays for these newspaper sites vary widely.

Belgium

France

Québec

Historical Newspapers

General

World Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
World Newspaper Archive chronicles the history and politics of diverse peoples and cultures during the 19th and early 20th centuries. This expanding online resource was created in partnership between Readex, a division of NewsBank, and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL)-one of the world's largest and most important newspaper repositories-and includes historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, Slavic and East Europe, South Asia and other regions.

European

Canadian

Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers

The Center for Research Libraries is pleased to announce the preliminary release of Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers in Spring 2020 as the second Open Access collection coming out of the Global Press Archive (GPA) CRL Charter Alliance, the multi-year, flagship collaboration between CRL and East View Information Services.

French-language Radio

French TV

TV5 Monde
Here are some websites and examples of French TV programs.
INA - French TV archives