Other Libraries
- UC Berkely's May 68 GuideA guide to online resources for the study of the May 1968 student riots in France.
Select Books on French Culture
The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French by ISBN: 9780415597920Publication Date: 2011-05-25
Digital Libraries and Archives
General
French
Gallica WWW --Available through the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Gallica provides access to a large and growing corpus of digitized texts.
French Biographical Resources
Dictionnaire de biographie française . 19 volumes published to date. Paris: Letouzey et Ané, 1933-2001.
Michaud. Biographie universelle ancienne et moderne . 45 vols. Paris: Delagrave, 1843-1865. Also available through Hathi Trust Digital Library.
Hoefer, Jean-Chrétien. Biographie universelle . 46 vols. Paris: Firmin Didot Frères, 1852-1866.
Archives biographiques françaises. Edited by Susan Bradley. 1,065 fiches with paper index. London: K.G. Saur, 1988.
"Fusion dans un ordre alphabétique unique de 180 des plus importants ouvrages de référence biographiques français publiés du 17e au 20e siècle"--Jacket. Accompanied by: Liste des sources.
Dictionnaire des intellectuels français: les personnes, les lieux, les moments. Edited by Jacques Julliard and Michel Winock. Paris: Seuil, 1996.
An alphabetical arrangement of entries not only on people but on organizations such as publishers and educational institutions which have contributed to the intellectual climate of France. The people were chosen for their interdisciplinary influences. The 1-2 page articles include references to books by and about the intellectual discussed. Indexes provide access by type of entity: person, publishing house, etc.
Art
Databases
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Art & Architecture Source in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Based on a merger of databases from EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources that were never previously available, this database covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. The American and international journals indexed include not only scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also publications of professional associations, American state and regional periodicals, and the major serials on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Coverage is mainly from 1934 to the present, with selective coverage back to 1741.
- International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new windowThe definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and retains the editorial policies which made BHA one of the most trusted and frequently consulted sources in the field. The database includes records created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-09, with new records created by ProQuest using the same thesaurus and authority files.
Museums
Digital Libraries