Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Unique collection of thousands of wildlife videos, images, and fact-files, with a special focus on the world's threatened species.
Over 500,000 images of plants, fungi, fossils, animals, and people searchable by scientific or common name, location, photographer, and other fields.
Global Litter Invertebrate Decomposition Experiment
Images of soil species involved in decomposition, courtesy of Tracey Adams of Biotrack, Centre for Biodiversity and Bioresources, Macquarie University.
Municipal Wastewater Treatment Gallery
Photographs of wastewater treatment plants.
NOAA Photo Library
The NOAA collection includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of our shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton.
NOAA Weather and Climate Toolkit
NOAA's Weather and Climate Toolkit (WCT) is free, platform independent software distributed from NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI). The WCT allows the visualization and data export of weather and climate data, including Radar, Satellite and Model data. Users may export their own images from the software provided.
Soil Crust Image Gallery
Approximately 25 high resolution images of soil crust.
Twelve Soil Orders
A collection of information and images from the University of Idaho to illustrate the distribution, properties, ecological significance, and the use of the twelve soil orders.
United States Global Change Research Program
The Multimedia Gallery features graphics from USGCRP reports, including the Third National Climate Assessment, the Our Changing Planet annual report series, and others. Graphics in the gallery credited to USGCRP or another Federal entity are free to use with credit given to the original source. All other graphics may be copyright protected; obtain permission from the original source or contact USGCRP before using.
US Fish and Wildlife Service National Digital Library
The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s National Digital Library is a searchable collection of selected images, historical artifacts, audio clips, publications, and video, most of which are in the public domain.
USGS Multimedia Gallery
Images and video from the US Geological Survey. Collections are continually updated.
USGS Water Science Photo Gallery
Photographs divided into albums such as "water from the air," "water quality," and "satellite views of water."