Archive of classic print advertisements from 1940 to 2001. Search by publication, advertisement category, or year. Many features are for members only.

AdRespect promotes advertising that respects diversity, gender identity/expression, and sexual orientation for a more accepting society and better business results. Features collections and analysis.

Ads of the World is the world’s largest advertising archive, featuring creative work from across the globe. Users can filter by medium, country, or industry.

An archive of over 7,000 ads, collected by James Gardner. Categories include ads by celebrity, event, industry, size, and brand.

Historical print and TV advertisements, magazine covers, cinema posters, comics, postcards, cigarette cards, and more. Sign in for access to larger images.

One of the world's largest advertising archive, with more than two million advertisements for easy browsing and quick download. Users can browse by numerous categories, including award winners.

Items from the Package Museum, organized by brand and object.

Digitized catalogs from Canada. Users may perform a keyword search, or browse by publication.

A collection of almost one million original advertisements published between 1890 and 1970. The collection, which was donated by the D'Arcy, MacManus & Masius advertising agency (now D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles) in 1983, is a rich source of research information on products advertised by many agencies. While the vast majority of these advertisements appeared in newspapers, magazines and trade journals, there are a few in other forms such as brochures, signs, and programs. Most of the clippings advertise standard consumer products, but there are a number of obsolete categories such as spats, bathing shoes, and Prohibition. Included also are ads from organizational and governmental advertisers such as the American Red Cross, New York City's Lincoln Center, and NATO. Users will have to go to the Communications Library in Gregory Hall to see these materials.

Duke's vast advertising collections, including Ad*Access, AdViews, John E. Brennan Outdoor Advertising Survey Reports, Emergence of Advertising in America 1850-1920, JWT Newspetters, Medicine and Madison Avenue, Ourdoor Advertising Association of American Slide Library 1891-1994, Outdoor Advertising Association of America Archives 1885-1990s, John Paver Papers, and R.C. Maxwell Company records.

From the University of Washington Libraries, consists of over 450 print advertisements published in local magazines, city directories, and theater pamphlets from 1867 to 1918. These advertisements were selected and digitized in order to help researchers and students examine social, cultural and economic trends during this period. The collection is categorized into thematic groups and features advertisements about health care and hygiene products, liquor, tobacco, machinery, manufacturing, transportation, fashion, food and household goods and local tourism. Due to the lack of government drug inspection and regulation during this era, patent medicines and medical treatments such as tonics, tablets and electrical body belts are well represented.

From the Library of Congress, this collection presents a variety of television advertisements, never-broadcast outtakes, and experimental footage reflecting the historical development of television advertising for a major commercial product. The online collection includes five excerpts from stop-motion advertising developed for Coca-Cola between 1954 and 1956 by the D'Arcy agency and makes public for the first time eighteen excerpts from the Experimental TV Color Project of 1964, which determined the best lighting for the cans, bottles, and performers in television advertisements. Users can search by keyword or browse by title.

Advertising images focusing on gender content and analysis. Browse by female and male advertisements, body parts, gender roles, and more.

Search results for trade cards and advertisements as a subject term.

Browse through the "homes" section for images.

The Cineteca (University of Chile), the oldest film archive in the country, has made over 150 films spanning the entire history of national cinema freely available to download or stream online.

Critical Commons is a public media archive and fair use advocacy network that supports the transformative reuse of media in scholarly and creative contexts. Media clips are placed within a context of analysis and commentary.

Culture Unplugged (C.U.) provides access to hundreds of documentary films, that spans multiple facets of global issues, produced through a "socially and spiritually conscious" lens. Note: This link defaults to documentaries from CU's virtual film festival. Scroll down and select "Show Films from Archive" for access to more content.

Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. It presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

The Media Burn Archive is a collection of over 6,000 independent, non-corporate tapes that reflect cultural, political and social reality as seen by independent producers, from 1969 to the present.

Provides more than 12,000 short clips from feature films licensed from Fox, MGM, Paramount, Sony, Universal and Warner Bros. The Movieclips player can be embedded in social networks as Facebook and MySpace, and shared on blogs, Twitter and other personal websites, and used in PowerPoint presentations. In addition to searching by title or actor, the site provide additional search capabilities for dialogue, genre, action, occassion, theme, and mood and categories including best kiss, tearjerkers, birthdays, holidays, awkward moments, action moments, bad guys and fight scenes. Reuse of the clips requires registering with the site. - See more at: http://connect.ala.org/node/183711#sthash.NfqfV5XM.dpuf

The National Film Board of Canada is a Canadian government agency that produces and distributes documentary, animation, alternative drama and digital media productions. The NFB website provides information on over 13,000 National Film Board of Canada films, and includes free access to over 2,000 films, excerpts, trailers, and interactive works for online screening.

Provides access to full-length documentary films from established distributors and first-time filmmakers. The Snag Films library includes more than 850 films. Filmmakers and distributors submit titles to SnagFilms for curatorial review. Videos stream in Flash. The site organizes titles by broad Topics (such as Arts, Environment, Health, History, Women's Issues, etc.) and by Channels (including well-established film companies such as Alive Mind, Icarus, Fanlight, PBS, and National Geographic). The SnagFilms website encourages donating to causes by linking each film to a specific charity. Brief commercials precede and are interspersed through the video playback.

More than 50 films provide a representative cross section of the output produced by the Thanhouser film enterprise based in New Rochelle, New York between 1910 and 1917. The films were assembled over the past 25 years with the cooperation of archives around the world, including The Library of Congress in Washington, DC, The British Film Institute in London, England, George Eastman House in Rochester, New York, The Museum of Modern Art in New York, New York, the Academy Film Archive in Los Angeles, California, the EYE Film Institute Netherlands in Amsterdam, Holland, and from the Thanhouser collection. Each film includes a summary and analysis written by film historian Victor Graf. Andrew Crow, Raymond A. Brubacher and Ben Model composed and performed original musical accompaniment commissioned exclusively for this collection.

The collection of animation at UCLA Film & Television Archive from the years 1930-1950 is practically without peer. Nitrate prints of classic cartoons abound, as do original negatives or best-surviving printing elements for many of the films from animation’s “golden era.” Included here are most of the Max Fleischer and Famous Studios Paramount subjects; the George Pal “Puppetoons”; the independent productions of Ub Iwerks; many of the Van Beuren “Rainbow Parade” shorts; a large number of Warner Bros. cartoons; and a recent acquisition of “Terrytoons” still being sorted through as of this writing.

Hosted on Youtube. British Movietone is arguably the world’s greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 – 1986. Shot on 35mm film, this global archive contains many of the world’s enduring images and is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyle and quirky happenings. It was the first newsreel to include sound, the first to use colour film, the first to break many exclusive stories, and is your first and last stop for newsreel footage.

Hosted on Youtube. A collection of 85,000 films: "Spanning the years from 1896 to 1976, the collection includes footage – not only from Britain, but from around the globe – of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, sport and culture. The archive is particularly strong in its coverage of the First and Second World Wars."

Culture Unplugged (C.U.) provides access to hundreds of documentary films, that spans multiple facets of global issues, produced through a "socially and spiritually conscious" lens.

View complete episodes of a large selection of films from the acclaimed PBS public affairs series.

From the stock market crash of 1929 to the beginnings of World War II, The Great Depression tells the dramatic and diverse stories of struggle and survival during the worst economic crisis in U.S. history. Originally debuting on PBS stations in 1993, the 7-part series was met with critical acclaim, winning an Emmy for writing and a duPont-Columbia Award. These interviews are part of the Henry Hampton Collection housed at the Film & Media Archive at Washington University Libraries. Each video and transcript represents the entire interview conducted by Blackside, Inc., including portions that did not appear in the final program.

Images from the New York Times, including current images, historic images, and graphics. Users are encouraged to create an account.

The Television News Archive available from Vanderbilt University, is an index to more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (August 1968 - present), and CNN daily news (1995 - present). Also, there are more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline since September 1988. University faculty, staff, and students can view online video from the Archive's collection of CNN material; copies or compilations of other site material can be ordered for a cost-recovery fee paid to Vanderbilt. Note: 60 Minutes, 20/20, and other news magazine programs are not included here. Note: To view the CNN content, you will need the free RealOne media player from RealNetworks or Real Alternative.