Photographs taken by the Agricultural Research Service Information Staff. Images of nature (animals, insects, food, etc.) and field research conducted by this department.

The American Phytopathological Society processes thousands of scientifically peer-reviewed images showing disease symptoms, pests, and other disorders associated with plants and crops through its book- and journal-publishing programs. APS images are useful for teaching, training, and diagnostics. Database is available with subscription.

Images from the BSA organized hierarchically.

Over 500,000 images of plants, fungi, fossils, animals, and people searchable by scientific or common name, location, photographer, and other fields.

Nearly 60,000 images of invasive species and resulting diseases. A website of the Bugwood Images project.

Amassed from numerous cooperating organizations such as Auburn University and the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, there are many high quality images collected here, though they can be difficult to find. A website of the Bugwood Images project.

The Fritz-Metcalf Photograph Collection is a group of about 9000 photographs relating primarily to forestry, conservation, and the lumber industry in California and the United States. Subjects include logging operations, logging equipment, reforestation, forest research, fire protection, lumber mills, and the activities of the University of California's School of Forestry. The photographs were taken from 1906 to 1984 by Emanuel Fritz, Woodbridge Metcalf and others.

Almost 2,400 images of plants, searchable by scientific or common name. Users can also browse by date of contribution or contributors.

Many high quality images from several different associations and organizations, though somewhat hard to find. A website of the Bugwood Images project.

Photographs organize hierarchically by plants, such as alfalfa, corn, and soybean.

Over 350 photographs of mushrooms and other fungi, arranged alphabetically.

Science related images curated by the National Science Foundation. Subjects include nanoparticles, minerals, and weather shots. This database also includes audio and video.

Natural resource and conservation related photos. Subjects include wildlife, backyard conservation efforts, and scenic shots. From the US Department of Agriculture.

A relatively limited collection, organized hierarchically.

Designed to assist botanists, ecologists, natural resource managers, educators and hobbyist with the identification of plants commonly found in the southern Great Plains. The Plant Image Gallery includes numerous images of each plant species for your ease in their identification.

The Noble Foundation Plant Image Gallery is designed to assist botanists, ecologists, natural resource managers, educators and hobbyist with the identification of plants commonly found in the southern Great Plains. The Plant Image Gallery is an ongoing project, which currently includes over 600 species of vascular plants. There are nearly 5,000 species of vascular plants known to Texas and nearly 3,000 species of vascular plants known to Oklahoma. While the plants included in the gallery are common to the southern Great Plains, a significant number of the plants included in this database may be found as far south as the Texas Gulf Coast and as far north as the Great Plains of Kansas and Nebraska. Further, many of the same species are also common from New Mexico and Colorado to Arkansas and Missouri.

From the College of Agricultrual & Environmental Sciences Extension program, this collection includes images of plant disease organized by the plant.

This collection of resources was originally organized to serve the needs of the students and instructors of the introductory course General Botany (Botany 130). While these resources target the needs of one specific course, others will find them useful for references and as a source of teaching materials.

Photos taken by researchers studying the Antarctic. Subjects include scenery, wildlife, and scientific equipment.

Images of animals, crops, plants, insects, illustrations, and more.

Special Collections houses rare books, manuscript collections, nursery and seed trade catalogs, photographs, and posters from the 1500s to the present. Materials cover a variety of agricultural subjects including horticulture, entomology, poultry sciences, natural history, and are not limited to domestic publications. As part of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and the Agricultural Research Service (ARS), Special Collections at the National Agricultural Library is charged with arranging, describing, preserving and making available rare materials significant to the history of agriculture and the USDA. USDA also maintains digital collections, separate from the special collections.

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, crop information, automated tools, onward Web links, and references. This information primarily promotes land conservation in the United States and its territories, but academic, educational, and general use is encouraged. Over 50,000 images of plants are available.

Photographs taken by the US Fish and Wildlife Department staff as well as illustrations that have passed out of copyright. Subjects include species of fish, birds, and mammals, as well as photos of conservation efforts. This database also includes video and audio files.

Photographs taken by US National Park Service staff and images that have passed out of copyright. Subjects include nature (scenery, animals, etc), structures (lighthouses, historical buildings, etc.) and events hosted in national parks.

A large collection of weed images pulled together from a variety of institutions and organizations. A website of the Bugwood Images project.

Images of common North American weeds, herbs, and plants.