This digital compilation was developed in support of the NYPL website, "The African American Migration Experience," a sweeping 500-year historical narrative from the transatlantic slave trade to the Western migration, the colonization movement, the Great Migration, and the contemporary immigration of Caribbeans, Haitians, and sub-Saharan Africans.

The 1,280 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.

The Digital Durham website offers students, teachers, and researchers a range of primary sources with which they can investigate the economic, social, cultural, and political history of a post-bellum southern community. Taken together the materials on Digital Durham touch on over 600 topics including African American business enterprise, the emergence of textiles, tobacco production and marketing, child labor, prohibition, evangelical revivalism, nineteenth-century medical practices, women's experience of childbirth, and public and private education.

Jackson Davis, an educational reformer and amateur photographer, took nearly 6,000 photographs of African American schools, teachers and students throughout the Southeastern United States. His photographs — most intended to demonstrate the wretched conditions of African American schools in the south and to show how they could be improved — provide a unique view of southern education during the first half of the twentieth century.

The collection consists of the contents of a photographic album entitled "Portraits of Members," containing 117 photographs of men, women, and children, both singly and in groups. The album might have been used by clients in the studio to select the backdrop and props they wanted in their photographs. The majority of the subjects appear to be African-American. The photographs represent the work of Michael Francis Blake from the 1910s to his death in 1934.

Through the Lens of Time: Images of African Americans from the Cook Collection is a digital collection of over 250 images of African Americans dating from the nineteenth and early twentieth century, selected from the George and Huestis Cook Photograph Collection at the Valentine Richmond History Center. The digitally scanned images on this site are of prints from glass plate negatives or film negatives taken by George S. Cook (1819-1902) and Huestes P. Cook (1868-1951), primarily in the Richmond and Central Virginia area.

James J. Ross Archive of African Images 1590-1920 is a database of approximately 5,000 pictures of African art published before 1921.

This digital compilation was developed in support of the NYPL website, "The African American Migration Experience," a sweeping 500-year historical narrative from the transatlantic slave trade to the Western migration, the colonization movement, the Great Migration, and the contemporary immigration of Caribbeans, Haitians, and sub-Saharan Africans.

From the University of Wisconsin Madison. Africa Focus brings together, in digital form, two categories of primary and secondary resources: research and teaching materials collected by University of Wisconsin faculty and staff; and unique or valuable items related to these fields held by the University of Wisconsin Libraries. This collection contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries. It is hoped that the search features of the collection will be a convenient aid to scholarship, study, and teaching of these disciplines.

From the National Archives of the UK. Explore incredible photographs spanning over 100 years of African history, from the 1860s onwards, taken from the Foreign and Commonwealth Office photographic collection (CO 1069). The full collection can be seen on Flickr, where you can add comments and tags.

The American Indian Film Gallery (AIFG) is an online collection of more than 450 historic films by and about Native peoples of the Americas, compiled and digitized by historian J. Fred MacDonald over many years. These films range in date from 1925-2010. Most date to the so-called Golden Age of educational filmmaking, from 1945 to the rise of consumer-grade video equipment in the 1970s.

The Collection Online is a continuously growing digital archive of primary source material collected by individual practitioners and researchers in cities across Asia. It is a repository of digital images, correspondences, artists’ personal documents, and streaming audio and video of performance art, artist talks, lectures, and other art events, with material being added as it becomes available. There are currently twenty different collections available. Users may search collections, or browse through hierarchical categories.

Browse through over 12,000 objects from the Asian Art Museum in San Francisco. Images are high quality and include descriptive metadata.

Here you can view over 24,700 photos of 965 sites in twenty-one countries, with background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors.

This website aims to present Chinese propaganda posters through virtual exhibitions, theme presentations and a web-database. It also provides additional information in the form of biographical notes of poster artists, resources, etc. Most posters featured on this website are from the collections of Stefan Landsberger and the International Institute of Social History (IISH, Amsterdam, Netherlands), currently numbering over 5,000 pieces. A growing number of posters from an anonymous private collection of over 600 pieces are being included as well.

Over 1000 photos of Muslims and Christian missionaries working among them in Western China in the 1920s and 1930s form the core of this collection, which is supplemented by several hundred books, pamphlets, broadsides, etc., in several languages. Search on Claude L. Pickens in VIA in Name and limit to the Harvard-Yenching Library.

The University of Chicago's project to facilitate the study of rare and fragile East Asian scrolls. The Scroll Archive can be searched by title, artist, historical period, and museum collection. These include scrolling to left and right, zooming in and out and movement up, down and side to side. Contributing institutions include the Art Institute of Chicago and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, among others.

Over 40,000 high quality images from the Freer | Sackler museum. Users may search or browse by object type, topic, name, place, date, or if the object is currently on view.

From the University of Bristol, the digitized Historical Photographs of China collection consists of over 9,000 images.

An older website from the Nagasaki University Library, users may search the collection of approximately 7,000 photographs by photographer, keyword, or location.

511 black and white images from the Morning Calm Weekly Newspaper Installation Management Command, U.S. Army. Hosted on Flickr.

Art images and photographs contextualized with essays. Users can click on the name of an essay, and view the associated images by clicking on "image gallery" on the right side of the screen.

Collections from the Palace Museum in Beijing. Nearly 2,000 images browsable by period, category, or searchable by keyword.

The personal collection of Professor William A. Joseph of Wellesley College, taken in March-April of 1972 when he was a participant in the second delegation of the Committee of Concerned Asian Scholars (CCAS) to the People's Republic of China (PRC). The photos on this web site present a glimpse of daily life in China during this relatively stable interlude between the ferocious struggles that define the essence of the Cultural Revolution. Nearly 900 images are available to browse or search, though it can be cumbersome to do so. This is an older website with unique content.

From Duke University. Approximately 5000 photographs, primarily of China, 1917-1932, and 600 lantern slides.

Digitized lantern slides from 19th century Japanese photographer T. Enami, hosted on Flickr.

The Tibet Album website provides unprecedented access to more than 6000 photographs spanning thirty years of Tibet's history. The majority of these photographs were taken by an elite group of men who visited Tibet as civil servants representing the British Government. The period between 1920 and 1950 was marked by increasing warmth in Anglo-Tibetan relations and a greater ease of access to the country from the centers of colonial power in India. The photographs featured in this site therefore reflect the topography of the routes used by the British to reach the capital of Tibet (Lhasa) from the Indian side of the Himalayas and are concentrated in south and central Tibet.

Approximately 1500 magic lantern slides from the UHM Collection, gifted by donors Kokusai Bunka Shinkokai and the family of Reverend Takie Okumura.

The East Asian Collection includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage. Currently, the collection consists of images that document early 20th century China including the the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China.

Virtual Shanghai is part of the IAO-Databases Project and contains 4,000 images (mostly before 1949). The images contain basic metadata (often including a short description).

The Museum's holdings of Art, Archaeology, Judaica and Jewish Ethnography comprise well over 250,000 objects and sets. Users may browse collection highlights, artist names, departments, and collections, or search the database.

The Judaica Division Images Collections offer insight into virtually all facets of Jewish life in Israel. Among the collections are historical photographs that document the history of the Zionist movement and the development of the Jewish community in Israel over the past century; images documenting everyday Israeli life over the past 50 years, including contemporary Israel; photographs of Jewish life in the Galilee, especially kibbutzim; photographs documenting Israeli theatrical, dance and music performances; and posters and ephemera documenting Jewish life in the Diaspora and in Israel.

Collections Search currently includes 252,403 records, including over 37,000 images and nearly 10,000 video recordings.

Includes the Maya Vase database, Pre-columbian Portfolio, Montgomery Drawings Collection, and more. Image and metadata quality are inconsistent.

Includes the Schele Drawing Collection and Zapotec Effigy Vessels, totaling approximately 1,400 images.

From Professor Emeritus Charles S. Rhyne of Reed College, this site offers numerous photographs of Mayan cities. Images are organized into categories, and there is no search feature.

Dr. Martha Macri using keywords developed by Dr. Merle Greene Robertson, this database allows users to search or browse Mayan rubbings. The author has included detailed information about each rubbing.

Relevant Collections include Posters of the Russian Civil War and Russia and Eastern Europe in Rare Photographs, 1860-1945.

Stalinka is intended as an online resource for students, teachers, scholars, and anyone conducting research on Stalin/ism. Assembled by Helena Goscilo (Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures), Susan Corbesero (Department of History), and Petre Petrov (graduate student) at the University of Pittsburgh, the collection comprises visual materials and artifacts relating to Stalin: photographs, posters, paintings, banners, sculptures, chinaware, pins, etc.

This monumental collection portrays the Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II. The 1,819 photographs in 51 large-format albums date from about 1880 to 1893. They highlight the modernization of numerous aspects of the Ottoman Empire, featuring images of educational facilities and students; well-equipped army and navy personnel and facilities; technologically advanced lifesaving and fire fighting brigades; factories; mines; harbors; hospitals; and government buildings. Most of the places depicted are within the boundaries of modern-day Turkey, but buildings and sites in Iraq, Lebanon, Greece and other countries are also included. Hosted by the Library of Congress.

Links to collections of images from Lebanon, Syria, Jerusalem, and more. Images vary in quality, and the site can be difficult to navigate as there is no search feature.

While this site can be difficult to search and navigate, images are high quality and unique. Only a portion of the 600,000 photograph collection is available. Users are strongly encouraged to register.

The Arab Images Foundation® is a not for profit organization dedicated to the safeguarding of modern and contemporary visual arts in the Arab world, and has done important work in the field of civil society development by highlighting the daily life of local populations in the Middle East and North Africa. Using photography, it aims to show what usually stays out of the mainstream media's focus. Users may browse images by using the categories on the right side of the screen.

Images are organized into collections, such as the Hensley Photo Library and the American Institute of Indian Studies. Images are from the University of Chicago. This site is difficult to browse and search, but images are high quality.

This collection, which constitutes a kind of "photographed history book" of the state of Israel, holds within it photographs of principal events and people in the life of the country as they have been documented by Government Press Office photographers over the years starting with the earliest days of the state and up until the present day. It also presents photographs by additional photographers, some from before the establishment of the state, who have donated their collections for the benefit of the citizens of Israel. Can be difficult to navigate.

The Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago is among the leaders in the recovery of the history, languages, and cultures of the ancient Near East. Links are provided below to a sampling of images from the photographic archives of the Oriental Institute. The complete archive contains over 100,000 negatives documenting the Institute’s activities from 1892 to the present. These images record now-vanished temples and tombs, famed archaeologists standing proudly near their greatest finds and scenes of life now effaced by modern times. Links are also provided below to catalogs of several archaeological and survey expeditions to the ancient Near East which contributed thousands of images to the photographic archives of the Oriental Institute. Users may browse photographs by category.

40,000 images in one of the world's largest archives specializing in historic and current images of the Middle East and the Islamic world. Most of the images on line are published and unpublished images from the bimonthly magazine Aramco World, from 1964 to 2000, and Saudi Aramco World, to the present. Users need to register, and images are available for purchase.

Digitized photographs of the Middle East, from the University of Chicago Libraries.

This collection contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula. The images span over one thousand years of architectural history, from the seventh to the seventeenth century. The majority of the slides focus on the Mudejar style, an ornate court style largely inspired by Spanish Islamic architecture that was shared among Islamic, Jewish, and Christian cultures during the later Middle Ages in Spain.

Here you can view over 24,700 photos of 965 sites in twenty-one countries, with background information and virtual tours. This website is a collection of photos from many different contributors.

Nearly 70,000 photographs of Tibet and the Himalayas, many with links to maps. The archives also includes some video.

The Mary Binney Wheeler collection of photographic slides is one of the largest individual collections of its kind in the United States. Amassed over the course of fourteen trips to India and Sri Lanka, the collection provides us with over 9,000 images of an astounding diversity of people, places, and events from nearly every corner of the Indian Subcontinent.

Over 40,000 high quality images from the Freer | Sackler museum. Users may search or browse by object type, topic, name, place, date, or if the object is currently on view.

A collection of materials on South Asian architecture assembled over a 22 year period by Professor Robert D. "Scotty" MacDougall (1940-1987), an architect and an anthropologist. The core of this collection consists of approximately 3,000 photographs depicting significant works of architecture through time and across regional traditions throughout continental India.

Armchair travel in India, circa 1900. This collections highlights stereoscopic images of India.