The Photographic Archive of the American Academy in Rome consists of several valuable and specialized collections of photographs on archaeology, architecture and art, as well as landscape architecture and gardens. It also includes special collections important to the history of the Academy.

This collection contains hundreds of images from various archaeological excavation sites. Browsing is not enabled, but controlled vocabulary lists are provided to facilitate searching.

The Classical Art Research Centre leads and supports research on ancient art. At its heart is the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.

Open Context reviews, edits, annotates, publishes and archives research data and digital documentation. Users can explore projects, media, and data records by geographic location. Each artifact has comprehensive metadata associated.

The Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR) is an international digital repository for the digital records of archaeological investigations. tDAR’s use, development, and maintenance are governed by Digital Antiquity, an organization dedicated to ensuring the long-term preservation of irreplaceable archaeological data and to broadening the access to these data. Users may search for images through the advanced search feature, and then limit to publicly available images. The site asks you to register to download anything.

British source material from the fifteenth to early twentieth century related to the study and analysis of gender.

This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women. Includes over 16,000 images.

Gender: Identity and Social Change includes primary sources for the study of gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement and the men’s movement.

Includes digitized objects from the Kinsey Institute for Sex Research archive.

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding about U.S. women’s history.

The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. The DTA uses the term transgender to refer to a broad and inclusive range of non-normative gender practices. We treat transgender as a practice rather than an identity category in order to bring together a trans-historical and trans-cultural collection of materials related to trans-ing gender.

Advertising images focusing on gender content and analysis. Browse by female and male advertisements, body parts, gender roles, and more.

The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities. “Herstories: Audio/Visual Collections” contains digitized copies of some of the 3,000 oral history cassettes in the Archives' Spoken Word Collection and 950 videotapes in the Video Collection.

Contains a wealth of visual content, such as photographs, fliers, zine covers, fashion catalogs, and more from the 1980s worldwide

Concentration on the period 1800-1924, this database covers all aspects of the migration experience. Includes photographs, watercolors, ship plans, and more.

The Victorian Popular Culture database includes approximately 50 early cinema streaming video clips (spanning 1894-1926), carefully curated from the British Film Institute (BFI) National Archive.

The Radicalism Collection includes books, pamphlets, periodicals, posters, and ephemera covering a wide range of viewpoints on political, social, economic, and cultural issues and movements in the United States and throughout the world.

The struggle for racial equality in the 1950s and 1960s is among the most far-reaching social movements in the nation's history, and it represents a crucial step in the evolution of American democracy. The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

The Farmworker Movement Documentation Project, founded in 2003 by LeRoy Chatfield, seeks to compile and publish primary source accounts from the volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement during the period, 1962-1993. Images are on the smaller side and do not offer previews.

260 images representing Mississippi Freedom Summer Project of 1964.

Political cartoons from Pulitzer Prize winning cartoonist from his 27 year career.

With more than 125,000 objects and 1.5 million archival materials, Historic New England’s collection tells the most complete story of how New Englanders lived from the seventeenth century to today.

From the Library of Congress, Illustrated newspaper supplements (starting 1909) displayed on Flickr. Contains many public domain images.

Named for Detroit labor organizer and anarchist Jo Labadie, this is is one of the oldest, largest, and most comprehensive collections of its kind, with materials on anarchism, anti-colonialist movements, antiwar and pacifist movements, and more.

Photos and documents about topics such as the 1919 Seattle General Strike, UW Black Student Union, the Great Depression in Washington State, and Maritime Workers.

A platform for visualizing photographs taken by the Farm Security Administration (FSA) and the Office of War Information (OWI).

This site provides a collection of images related to American slave trade and slave societies. The images were compiled from a variety of sources and are comprised primarily of visual documents dating to the period of slavery.

Features curated images of maps, letters, diaries, newspapers, portraits, etc. from the Civil War in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia.

Selections of such biblical art from notable artists, including many highlights from the history of art.

The Art in the Christian Tradition (ACT) database is a freely available, regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for educational and/or religious non-profit purposes. Images are added regularly. There are currently over 4300 images in the collection.

Over 2000 images from the Jewish Museum's collection of art and Jewish culture of different media, including fine arts, Judaica, and broadcast media. Items contain extensive metadata and interpretation.

Iconographic Archives include photographs, daguerreotypes, and lantern slides.