Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Veterinary Medicine and Animal Science Digital Collections
American Society of Mammalogists
Over 3,000 images of mammals. Users may search or browse the site.
Amphibian and Reptile Type Specimens
Over 1,300 high quality images of amphibians and reptiles from the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology.
Animal Science Image Gallery
Images provided for educational use and outreach, and categorized for browsing. Encourages submissions the public, which are peer reviewed for accuracy and quality.
Audobon's Birds of America
From the University of Pittsburg, the digitized version of Audobon's seminal work. The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign holds one of the original volumes in the Rare Book and Manuscript Library, and a facsimile copy is on display on the second floor of the Main Library near the grand staircase.
Birds of North America Online
Provides detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the USA and Canada. A project of the Cornell Lab of Ornithology, BNA is a living resource with account contents updated frequently. Includes image and video galleries showing behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs and nestlings, and recordings bird songs and calls.
Carnivore Dissection Labs
From the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Minnesota, this site is intended for first year veterinary students studying anatomy. Contains images of canine cadaver dissection images and videos.
Freshwater and Marine Image Bank
The Freshwater and Marine Image Bank is a digital collection of images related to freshwater and marine topics, in all their diversity. It includes images of fish, shellfish, and marine mammals, pictures of fish hatcheries and dams and vessels, materials related to polar exploration, regional and traditional fisheries, and limnological (freshwater) subjects. Its scope is global.
This site contains an extensive set of histological images devoted to fishes.
From the University of Illinois, "the Imaging Anatomy web site is a basic atlas of normal imaging anatomy of domestic animals. It is designed as an aid for veterinary students beginning their study of diagnostic imaging.
Interactive Drawings for Veterinary Anatomy
Anatomical drawings. Users can select species, body region, and organ systems.
The Mouse Brain Library
The MBL consists of high-resolution images and databases of brains from many genetically characterized strains of mice.
The Owl Pages
Users may browse or search through over 1,700 pictures of owls.
Primate Images: Natural History Collection
The PrimateImages database is a collection of photographs and information about nonhuman primates. These images were contributed by numerous photographers through the Lawrence Jacobsen Library at the Wisconsin National Primate Research Center, University of Wisconsin in an effort to preserve the visual record nonhuman primate species. This site contains photographs of most known primate species as well as related images such as habitat, maps and food sources.
Developed by a group of Italian veterinarians for scientific research. Users may submit their own images.
Veterinary Neuroanatomy and Clinical Neurology Videos
From Cornell University. The video clips on this web site are a component of the fourth edition of Veterinary Neuroanatomy and Clinical Neurology by Alexander de Lahunta, Eric Glass and Marc Kent and published by Elsevier in 2014.
Virtual Canine and Feline Anatomy
Interactive anatomy site where users can zoom in and rotate images. Includes quizzes to test learning progress.
Visual Resources for Ornithology
VIREO (Visual Resources for Ornithology) is the world-wide bird photography collection of The Academy of Natural Sciences. With more than 180,000 photographs representing over 7,300 species VIREO is the world's most comprehensive collection of ornithological images.
University of Michigan's Animal Diversity Web
From the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology, this collection includes over 20,000 images of animals from across domains. Users can search or filter images by fields such as "ornamentation" and "life stages."