Developed by Lewis and Clark College, this collection features "contemporary ceramics images by recognized artists. It is designed for use by artists, arts educators, scholars and the general public, and is intended to fill a void in contemporary ceramics digital image collections on the web. The images are stored within the Flickr photo sharings system, and accessible through this website as well as the Flickr interface." The images are very high quality and easy to find.

Included in this resource are more than 20,000 selections from AIGA’s annual juried design competitions dating from 1924 through the present. In addition, it features special collections of major American design firms and practitioners whose design accomplishments might otherwise not be preserved online or made available to the public.

From Professor Emeritus Charles S. Rhyne of Reed College, this site offers numerous photographs of Mayan cities. Images are organized into categories, and there is no search feature.

Featuring 20 million items and growing, this digital portal into the Smithsonian covers a vast range of American history and culture through American art's development.

Allan T. Kohl created Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) as a personal, non-profit project designed to "disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public at large." Images displayed on the site have been personally photographed by the Kohl, and the emphasis on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture reflects his research and teaching interests.

This site is the result of photographer Mark Katzman's passion for the art of the photogravure. Over 2,000 examples are included, as well as information about the process and a bibliography for further reading.

"The world's largest fine art stock photo archive," with more than 1,000,000 searchable fine art images from the world's leading sources, available for licensing to all media.

Art Source is an EBSCO database that the University Library maintains a subscription for. Users may search for images within scholarly articles.

The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.9 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Its community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Artsy’s mission is to make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection. We are an online platform for discovering and collecting art. Our growing collection comprises 50,000+ artworks by 11,000+ artists from leading galleries, museums, foundations, and artists’ estates. Artsy provides one of the largest collections of contemporary art available online.

From the University of Pittsburg, the digitized version of Audobon's seminal work. The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign holds one of the original volumes in the Rare Book and Manuscript Library, and a facsimile copy is on display on the second floor of the Main Library near the grand staircase.

Founded in 1972, Bridgeman Images works with museums, galleries, collections and artists to provide a central resource of fine art and archive footage for reproduction to creative professionals. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections.

The complete works of Venetian painter Giovanni Antonio Canal, better known as Canaletto, can be found here. The images are of decent size and quality, though there is a banner at the top of each one that says "courtesy of canalettogallery.org." If that doesn't bother you, then the images are all licensed under Creative Commons , which allows for educational use. The website is nicely put together, and an enjoyable experience to browse.

The CISP is the result of work by scholars at the University College, London. It is a collaborative, interdisciplinary study of Medieval Celtic Inscriptions that seeks to create a database of all known inscriptions. While the project was completed in 1999 and the site is no longer maintained, the database is still hosted. Sites throughout the UK are indexed alphabetically, and users must click through to find an image (typically a drawing) of an inscription.

An interdisciplinary research database containing documentation centering on the classical tradition, a focus of Renaissance studies. Registered are the antique monuments known in the Renaissance together with the related Renaissance documents in the form of texts and images, and related information about locations, persons and periods as well as bibliographic data.

Art of Ancient Greece and Rome.

The Classical Art Research Centre leads and supports research on ancient art. At its heart is the Beazley Archive, which includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery.

The Corpus of Anglo-Saxon Stone Sculpture identifies, records and publishes in a consistent format, English sculpture dating from the 7th to the 11th centuries. Currently two of the 10 volumes published to date of the Corpus of Anglo-Saxon stone sculpture are available. Users can view images by clicking on the link to the "catalog" for each chapter, and then selecting a specific site from the drop down menu. While not image heavy, this site provides excellent representative sculpture for each site listed with accompanying metadata and references.

Thousands of digital images from the Pierpont Morgan Library’s renowned collection of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts. The collection spans some ten centuries of Western illumination, and contains manuscripts from all the major schools, including some of the great masterpieces of medieval manuscript art.

The Digital Dada Library provides links to scanned images of original Dada-era publication in the International Dada Archive. These books, pamphlets, and periodicals are housed in the Special Collections Department of The University of Iowa Libraries.

"The Digital Scriptorium is a growing image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts that unites scattered resources from many institutions into an international tool for teaching and scholarly research." The images can be both browsed and searched, and are high quality. They are available for educational use.

Duke's vast advertising collections, including Ad*Access, AdViews, John E. Brennan Outdoor Advertising Survey Reports, Emergence of Advertising in America 1850-1920, JWT Newspetters, Medicine and Madison Avenue, Ourdoor Advertising Association of American Slide Library 1891-1994, Outdoor Advertising Association of America Archives 1885-1990s, John Paver Papers, and R.C. Maxwell Company records.

The Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland contains 572 manuscripts from 25 different libraries, and will be continuously updated and extended. The site is organized by collection, and indicates how many manuscripts are in a certain collection. The images are large and fantastic quality. Users can not view the collection without agreeing to the terms of use, which indicates that the images are available for non-commercial use.

More than 4,000 manuscripts housed in French libraries are reproduced here, available to users through both browsing and searching methods. If you don't speak French, the site can be difficult to navigate, but it is well worth the effort. I was not able to find information regarding copyright, so please contact the author if you intend to use images for more than classroom presentations or personal research.

The work of Jonathon Janson, this incredible site features not only a complete catalog of Vermeer's works, but also criticism, information about his life and family, Delft and the Dutch school resources, videos, maps, and more. This is the most complete Vermeer site on the Web. Information regarding copyright will be posted shortly.

Includes the Maya Vase database, Pre-columbian Portfolio, Montgomery Drawings Collection, and more. Image and metadata quality are inconsistent.

Museums large and small, classic and modern, world-renowned and community-based from over 40 countries have contributed more than 40,000 high-resolution images of works ranging from oil on canvas to sculpture and furniture. Some paintings are available in ‘gigapixel’ format, allowing you to zoom in at brushstroke level to examine incredible detail. Use Google Street View to explore the interiors of landmarks such as the Palace of Versailles and The White House. Or, build and share your own virtual art gallery.

Dedicated to the French artist, this site provides access to 622 works. The images appear to be decent quality, though they are watermarked. Users can upload missing images, as well as link to other sites about Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec.

Nearly 300,000 original slides and photographs – photographic documentation of art and architecture throughout Asia. Countries covered in the collection include India, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Thailand, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), China, and Japan. The documentation covers in situ works of art and architecture ranging from approximately 2500 B.C.E. to the present, as well as pieces found in most major Asian, European, and American museums. This broad, yet detailed, collection contains predominantly Buddhist material, but also includes Hindu, Jain, and Islamic works as well. Currently hosted on the Internet Archive as the database transitions to a new provider for an improved experience.

The goal of the Image Database to Enhance Asian Studies [IDEAS] is to unify digitizing efforts already in progress at various campuses into a shared searchable database, open to anyone with access to the World Wide Web. IDEAS focuses on the generally underrepresented area of Asia in an attempt to make multi-media materials more widely available for specialists and non-specialists alike. The scope of the IDEAS project will allow for the continued addition of new materials over time, encouraging participation. Users can search or browse by collection, or use a general keyword search across collections.

James J. Ross Archive of African Images 1590-1920 is a database of approximately 5,000 pictures of African art published before 1921.

Contains over 600,000 images of art and photography from France.

Following Argentina's economic collapse in late 2001, the Eloisa Cartonera company arose from the ruins in Almagro, a lower middle-class neighborhood in Buenos Aires. In a broken-down shop on Guardia Street, young writers and artists have established an art gallery and bookshop that serves as the public face of Eloisa Cartonera, a publishing house that makes original books from recycled cardboard and cheap prints and sells them for less than 5 pesos ($1.60) each, about a third the price of a conventional paperback. The book covers are printed with rough stencils and poster paints." In addition to images, this collection contains 3 audio interviews in Real Audio format. Images are easy to find and great quality.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.

The Lost Art Internet Database contains data on cultural objects which as a result of Nazi persecution or the direct consequences of the Second World War were removed and relocated, stored or seized from their owners, particularly Jews, or on cultural objects where, because of gaps in their provenance, such a story of loss cannot be ruled out as a possibility. The database cannot be browsed, but images are generally provided with a description of the lost object.

Subscription-based materials library with thousands of innovative materials and processes across all disciplines of design.

Developed by the National Library of the Netherlands, this site contains about 10,000 images of Medieval manuscripts. The images are both browsable and searchable, and the site also contains a page of "highlights." Once a thumbnail is clicked, the images are beautifully displayed into a zoomable screen. The download button doesn't seem to work, so if you would like to display images from this site, you might want to do it directly from the website. Otherwise, the thumbnails are too small.

Monoskop is a wiki for collaborative studies of the arts, media and humanities. The focus of the content is avant-garde movements; this includes digitized avant-garde artists' books, journals, and other experimental forms of print making. The wiki contains a media library with links to several films.

This fascinating collection of objects illustrates the role of plastics in design and culture. It provides an in-depth history of the use of synthetic plastics since their invention in the middle of the 19th century up to the present day. The variety of objects includes items ranging from moulded furniture, telephones, and glasses to children's toys and cruet sets. The searchable catalog displays predominantly 20th and 21st century mass-produced design and popular culture, and the items support academic study.

"This website is the celebration of rock carvings made by Neolithic and Early Bronze Age people in Northumberland in the north east of England, between 6000 and 3500 years ago. Over 1000 carved panels are known and most of them are still located in the countryside." This project was funded by an AHRB Resource Enhancement Grant to the University of Newcastle. Images are both searchable and browsable. Once a query is made, click on the image of the camera on the right hand side to see the images. In addition to high quality images, this site features an 'interACTIVE' zone with 360 degree tours of selected sites, aerial views, games, and video and audio clips. Users are even able to browse by wheelchair accessibility.

This unique collection contains representative images of artist books in the Otis collection, with the intent of providing an educational resource for art historians, teachers, artists, and students. One can browse the collection, or search by author, publisher, book type, binding, process, or subject. The images are large and of fantastic quality.

Oxford Art Online offers access to some of the most authoritative, inclusive, and easily searchable online art resources available today. Through a single gateway users can search a range of Oxford’s art reference works such as Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online. Users can specifically search for images by checking the "images" box under the search field in the top right corner.

This collection hosts over 280,000 images using a Polaroid instant camera. The collection can be searched based on tags or free text. As collection images are provided by the general public, the public is responsible for tagging individual pictures, which may affect the findability of pictures. Collection images are free for personal use

This collection features 3000 digitised images from Birmingham Museums & Art Gallery’s Pre-Raphaelite collection, with major and more loosely associated artists from the movement all represented by works of art including sketches, paintings, engravings, tapestries, stained glass, ceramics and fine art objects

From Frank J. Seinstra this site includes 742 of Rembrandt's works, divided into three categories. The author states, "The initial goal of this web catalog was to bring together all 657 Lecaldano paintings, together with works that have been discovered or re-attributed since the Lecaldano list was first published in 1969. In the process, all paintings evaluated in the Rembrandt Research Project (RRP) Corpus in the period 1982-2005 have been included as well, together with many works included in the catalogs published by the most authoritative Rembrandt experts of the late 1800s and early 1900s: Bode [3], Hofstede de Groot [10], and Valentiner [17,18]. Over 90% of the reproductions included in the Web Catalog have been obtained from the Internet. The remaining reproductions have been photographed by the author from Valentiner's 1909 and 1921 catalogs.

A catalog of about 600,000 images of of works of art collected in the national and regional museums of France. Images are available to be licensed.

Scholars Resource offers high quality digital images for teaching at educational institutions, and includes images related to art history, humanities, culture studies, natural history, and sciences.

A collection of engravings of Rome and Roman antiquities, the core of which consists of prints published by Antonio Lafreri and gathered under a title page he printed in the mid-1570's." The images are both searchable and browsable, and are accompanied by detailed metadata. In addition, users can view a zoomable image. This site is essential for anyone studying the Speculum Romanae Magnificentiae. All images may be used for scholarly purposes.

This website is derived from an exhaustive research on the Typographische Monatsblätter (TM) focussing on the issues from 1960 till 1990.
The Typographische Monatsblätter was one of the most important journals to successfully disseminate the phenomenon of ‘Swiss typography’ to an international audience. The print copies of this journal are available by request from Oak Street: https://vufind.carli.illinois.edu/vf-uiu/Record/uiu_580728

Containing over 39,000 digitized images from the Center's archives, artists represented include Ansel Adams to Ylla. The Center is committed to making its collections more accessible, and is continually digitizing photographs to make them available online.

Over 120 museums have contributed images of masterpieces from Asian origin promote mutual understanding and appreciation between peoples of various and different cultures. Each day, a new masterpiece is featured. Objects are searchable, and video clips of curators discussing works of art are also available

Your Paintings is a website which aims to show the entire UK national collection of oil paintings, the stories behind the paintings, and where to see them for real. It is made up of paintings from thousands of museums and other public institutions around the country.