LibGuides: Finding Images and Video: Finding print images

Images in Books

It's important to note that most images are not digitized, so if you're looking for something unique you may have better luck scanning it from a book. There are three self-service scanners available in the Ricker Library and Scholarly Commons. See our scanner information page for instructions on scanner use. Keep in mind that if you want to present your image in a PowerPoint, it should be at least 72ppi, and about 1024x768 pixels. If you'd like to publish or print the image, it should be at least 300dpi and about 1,500x900 pixels. Please check copyright restrictions and publisher guidelines.

In the details section of a catalog record, the format field will tell you if a book has illustrations.

Below are a few examples that will help you find images:

Print Index by Kathe Chipman
ISBN: 0313220638
Publication Date: 1983-10-27
Print Index: A Guide to Reproductions is designed to aid the user in locating illustrations of prints dating from the early eighteenth century through the mid-1970s. It contains data on and provides access to many thousands of prints by more than twenty-one hundred printmakers found in one hundred English-language monographs and exhibition and collection catalogues. The Print Index lists works alphabetically by title under the artist or artists. The entries identify the printmaker, the title of the work, the date, the print technique used, and the publications (books or catalogues) in which a reproduction of the print appears. An index references the prints by subject and title where the title is distinctive or expressive.
Photography Index
ISBN: 0313207003
Publication Date: 1979-03-15
US
World Painting Index, 1990-1999 by Patricia Pate Havlice
ISBN: 0810844729
Publication Date: 2003-05-13
A monumental reference work designed to eliminate many of the problems encountered in the search for a reproduction of a particular painting.

Images in Journals

Many indexes and journals that the library subscribes too allow users to search specifically for pages containing images. Simply look for "page image" in the filter options, or "captions" or "illustration" in drop down menus. Below are a few examples:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.

HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital Library is home to millions of digitized books and publications. Our team works diligently alongside research institutions to preserve and grow this collection while providing lawful access to visitors around the world.