Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Scholarly Research Toolbox For Business Administration

Resources for the Illinois Business Administration Faculty and Doctoral Students

Derwent Innovations Index

Engineering Village

esp@cenet (European Patent Office)

esp@cenet (European Patent Office)

Collection of patents and patent applications worldwide through the European Patent Office (EPO) from 1836-present. You can search patents by origin country. Results can be downloaded as Adobe PDF files.

Google Patent Search

Google Advanced Patent Search makes it easy to search by categories such as assignee and date ranges.

The collection covers all granted patents and published patent applications from the USPTO (1790-present) and the EPO (1978-present). Try the basic search using the box below:

Google Patent Search

LexisNexis Academic Universe

Some information on patents can be found in Lexis Nexis Academic Universe.

  • Click the drop-down menu that says Search by content type above the red search box
  • Then select Patent Search under the Legal category
  • Search for the name of the company or patent number

SciFinder Web

Scopus

Unites States Patent and Trademark Office

Unites States Patent and Trademark Office

The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present, searchable by many different categories. PDF images are available for all patents from 1790 to the present  but you must search by patent number and/or classification code for pre-1976 patents.

USPTO - Seven Step Strategy for a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search

A short guide for finding U.S. patents and patent applications using free online resources from USPTO and the European Patent Office.

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)

The WIPO provides the PATENTSCOPE database which covers 43 million patent documents including 2.5 million published international patent applications.  Documents can be downloaded as PDF, ZIP, or XML files.