Recommended eBooks on Dissertation Writing
- Doing Your Dissertation in Business and Management byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9781847877970Publication Date: 2006-01-01Readers are given guidelines to help them assess the kind of researcher they are and the all important question of how to chose a research project is answered.
- Guide to the Successful Thesis and Dissertation byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 0824755286Publication Date: 2003-05-01Contents include how to get started, the role of a Research Advisor, developing a proposal, preparation, the thesis committee, conducting the study, etc.
- Writing the Successful Thesis and Dissertation byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9780131735330Publication Date: 2006-12-21A complete, step-by-step, practical overview of the process of writing successful theses and dissertations.
- Writing Your Dissertation byCall Number: OnlineISBN: 9781848031265Publication Date: 2007-01-01This book covers such areas as choosing a subject, planning the total work, selecting research methods and techniques, written style and presentation. (Description from Amazon)
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
A database that contains dissertation citations back to 1861, abstracts back to 1980, and the full text of many dissertations from 1997 (and sometimes earlier) to present. Masters theses have been selectively indexed since 1962. Almost all dissertations written at UIUC from 1997 forward are available as a free full-text download in PDF (Adobe Acrobat) format. Here is an example of a subject search for education dissertations written at UIUC:
- In the first search box, type Education and select Subject (SU) from the dropdown menu at the right.
- In the second search box, type University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and select University/institution (SCH) from the dropdown menu at the right. (Note: The full name of the school needs to be typed out, so "University of Illinois" or "UIUC" will not work.)
- To limit by year, select desired years from the Date Range drop-down menu.
- Click the Search button.
After performing your search and locating a dissertation of interest, you'll see a 'Full text-PDF' link at the right of the dissertation record if a full-text download is available. From there you can e-mail or export the citation and abstract. You also have the option of purchasing a copy by selecting the 'Order a copy' link.
If the full text is not available for download, a print copy of the dissertation may be available in the UIUC library--just do a search in the online catalog for the dissertation title to determine its location.
Abstracts for pre-1980 dissertations are available in Dissertation Abstracts, the print version of the database contents.
Illinois Digital Repository
The University Library hosts a digital repository called IDEALS which contains recent dissertations (those which can be deposited digitally via word documents, etc) and working papers for Illinois faculty and doctoral students. Advantages are retaining your own copyright and having it be discovered more quickly via OpenSource.
Need More Help?
Grainger Engineering Library Information Center's STEM Entrepreneurship & Business Services can assist you in getting started with these and other resources. If you have any questions, please e-mail bis@library.illinois.edu.
