Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Scholarly Research Toolbox For Business Administration

Resources for the Illinois Business Administration Faculty and Doctoral Students

Common Securities Exchange Comission Filings

  • U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission
    • DEF 14A- Proxy Statement (Board of Directors appointments, changes, etc)
    • 10-K Annual Report to the SEC (Required)
    • 10-KA Amended Annual Report
    • 10-Q Quarterly Report
    • 8-K Changes report that could affect the financial health of the company
    • 6-K Non-US companies listed on one of the US stock exchanges report similar to 8-K
    • 20-F Non-US company annual report to SEC
    • 13-D Insider shares traded by board
    • 13-FE Institutional Holders' trades
    • 14-D1 Tender offer or Acquisition of another company
    • 14-D9 Response to tender offer
    • S-1 New Issue Filing, often known as the Prospectus for an Initial Public Offering (IPO)
    • Form SB-Small Business IPO

Related to filings:

Filings can be found in LexisNexis and Mergent Online.

Capital IQ

Captial IQ is a subsidiary of Standard & Poors. Its database of the same name contains company and industry news, including announcements of recent mergers, buybacks, and acquisitions that did not materialize. It also has annual reports and filings for several years and one can screen by type of filing.

Captial IQ is available in the Margolis Market Information Lab at BIF and through the Wharton Research Data System (WRDS).

LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations

Nexis Uni

In order to download articles, make sure to enable pop-ups for advance.lexis.com

To search for company profiles, select the company info box on the home page and select Company Profile from the drop-down to search for a company by name.

 

Mergent Online

To find company reports, use the "company search" window on the left side of the home page. You can limit your search to companies in a specific country. Make sure the "International Company Database" box on the left side is checked. Then, click on the "Country" drop-down menu on the right side, select the name, and click search.

Once you have found a company and reached its "company details" page; click the "filings" tab. You will see a table containing details of the company's recent filings. The icons in the "view documents" tab will provide you with various formats for viewing the filings.

 If the filing you are looking for is more than 90 days old; you will need to use the EDGAR search function. In the "company search" section; select the Government Filings tab near the top of the page and enter a company name or ticker symbol. 

In the "filing date search" section; specify a time frame for your search. Finally; in the "filing type" section; specify what type of filings you are interested in. (Again; Form 10-K is the government-required annual report for publicly-traded companies.)

Mergent Online also has financial ratios. Chad Boenniger at Ohio State has a good video describing how to search the database for individual companies or creating reports which compare ratios of company peers within industries for checking your work when making ratio calculations.  

 

Mergent Web Reports

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports

These reports are available through ABI/Inform. Once in ABI/Inform, click on 'Business Databases' in the upper left-hand corner.  Scroll down and under 'databases' make sure only the box next to 'ProQuest Historical Annual Reports' is checked.

Proquest Historical Annual Reports over 800 companies' annual reports in PDF format, many of them back to the 1900's.  

Value Line Investment Survey

Value Line Investment Survey

Includes reports about stock performance, historical trend data and projections for over 1700 companies, as well as evaluation and analysis of industries. For your convenience, the printed reports are divided into 13 folders. There is an index folder to aid in locating the reports.

Each report is one page in length and includes: estimates for 3-5 years, quarterly sales, EPS, and dividends; projected price, appreciation, dividend yield expected, insider decisions to buy or sell, and Value Line ratings for timeliness, safety, and beta. Beta is based on the NYSE Composite Index over a period of five years, and they are adjusted for their long-term tendency to converge toward 1.00.

Reports are available online back to 1997.  Click on Historical Archives under quick links on the right side of the screen to search for the historical report PDFs. The History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library and Oak Street Facility also have microform of historical reports.

To start a quick search for company information, use the search box on the top right corner.

PrivCo

Users can search by Company name or keyword in the top search bar.

Under advanced search options, found by clicking on the magnifying glass icon on the left hand side, you can search by term, geography, keyword, revenue, ownership, and more.