Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Scholarly Research Toolbox For Business Administration

Resources for the Illinois Business Administration Faculty and Doctoral Students

Finance Databases

Finance Databases

The chart below displays databases with financial information that BIS subscribes to annually. The chart provides the broad topics which are available within each database. To access the database desired, click on the database title to take you to the database. If you are off campus, you will be required to type your Illinois Net ID and password first for authentication.

Note: WRDS is available only to Gies College of Business.

Database Venture Capital/ Private Equity Analyst Reports Data Matching Balance Sheet & Income Statement M&A Markets IPOs/ Earning Estimates SEC Filings/ Governance/ Audit
Mergent Online   ✔Via Investext ✔Ticker
✔SIC
✔NAIC
  ✔Stocks
✔Bonds
✔Indices
 
PrivCo ✔Private Equity
✔Venture Capital
✔SIC
(under Advanced Search > Private Companies)
✔Private Companies only    
SDC ✔New Issues   ✔CUSIP- 6 Digit
✔Ticker
✔SIC
  ✔Buybacks
✔Mergers
✔Acquisitions
✔Bonds
✔Equities
✔Mortgage Backed
✔Private Debt
✔IPOs
(under New Issues module)
 
Thomson One (use Internet Explorer) ✔Private Equity   ✔Ticker
✔SIC
✔NAIC (under Screening & Analysis)
       
WRDS     ✔CUSIP- 9 digit; if only have 6 digits, use NCUSIP (under Tools)
✔Ticker
✔SIC
✔GVKEY
✔Linking Suite (CRSP-Compustat)
✔Compustat
✔Global Compustat
✔Orbis
✔Amadeus
✔Osiris
✔Bank Focus
  ✔US Equity Priace (CRSP)
✔Mutual Funds
✔Options (US only)
✔CBOE Index
✔Municipals
✔Syndicated Loans
✔TAQ
✔I/B/E/S ✔SEC Analytics
✔ISS
✔Audit Analytics
✔ExeCOMP
✔13F (Thomson Reuters)

Bloomberg

Bloomberg

Available in the  Margolis Market Information Lab (MIL) in the Business Instructional Facility (BIF).

The BLOOMBERG PROFESSIONAL® service seamlessly integrates real-time and historical information on millions of bonds, equities, commodities, currencies and funds. Our electronic library also comprises data on almost every publicly traded company and biographies of more than 1 million people.
 
For demonstrations of the database, please contact the Margolis Market Information Lab at BIF. This is not an intuitive database to use.

CORI

Contracting and Organizations Research Institute (CORI)

Search the Digital Contracts Library provided by (CORI) by keyword, company name, or contract attribute.  Please note that you will be required to register your email address before searching, but access to the database is free.

Mergers and Acquisitions (SDC Platinum)

Mergers and Acquisitions

This resource provides comprehensive information on all announced, completed or pending transactions that involve a change of 5% or more in ownership. U.S. deals from 1979 to date, and non-U.S. deals from 1985 to date are covered. Supplies up to 1,400 data elements for each transaction.

This database is available for Business School Doctoral students and Faculty through Business Information Services. If one needs in-depth navigation assistance, please make an appointment with a BIS faculty member by emailing BIS@library.illinois.edu and specifying dates and times available to meet.

Mergent Online

To find company reports, use the "company search" window on the left side of the home page. You can limit your search to companies in a specific country. Make sure the "International Company Database" box on the left side is checked. Then, click on the "Country" drop-down menu on the right side, select the name, and click search.

Once you have found a company and reached its "company details" page; click the "filings" tab. You will see a table containing details of the company's recent filings. The icons in the "view documents" tab will provide you with various formats for viewing the filings.

 If the filing you are looking for is more than 90 days old; you will need to use the EDGAR search function. In the "company search" section; select the Government Filings tab near the top of the page and enter a company name or ticker symbol. 

In the "filing date search" section; specify a time frame for your search. Finally; in the "filing type" section; specify what type of filings you are interested in. (Again; Form 10-K is the government-required annual report for publicly-traded companies.)

Mergent Online also has financial ratios. Chad Boenniger at Ohio State has a good video describing how to search the database for individual companies or creating reports which compare ratios of company peers within industries for checking your work when making ratio calculations.  

 

WRDS (pronounced Werds)

 

The Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) resource consists of many datasets in the areas of accounting, economics, and finance available in a web interface and can be downloaded into many formats, including SAS.  WRDS acts as a subscription gateway or a shell to other subscription datasets.  The data are maintained and supported by Wharton staff. The data modules Illinois subscribes to include the following.

  • Audit AnalyticsAccess detailed audit information on over 1,200 accounting firms and 15,000 publicly registered companies. Know who is auditing whom and how much they are paying for what services. Create reports by auditor, fees, location, industry, etc.
  • Bureau Van Djik- has balance sheets and income statements for private and public companies around the world.
  • Capital IQ- has key developments, identifiers, and capital structure, including debt.  Data is not as inclusive as found in regular Capital IQ.  Also known as COMPUSTAT.
  • COMPUSTAT/Capital IQ North America-database of U.S. and Canadian fundamental and market information on more than 24,000 active and inactive publicly held companies from the past 20 years. It provides more than 300 annual and 100 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Statement of Cash Flows, and supplemental data items.  Note: not every section within CapIQ/Compustat is subscribed to.  
  • CRSP (Center for Research Securities and Prices)maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ stock markets. Additional CRSP files provide stock indices, beta- and cap-based portfolios, treasury bond and risk-free rates, and mutual fund databases. It also provides CRSP/Compustat Merged Database, a database that simplifies matching COMPUSTAT financial data to the CRSP security price data.  Note: not every section within CRSP is subscribed to.  
  • CUSIP Master File
  • ExecuCOMPoffers executive compensation data including current, historical, total compensation, executive options and compensation of industry peers. Selected company financial information enables one to compare executive pay versus company performance, revealing previously hard-to-find information. The ExecuComp database includes detailed breakouts of compensation data under the pre-2006 reporting rules so that one can research historical compensation trends. Published by COMPUSTAT, part of the Capital IQ module.
  • I/B/E/Scontain historical earnings estimates. 
  • Institutional Holdings and Insiders Data- supplies data from 13F, 144A, and Rule 10b5 filings.
  • ISS (Institutional Shareholder Services)- provides executive compensation performance metrics, goals and payout structure. Includes peer data for benchmarking. 
  • NYSE TAQdatabase contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and SmallCap issues.
  • OptionMetrics- a comprehensive source of historical price and implied volatility data for the US equity and index options markets. Encompassing more than six years of data, Ivy DB OptionMetrics contains historical prices of options and their associated underlying instruments, correctly calculated implied volatilities, and option sensitivities.
  • SEC Analytics- provides parsing functionality of SEC filings. 

 

 

 

In addition, some financial indexes and econometric databases are available that are part of the overall WRDS database, but for subscribers only:

 

  • Bank Regulatory
  • Blockholders
  • CBOE Indexes
  • DMEF
  • Dow Jones
  • FDIC
  • Fama French, Momentum, and Liquidity
  • Federal Reserve Bank Reports
  • PHLX
  • Penn World Tables
  • SEC Disclosure of Order Execution
  • TRACE

 

 

 

WRDS is available on a cost-recovery subscription basis for non-College of Business and UIUC students, faculty and staff, and must be pre-approved for office accounts. Please e-mail Karen Myers in the Research Bureau of the College of Business for account information. Personal credit cards, cash, or checks are not accepted.   Any non-Gies student or faculty member must go through their department to transfer interdepartmental funds within Banner. 

 

(Note: Some wording for databases borrowed from the Thomas J. Long Library at Berkeley and from Capital IQ.)

 

Economic Datasets

The following resources below contain mainly economic indicators and other data.

Global Financial Data

Global Financial Data 

The Global Financial Database (GFD) is an unparalleled collection of financial and economic data covering more than 200 countries and 60,000 companies. The GFD has been compiled from original data sources such as historical archives, academic journals and news periodicals. The data have been verified and cross-referenced prior to being included in the database.  This is a great source for looking for time-series on exchange rates, total return, and daily stock indexes.

OECD iLibrary

Passport

To locate statistics, look under Search (in the upper left corner of the Home/Welcome page). You can generate tables of statistics on Consumer, Industrial, and Service Markets by clicking on the appropriate link. The next step requires you to select among several countries. You can also use the toolbar at the top of the page to explore by Industries, Countries, and Consumers. If you need a table about Food Shopping Habits in Croatia, this is the resource for you.

For example, to search for industry statistics, go to 'Search Statistics' section; select 'industries'; choose a industry you are interested in; click go .

For database help, click here.
 

ProQuest Statistical Datasets

Statista

Statista

Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries. 

World Development Indicators (WDI) Online

You can type the keywords in the search box on the top; browse by countries or indicators; see indicators by categories listed on the right side; search indicators in the quick search search box.