Index to literature on Islam, the Middle East and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Includes citations to over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, and book reviews from 1906 to present.
Signed entries. No bibliographies. Includes chronology and index. "Contains hundreds of articles on political, diplomatic, and military events, groups, personalities, conflicts, and operations, focusing on the post-1947 period but including the period of the Palestine problem as well [...] a bibliography follows most of the long entries [...] a long chronology and a useful index make this work a user-friendly reference tool [...] The researcher is advised to use this reference work with caution and in conjunction with other works" (from the International Journal of Middle East Studies review by Philip Mattar). See also the reviews from Journal of Military History and International Affairs.
2nd ed. Online version of the 4 volume original. Also available in print through our catalog. "Coverage includes culture and society, religion and ethnicity, history and politics, war and treaties, geography, and economics, generally from 1800 to the present. The work emphasizes countries or issues specifically relevant to Western readers [...] An open gateway to current knowledge about an important region in world affairs" (from the Choice review by F. H. Dagher).
"Will serve as the standard one-volume comprehensive Jewish reference work [...] seeks to present a balanced picture, offering current thinking among scholars in Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements and a roster of contributors hailing from Israel, England, and the United States. While the scholarship is solid, the material is readily accessible to a popular audience, and the work is magnificently illustrated" (from the Library Journal review by David B. Levy). See also the Choice review by D. Kranzler.
Online version of the 2 volume original. Signed entries with bibliographies. Bibliographies not annotated. "Historically focused, the encyclopedia covers a broad range of topics, including regional variations (e.g., "South Asian Culture and Islam"), contrasts with other religions ("Islam and Hinduism"), basic concepts of the belief system ("Holy Cities"), and Muslim thinking on a variety of moral issues ("Martyrdom") [...] Also included are a glossary of the most common Arabic terms, genealogies of early Muslim dynasties, a time line of Muslim history, an index, lists of entries and contributors, and a synoptic outline of entries" (from CHOICE review by C. A. Sproles).
MENALIB, also known as the Middle East Virtual Library, is hosted by the Universitaets- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt in Halle (ULB Halle) and supported by a number of other institutions in Germany and the U.S. It endeavors to be a portal and clearinghouse for information and resources pertaining to the entire greater Middle East.
Multidisciplinary studies of ancient and contemporary problems concerning Arabic societies. History; Literature & Literary Criticism; Politics & Political Science; Religion & Theology; Sociology; Sociology & Social Work; Anthropology; Area Studies; Ethnic & Multicultural Studies.
Al Jazeera Satellite Channel, now known as AJA, was launched on 1 November 1996 following the closure of the BBC's Arabic language television station. The channel's willingness to broadcast no holds barred views, for example on call-in shows, created controversies in the Arab States of the Persian Gulf. One of the station's offices was the only channel to cover the War in Afghanistan live.