Sustainable Animal Agriculture by
In order to meet increasing global demand for meat and animal by-products increasingly intensive animal production is necessary. Creating a sustainable system in animal agriculture that works in different production environments is a major challenge for animal scientists. This book draws together themes on sustainability that have emerged as the most pressing in recent years. Addressing practical topics such as air quality, manure management, animal feeds, production efficiency, environmental sustainability, biotechnology issues, animal welfare concerns, societal impacts and an analysis of the data used to assess the economic sustainability of farms.
Humans and Other Animals: cross-cultural perspectives on human-animal interactions by
Explores the evolving and diverse ways in which humans and animals interact, from blood sports to pet keeping.
Sustainable and Resilient Communities by
Publisher description: Many of today's communities face an unprecedented struggle to adapt and maintain their environmental, economic, and social well-being in an era beleaguered by fiscal constraints, uncertainty about energy prices and supplies, rapid demographic shifts, and accelerated climate impacts. This step-by-step guidebook for urban planners and urban designers explains how to create and implement an actionable plan for making neighborhoods, communities, and regions more environmentally healthy, resource-conserving, and economically resilient. Sustainable and Resilient Communities delineates measures for repairing, retrofitting, and transforming our built environments and supporting systems-transportation, energy, water, natural environment, food production, solid waste, and economics
Food, Globalization and Sustainability by 
Encyclopedia of Global Warming by 
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability by 
Globalisation, Environment and Social Justice by 
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology by
The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage in more than 550 separate entries comprising 38 topical sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide. An indispensable resource for scientists and engineers in developing new technologies and for applying existing technologies to sustainability, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is presented at the university and professional level needed for scientists, engineers, and their students to support real progress in sustainability science and technology. Although the emphasis is on science and technology rather than policy, the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology is also a comprehensive and authoritative resource for policy makers who want to understand the scope of research and development and how these bottom-up innovations map on to the sustainability challenge.
"Humans depend on forests for a wide variety of vital resources, including food, fuel, medicine, clean water, and clean air. Forested areas make up roughly 26 percent of the Earth's land surface, but deforestation, particularly in Brazil, Indonesia, and tropical Africa, is shrinking this area. In some parts of the globe, reforestation is occurring.
Deforestation is caused by complex chains of factors that vary around the world. They include timber logging by private, foreign, or state-run companies, road building allowing new settlement, and agricultural expansion.
Underlying driving forces of deforestation include economic, technological, political, cultural, and demographic factors. Indigenous people are losing their historic rights to forest areas. Women may be disproportionately affected because their rights are particularly weak and they bear the burden of collecting increasingly scarce food, fuel, and water.
Several case studies have shown that the economic gains associated with deforestation are typically low, and well-designed policy and market incentives can reduce deforestation significantly. To be effective, however, incentives will have to influence both the influential state and private actors, as well as the many millions of farmers whose actions drive land-use changes in the tropical forest margins."
Global Deforestation by 
Forests and Livelihoods: the social dynamics of deforestation in developing countries by 
Forest Preservation in a Changing Climate: REDD+ and indigenous and community rights in Indonesia and Tanzania by 
Strangely Like War : the global assault on forests by 
The Politics of Deforestation in Africa by "Humanity's ability to obtain this most precious of commodities depends on four factors—supply, demand, access, and quality. Water resources are used for a variety of human purposes—agriculture, industry, domestic use, transport, energy generation, and waste removal (for the purposes of this entry, the focus is on the first three of these uses). The lack of sufficient access to water has all kinds of implications for human health, economic prosperity, political stability, social cohesion, international relations, and the environment at large.
Various forces have arisen in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries that put water supplies and access in jeopardy, forces that are only likely to intensify in the foreseeable future—population growth, economic development, and environmental degradation and climate change. In response, experts and policymakers have pushed for a number of economic and technological fixes to reduce water demand even as the world's poorer countries continue to invest in the infrastructure that will lead to better access."
Last Call at the Oasis: the global water crisis and where we go from here by 
Water, Culture, and Power : local struggles in a global context by 
Safe Water, Sanitation, and Early Childhood Malnutrition in East Africa by 
Global Thirst : water and society in the 21st century by 
The Price of Thirst: global water inequality and the coming chaos by 
Let There Be Water : Israel's solution for a water-starved world by 
Water on Tap : rights and regulation in the transnational governance of urban water services by "Mining is a major business in many countries of both the developed and developing worlds. Although mining produces substantial economic benefits—particularly for the latter group of countries, but also in developed-world economies such as Australia—it nevertheless causes significant problems, among them environmental degradation. Also, mining operations often bring little financial reward to the communities that they disrupt.
In response, since the early 1980s mining legislation has been revised in more than 50 developing countries, many under the watchful eye of international donors. With few exceptions, these revisions have had two objectives: to resuscitate large, industrial-scale mining activity and to formalize artisanal and small-scale mining (ASM) activities. Most host governments have heavily prioritized the large-scale activity, offering a series of generous tax breaks in the hope of attracting foreign investment to bolster mineral exploration activity and develop viable mining projects. ...
Efforts to reform mechanized large-scale mining in developing countries, however, have typically overshadowed those to formalize ASM. Specifically, in many cases—as most recently illustrated in Ghana, Mali, Mozambique, and other countries in sub-Saharan Africa—governments have struggled to provide titling and support to prospective ASM licensees in areas now under concession to foreign multinationals. This is proving problematic because the blueprint of large-scale mine development championed by the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) has failed to yield the developmental impact anticipated. Instead of giving rise to an industry that is fully integrated economically, the reforms have spawned industrial-scale enclave-type mining operations that have failed to stimulate downstream industries and generate much employment.
The ASM industry, however, is the very antithesis of this development, and a potential tonic to the burgeoning poverty that now engulfs many corners of the developing world. Impelled by domestic investment, ASM provides direct employment to millions of people worldwide and has spawned the many related service industries that large-scale extraction has had difficulty creating. But the sector, which accomplished this with minimal support from host governments and donors, is under serious threat from a perpetually expanding large-scale mining economy."
Coltan by 
Extraction Empire : undermining the systems, states, & scales of Canada's global resource empire by 
Governance of the World's Mineral Resources by 
The Socio-Economic Impacts of Artisanal and Small-Scale Mining in Developing Countries by 
The Looting Machine : warlords, oligarchs, corporations, smugglers, and the theft of Africa's wealth by 
Escaping the Resource Curse by 
Sustaining Development in Mineral Economies : the resource curse thesis by 
The Institutions Curse: natural resources, politics, and development by 
