Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Global Studies Research Guide

Subject Specialist

Atoma Batoma
African Studies Librarian
batoma@illinois.edu

Recommended Resources

  • Africa Bibliography
    • Includes a wide range of materials from all regions, including North Africa. Covers monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets in English as well as Portuguese, French, Italian, German, Swahili, Spanish and Afrikaans.
  • African Studies Center (Leiden)
    • Online catalog of the the library collection of the African Studies Centre, Leiden. Includes annotated citations to journal articles and listing of books chapters from works acquired since 1988. This database Identifies monographs, journal articles and chapters from edited works on both North and Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • African Diaspora: 1860-Present
    • This database focuses on the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. Resources focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, this collection includes digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera.
  • Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature
    • AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two bibliographies were added, one on Islam in Africa, compiled by Paul Schrijver, the other on the Kenya Coast, compiled by Jan Hoorweg. In July 2014 Water and Africa was added.
  • Black Drama
    • This edition of Black Drama, Second Edition contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
  • Confidential Print: Africa
    • Provides electronic access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This resource provides a searchable collection of scores of official documents and maps covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonisation of Africa (with the exception of Egypt).
  • Index Islamicus
    • Identifies publications on Islam, the Middle East and North Africa and the Muslim world.

Resources by Language