Subject Specialists
Steve Witt
Japanese Studies Librarian
Global Studies Librarian
swwitt@illinois.edu
- IAS Library — Japanese Studies Collections and ServicesLibrary resources recommended by the librarian.
- IAS Library — Korean Studies Collections and ServicesLibrary resources recommended by the librarian.
Japan
- Statistics of Japan e-Stat Portal This link opens in a new windowA portal site for Japanese government statistics.
- Academic Research Repository at the Institute of Developing Economies (ARRIDE) This link opens in a new windowPreviously Asian Economic Research Institute Academic Research Repository. Publications from the Asian Economic Research Institute.
- Japanese Web Archive - WARPProvided Japan's National Library, this web archive is a useful tool for finding reports, articles, and statistics related to COVID-19 as it has been published online by government and non-governmental organizations in Japan.
- Maisaku (Mainichi Shinbun Online Database) This link opens in a new windowThe Mainichi Shimbun is the one of 3 major Japanese newspapers and the oldest daily newspaper. Provides the following: Mainichi Shimbun (1872+); Weekly Economist (1989+; images in reduced size edition is available from 1989-1999); and The Mainichi (English) (2008+). Can also browse today’s news and breaking news.
- Japan Times Digital Archive, The This link opens in a new windowThe Japan Times Digital Archive features the best, easy-to-use interface available for discovering deep archive content of any Japanese newspaper (English or Japanese). The online search tools allow users to search the Main newspaper, Extra issues, Supplements or All issues by Imperial Period (Meiji, Taishō, Shōwa, Heisei), publications dates, and keywords.
- Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search This link opens in a new windowThe Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search is an online database of the Asahi Newspaper company, featuring articles, advertisements, and images. It is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 15 million articles and advertisements from more than 135 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Bibliography of Asian Studies in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat.. Use Bibliography of Asian Studies in the NEW EBSCO user interface.
- Yomidas Rekishikan This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of the Yomiuri Shinbun, from its initial publication in 1874 to date, as well as full text of the Daily Yomiuri, its English language equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Articles are keyword indexed to 8/31/1986, and can be searched full-text from 9/1/1986 to present.
China
- LawinfoChina This link opens in a new windowEnglish-language web site that publishes Chinese statutes, regulations, cases, government policies, legal news, treaties, law review articles, and law links.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new windowA collection of 12 English-language papers published in Shanghai, Beijing and Guangzhou between 1832 and 1953. ProQuest Historical Newspapers is the definitive newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant newspapers dating back to the 18th century. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. The full collection of ProQuest Historical Newspapers contains over 30 million digitized pages.
- Chinese Periodical Full-text Database This link opens in a new windowIt covers around 10,000,000 pieces of writing in over 25,000 different kinds of periodicals published between 1911 and 1949. As an important part of the historical archive, this database has significant academic and historical values. It not only helps reproduce the unique historical features of the ROC (1911~1949) and restore the historical memory, but also enriches the digital resources of periodicals so as to facilitate users to conduct academic research on the history of the ROC (1911~1949).