Online Resources
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
-
ProQuest Black Studies Center This link opens in a new windowThe ProQuest Black Studies Center includes the Black Studies Periodicals Database, which includes citations for articles in Black periodicals going back to 1902, as well as an online index to Black literature spanning from 1827-1940, the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (a database of studies, articles, images and essays covering important topics), and the full text of the Chicago Defender newspaper from 1910-1975.
-
Sabinet African JournalsIndex of African Journals
The Library does not subscribe to every journal in this collection. You can limit your search to subscribed titles only, but remember that if you find an article in a journal that the Library does not own, then you can request a copy through interlibrary loan. -
Africa BibliographyAnnual bibliography of African Studies. Identifies books, essays, and articles in the social sciences, environmental sciences, humanities, and fine arts. Began as a catalog of publications received by the Edinburgh University Library and the International African Institute. Not useful for identifying government documents. Indexes publications from 1984-present.
Encyclopedias/Reference
-
Encyclopedia of Consumer Culture byCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780872896017Publication Date: 2011-09-15
-
Encyclopedia of Hair byCall Number: 391.509 Sh577eISBN: 9780313331459Publication Date: 2006-02-28
-
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture byCall Number: DT3 .P27 2005ISBN: 0816051992Publication Date: 2005-04-30
-
African Hairstyles: Styles of Yesterday and Today byCall Number: 646.7242096 Sa18aISBN: 0435898302Publication Date: 1983Shows traditional hairstyles used in each region of Africa and modern styles which make use of cornrowing and threading.
Call Numbers
Subclass DT
DT1-3415 History of Africa
DT470-671 West Africa. West Coast
GT1-7070 Manners and customs (General)
GT495-499 Human body and its parts. Personal beauty
GT500-2370 Costume. Dress. Fashion
Subject Headings
Hairstyles--History
Hairstyles -- Africa
Africa AND hair
hair AND history
Use these subject headings in the Library Catalog:
-
University of Illinois Library CatalogUse the Library Catalog to identify books, journals (but not journal articles), microform collections, and digital collections owned by the University of Illinois. The Library Catalog is the primary tool for exploring the collections of the University of Illinois Library, the second largest academic library collection in the United States. In the Library Catalog you can search for books by subject, and you can identify the location within the Library of a particular book. If the book is an ebook, then you can link directly to the ebook.
Librarians
Atoma Batoma, PhD
African Studies Bibliographer
323 Library
batoma@illinois.edu
Lisa Romero
Communications Librarian
122 Gregory Hall
l-romero@illinois.edu
Celestina Savonius-Wroth
History Librarian
cswroth@illinois.edu
Laila Hussein
Middle East & North African Studies Librarian
lhoussei@illinois.edu
Related Libguides
-
Global Popular Culture African Studies GuideAfrican Studies page of Global Popular Culture Guide