LibGuides: History 207A: Digital Documentary Publishing: Fertility as Status and Disability

Librarians

Celestina Savonius-Wroth
History and Religious Studies
cswroth@illinois.edu

Jessica Hagman
Anthropology and Archaeology
jhagman@illinois.edu

Atoma Batoma
African Studies
batoma@illinois.edu

Laila Hussein Moustafa
Middle East & North African Studies
lhoussei@illinois.edu

Kit Condill
Slavic and East European Studies
condill@illinois.edu

Antonio Sotomayor
Latin American Studies
asotomay@illinois.edu

Elias Petrou
Classics, Ancient History, Medieval Studies
epetrou@illinois.edu

Article Indexes

Historical Abstracts
Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.
African Studies Centre Database
Multi-disciplinary. The catalog of the African Studies Centre in Leiden, which lists over 80,000 books, over 85,000 journal articles, as well as African newspapers, government reports, grey literature, and motion pictures. Includes annotated citations to journal articles and listing of books chapters from works acquired since 1988.
International African Bibliography = Bibliographie internationale africaine
Quarterly bibliography, began as a section in the journal Africa. Became a separate publication in 1971. For pre-2001 issues, consult the print edition. Indexes publications from 1929-present.
Africa Bibliography
Annual bibliography of African Studies. Identifies books, essays, and articles in the social sciences, environmental sciences, humanities, and fine arts. Began as a catalog of publications received by the Edinburgh University Library and the International African Institute. Not useful for identifying government documents. Indexes publications from 1984-present.
more...less...
For pre-2010 issues, consult the print version. Users may see the following error message: "Please note that this site is currently unavailable due to essential maintenance work." If this occurs, clear your browser cache, history and cookies or open an "incognito" browser window. Then
return to https://africabibliography-cambridge-org.proxy2.library.illinois.edu/.
Oxford Bibliography of African Studies
Extensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in African Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.
Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature
Six databases: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women, Search Women Travelers to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, and Water in Africa. Files can be searched separately, or together through AfricaBib.
African Women's Bibliographic Database
Identifies books, book chapters, government documents, periodical and journal articles, dissertations and theses, and conference papers. Indexes publications from 1986-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters, principally in Western languages on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Indexes publications from 1971-present.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) with HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
- This link opens in a new window
Two key article databases for Hispanic American, Latin American, and Caribbean Basin studies. Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, and Hispanics in the United States. While HAPI is an article index, PRISMA is a full text collection of scholarly journals. Together they cover a combination of peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals and periodicals. HAPI Indexes publications from 1966-present.
Women's Studies International
Identifies articles from women's studies journals as well as books, reports, websites, and conference papers. Indexes publications from 1972-present.
ABSEES: American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and online resources from the United States and Canada. Indexes publications from 1989-present, with coverage back to 1939 for some materials.
L'Année Philologique
Covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Indexes publications from 1928-present.

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
Alternate Access Link
Anthropological Index Online (AIO) This link opens in a new window
The Anthropological Index Online is the anthropological index to current periodicals held in the Anthropology Library at the Centre for Anthropology, The British Museum. The AIO is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute in cooperation with the Centre for Anthropology, The British Museum.
Anthropology Online This link opens in a new window
Anthropology Online brings together written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies covering human behavior. It is an essential resource for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography.

Reference Sources

The Oxford Handbook of History and Material Culture by Ivan Gaskell (Editor); Sarah Anne Carter (Editor)
Call Number: 907.2 ONLINE
ISBN: 9780197500125
Publication Date: 2020
The Oxford Handbook of Material Culture Studies by Dan Hicks (Editor); Mary C. Beaudry (Editor)
Call Number: 306 Ox22
ISBN: 9780199218714
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Handbook of Disability History by Michael Rembis (Editor); Catherine J. Kudlick (Editor); Kim Nielsen (Editor)
Call Number: HV1552 .O94 2018
ISBN: 9780190234959
Publication Date: 2018
The Disability Studies Reader by Lennard J. Davis
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781135134570
Publication Date: 2013
The Cambridge History of Africa by J. Desmond Clark (Editor); J. D. Fage (Contribution by); Roland Oliver (Contribution by)
Call Number: 960 ONLINE
ISBN: 9780521222150
Publication Date: 1982
Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.
The Cambridge History of Egypt by Carl F. Petry (Editor); Martin W. Daly (Contribution by)
Call Number: 962 C144
ISBN: 9780521471374
Publication Date: 1998
Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.
The Cambridge History of Religions in the Ancient World by Michele Renee Salzman (General Editor); Marvin Sweeney (Editor); William Adler (Editor)
Call Number: 200.93 ONLINE
ISBN: 9781107019997
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.

Suggested Subject Headings

Fertility cults.
Puberty rites.
Ceremonial objects.
Fetishism.
Dolls -- Religious aspects.
Phallicism
Sex -- Religious aspects.
Human body -- Religious aspects.
Human body -- Social aspects.
Human body -- Symbolic aspects.
Human body -- History.
Human anatomy -- History.