The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
Digital library of Congressional Quarterly's Editorial Research Reports (1923-present). Reports written by contemporary journalists on important issues in the United States. Each report includes historical context, with extensive reference tools like chronologies, bibliographies, infographics, and links to related reports. Organized by broad topic.
American Women Making History and Culture: 1963-1982 is a collection of 2,024 recordings from all five Pacifica Radio sister stations - KPFA-FM Berkeley, KPFK-FM Los Angeles, WBAI-FM New York City, KPFT-FM Houston, and WPFW-Washington, D.C. - highlighting both Pacifica's contributions to the women's movement as well as women's unique contributions to Pacifica Radio programming from 1963-1982. --website
Centerpiece of this collection is a complete run of the United States Reports, which is the official, published version of all Supreme Court rulings. Expect a lag of several years between a ruling and its final, published form. After the Court rules on a case, the ruling is issued (within several days) as a numbered "Slip Opinion." These slip opinions are eventually compiled and published as Preliminary Prints prior to their final publication in the U.S. Reports. The Hein Supreme Court Library also includes a large collection of books and periodicals on the Court and its rulings.
Use the Library Catalog to identify books, journals (but not journal articles), microform collections, and digital collections owned by the University of Illinois. The Library Catalog is the primary tool for exploring the collections of the University of Illinois Library, the second largest academic library collection in the United States. In the Library Catalog you can search for books by subject, and you identify the location within the Library of a particular book or journal. Books and journals are organized in the library by subject. Each item is assigned one or more subject headings and a unique call number. Subject headings are standardized terms from the Library of Congress. The call number is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification or Library of Congress Classification. Boolean operators must be capitalized if used: AND, OR, NOT. Interface automatically truncates some search terms unless Boolean operators are used within the same query line. You can also browse catalog records by call number, creating a "virtual shelf browsing" experience.