Librarians
Celestina Savonius-Wroth
History and Religious Studies
cswroth@illinois.edu
Peg Burnette
Disability Studies
phburn@illinois.edu
Jessica Hagman
Anthropology and Archaeology
jhagman@illinois.edu
Laila Hussein
Middle Eastern Studies
lhoussei@illinois.edu
Elias Petrou
Ancient History
epetrou@illinois.edu
Nancy O'Brien
Education
npobrien@illinois.edu
Article Indexes
- Historical AbstractsJournal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.
- America: History and LifeThe main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
- L'Année PhilologiqueCovers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Indexes publications from 1928-present.
- Education Full TextIdentifies articles from education-related periodicals. Full text goes back to 1996. Prior to that, the file comprises citations only. Indexes publications from 1983-present.
- Sociological Abstracts
This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles on all aspects of sociology, comparable in scope to SocINDEX, but includes more books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Indexes publications from 1952-present.
Reference Sources
- The Oxford Handbook of History and Material Culture byCall Number: 907.2 ONLINEISBN: 9780197500125Publication Date: 2020
- The Oxford Handbook of Material Culture Studies byCall Number: 306 Ox22ISBN: 9780199218714Publication Date: 2010
- The Oxford Handbook of Disability History byCall Number: HV1552 .O94 2018ISBN: 9780190234959Publication Date: 2018
- The SAGE Deaf Studies Encyclopedia byCall Number: Q. HV2365 .S24 2016ISBN: 9781452259567Publication Date: 2016
- Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness byCall Number: Q. 362.4203 G135ISBN: 9780070792296Publication Date: 1987
- Encyclopedia of American Disability History byCall Number: Q. 362.4097303 En192ISBN: 9780816070305Publication Date: 2009
- The Cambridge History of Egypt byCall Number: 962 C144ISBN: 9780521471374Publication Date: 1998Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.
- The Cambridge History of the Pacific Islanders byCall Number: 995 ONLINEISBN: 9781139055574Publication Date: 2008-Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.
- The Cambridge History of Turkey byCall Number: 956.015 ONLINEISBN: 9780521620963Publication Date: 2006-Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.
Digital Collections
- Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social MovementA collection of primary and secondary sources documenting the history of disability around the world. Document types include video recordings; histories; biographies; reference works; artwork; literary works; personal narratives, oral histories, diaries, and interviews; correspondence; organizational records; government documents; posters, pamphlets, brochures, and ephemera; curricular documents; research reports; periodicals and newspapers; speeches; photographs; and more. Covers 1492-present, with bulk of documents from the twentieth century.
Suggested Subject Headings
- Ugliness -- History.
- Ugliness -- Social aspects.
- Abnormalities, Human.
- Malformations.
- Blind -- History.
- Blind -- Institutional care.
- Blindness -- Social aspects -- History.
- Deaf -- History.
- Deaf -- Institutional care.
- Deaf culture.
- Deafness.
- Beauty, Personal -- History.
- Human body -- Social aspects.
- Human body -- Symbolic aspects.
- Human body -- History.
- Human anatomy -- History.