2 vols. "Provides a clear overview and examination of anti-Semitism, with 650 double-column entries by over 200 contributors from 21 countries [...] written by top scholars in the field" (from the Library Journal review by Paul Kaplan).
Russian publications on Jews and Judaism in the Soviet Union, 1917-1967: a bibliography by Y. Y. Cohen
Call Number: 325.25693 P65R
Publication Date: 1970
Slavic Reference Non-circulating
The introduction to this bibliography gives a historical overview of Jews in the Soviet Union. The table of contents is in English and divides into 9 subjects. Most citations are for books, including 52 bibliographies. There is an index of authors and titles of anonymous works.
Lavine, Ludmila Shleyfer. 2019. “Vladimir Mayakovsky’s Agit-Semitism.” Russian Review 78 (3): 437–58. doi:https://www.jstor.org/journals/00360341.html.
"Images of Jewishness as ethnic, cultural, and biblical categories in Vladimir Mayakovsky's works are both plentiful and understudied. The present article attempts to bridge this gap while exploring the mechanisms that guide the poet's responses to anti-Semitism. I begin by focusing on the function of the Exodus story in 'Stikhi ob Amerike' ('Verses about America'), and then move to Mayakovsky's 'agitational' works: his collaboration on the film 'Evrei na zemle' ('Jews on Earth,' 1927), and his poems 'Evrei (Tovarishcham iz OZETa)' (1926) and '"Zhid"' (1928).
Stalin's Forgotten Zion by Robert Weinberg; Bradley Berman (Editor); Zvi Gitelman (Introduction by)
Publication Date: 1998-05-25
Robert Weinberg and Bradley Berman's carefully documented and extensively illustrated book explores the Soviet government's failed experiment to create a socialist Jewish homeland. In 1934 an area popularly known as Birobidzhan, a sparsely populated region along the Sino-Soviet border some five thousand miles east of Moscow, was designated the national homeland of Soviet Jewry. Establishing the Jewish Autonomous Region was part of the Kremlin's plan to create an enclave where secular Jewish culture rooted in Yiddish and socialism could serve as an alternative to Palestine. The Kremlin also considered the region a solution to various perceived problems besetting Soviet Jews. Birobidzhan still exists today, but despite its continued official status Jews are a small minority of the inhabitants of the region. Drawing upon documents from archives in Moscow and Birobidzhan, as well as photograph collections never seen outside Birobidzhan, Weinberg's story of the Soviet Zion sheds new light on a host of important historical and contemporary issues regarding Jewish identity, community, and culture. Given the persistence of the "Jewish question" in Russia, the history of Birobidzhan provides an unusual point of entry into examining the fate of Soviet Jewry under communist rule.
Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and online resources from the United States and Canada. Indexes publications from 1989-present, with coverage back to 1939 for some materials.
Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues. Indexes publications from 1915-present.
Four separate files searchable through a single interface: International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current), and: International Index to Television Periodicals (1979-current), International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections, and Bibliography of FIAF Members' Publications.
The collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian film. These publications are largely absent from book collections in the West, and are now presented for the first time as a large, complete set. They shed light on the production side of Soviet cinematography, as well as on the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period’s leading directors and critics. They also highlight the role of film in Soviet cultural life. Film magazines and newspapers featured articles by leading Soviet directors (Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, Abram Room), as well as members of the avant-garde LEF, leading authors and philologists.
TRIAL ACCESS good until Nov 13th 2021
For antisemitism, begin browsing at 305.892 or 305.8924 .
Jewish People and USSR 301.452
Jews -- Soviet Union
Jews -- Europe, Eastern -- History -- 20th century
Antisemitism -- Soviet Union
Use these subject headings in the Library Catalog:
Use the Library Catalog to identify books, journals (but not journal articles), microform collections, and digital collections owned by the University of Illinois. The Library Catalog is the primary tool for exploring the collections of the University of Illinois Library, the second largest academic library collection in the United States. In the Library Catalog you can search for books by subject, and you identify the location within the Library of a particular book or journal. Books and journals are organized in the library by subject. Each item is assigned one or more subject headings and a unique call number. Subject headings are standardized terms from the Library of Congress. The call number is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification or Library of Congress Classification. Boolean operators must be capitalized if used: AND, OR, NOT. Interface automatically truncates some search terms unless Boolean operators are used within the same query line. You can also browse catalog records by call number, creating a "virtual shelf browsing" experience.