Librarians
Celestina Savonius-Wroth
History and Religious Studies
cswroth@illinois.edu
Peg Burnette
Disability Studies
phburn@illinois.edu
Jessica Hagman
Anthropology and Archaeology
jhagman@illinois.edu
Atoma Batoma
African Studies
batoma@illinois.edu
Antonio Sotomayor
Latin American Studies
asotomay@illinois.edu
Steve Witt
Asian Studies
swwitt@illinois.edu
Article Indexes
- Historical AbstractsJournal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.
- African Studies Centre DatabaseMulti-disciplinary. The catalog of the African Studies Centre in Leiden, which lists over 80,000 books, over 85,000 journal articles, as well as African newspapers, government reports, grey literature, and motion pictures. Includes annotated citations to journal articles and listing of books chapters from works acquired since 1988.
- International African Bibliography = Bibliographie internationale africaineQuarterly bibliography, began as a section in the journal Africa. Became a separate publication in 1971. For pre-2001 issues, consult the print edition. Indexes publications from 1929-present.
- Africa BibliographyAnnual bibliography of African Studies. Identifies books, essays, and articles in the social sciences, environmental sciences, humanities, and fine arts. Began as a catalog of publications received by the Edinburgh University Library and the International African Institute. Not useful for identifying government documents. Indexes publications from 1984-present.
- Bibliography of Africana Periodical LiteratureSix databases: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women, Search Women Travelers to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, and Water in Africa. Files can be searched separately, or together through AfricaBib.
- Oxford Bibliography of African StudiesExtensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts in African Studies. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesMulti-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters, principally in Western languages on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Indexes publications from 1971-present.
- PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) with HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
This link opens in a new window
Two key article databases for Hispanic American, Latin American, and Caribbean Basin studies. Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, and Hispanics in the United States. While HAPI is an article index, PRISMA is a full text collection of scholarly journals. Together they cover a combination of peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed journals and periodicals. HAPI Indexes publications from 1966-present. - AgeLine1966-present. Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, and reports on aging and the aging population.
- Sociological Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles on all aspects of sociology, comparable in scope to SocINDEX, but includes more books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Indexes publications from 1952-present. - ATLA Religion Database and Catholic Periodical and Literature IndexATLA Religion Database Identifies journal articles and books on all aspects of Religious Studies. Indexing for some journal titles extends back into the 19th century. Indexes publications from 1949-present. Catholic Periodical and Literature Index identifies journal articles, book chapters, church publications, papal documents, and electronic resources about the Roman Catholic Church and its history. Indexes publications from 1981-present. For retrospective coverage: Print edition extends coverage back to 1968, with Catholic Periodical Index covering 1930-1966.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Anthropology Plus in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
- Anthropological Index Online (AIO) This link opens in a new windowThe Anthropological Index Online is the anthropological index to current periodicals held in the Anthropology Library at the Centre for Anthropology, The British Museum. The AIO is published by the Royal Anthropological Institute in cooperation with the Centre for Anthropology, The British Museum.
- Anthropology Online This link opens in a new windowAnthropology Online brings together written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies covering human behavior. It is an essential resource for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography.
Reference Sources
- The Oxford Handbook of History and Material Culture byCall Number: 907.2 ONLINEISBN: 9780197500125Publication Date: 2020
- The Oxford Handbook of Material Culture Studies byCall Number: 306 Ox22ISBN: 9780199218714Publication Date: 2010
- The Oxford Handbook of Disability History byCall Number: HV1552 .O94 2018ISBN: 9780190234959Publication Date: 2018
- The Cambridge History of Africa byCall Number: 960 ONLINEISBN: 9780521222150Publication Date: 1982Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.
- The Cambridge History of Latin America byCall Number: 980 ONLINEISBN: 0521232236Publication Date: 1984-Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.
- The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History byCall Number: 980 ONLINEISBN: 9780195166200Publication Date: 2010
- The Cambridge History of the Pacific Islanders byCall Number: 995 ONLINEISBN: 9781139055574Publication Date: 2008-Encyclopedic overview. Part of Cambridge Histories Online.
Digital Collections
- Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social MovementA collection of primary and secondary sources documenting the history of disability around the world. Document types include video recordings; histories; biographies; reference works; artwork; literary works; personal narratives, oral histories, diaries, and interviews; correspondence; organizational records; government documents; posters, pamphlets, brochures, and ephemera; curricular documents; research reports; periodicals and newspapers; speeches; photographs; and more. Covers 1492-present, with bulk of documents from the twentieth century.
Suggested Subject Headings
- People with disabilities -- Guatemala.
- Staffs (Sticks, canes, etc.) -- History.
- Philippines -- History.
- Philippines -- Civilization.
- Philippines -- Social conditions.
- Philippines -- Social life and customs.
- Guatemala -- History.
- Ghana -- History.
- Mali -- History.
- Guinea -- History.
Suggested Call Numbers for Browsing
- 959.9 (Philippines)
- 972.81 (Guatemala)
- 966.7 (Ghana)
- 966.23 (Mali)
- 966.52 (Guinea)
- 305.908 (People with disabiities)
- 617.033 (Assistive technologies)
- 305.26 (Elderly persons)
- 618.97 (Geriatrics)