The main article database for researching American history. Use to find journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
Combines the two standard indexes for research in communication and mass media studies: Communication Abstracts, and Communication and Mass Media Complete. Identifies books, journal articles, magazine articles, articles from trade magazines, and book reviews. Indexes publications 1900-present, with bulk of citations 1950-present.
Identifies journal articles on all aspects of sociology, comparable in scope to SocINDEX, but includes more books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Indexes publications from 1952-present.
Identifies journal articles, books, and conference papers, on all aspects of sociology, including sociological history, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family studies, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social structure, and social theory. Indexes publications from 1908-present.
Recommended Call Numbers
Recommended Subject Headings
American periodicals -- 20th century
American periodicals -- History -- 20th century.
Masculinity in mass media
Masculinity in popular culture
Mass media and sex
Men -- Periodicals -- Social aspects
Sex differences in mass media
Sex role in mass media
Women in mass media
Women’s mass media
Use these subject headings in the Library Catalog:
Use the Library Catalog to identify books, journals (but not journal articles), microform collections, and digital collections owned by the University of Illinois. The Library Catalog is the primary tool for exploring the collections of the University of Illinois Library, the second largest academic library collection in the United States. In the Library Catalog you can search for books by subject, and you identify the location within the Library of a particular book or journal. Books and journals are organized in the library by subject. Each item is assigned one or more subject headings and a unique call number. Subject headings are standardized terms from the Library of Congress. The call number is based on the Dewey Decimal Classification or Library of Congress Classification. Boolean operators must be capitalized if used: AND, OR, NOT. Interface automatically truncates some search terms unless Boolean operators are used within the same query line. You can also browse catalog records by call number, creating a "virtual shelf browsing" experience.