Map of Namibia
Travel Information
The U.S. Department of State provides information on traveling to various countries, including passport and visa requirements. Further information about Namibia can be found on their website.
UNICEF Education Budget Brief
- UNICEF Education Budget BriefEach year UNICEF, the United Nations Children's Fund, releases a budget brief reviewing the government of Namibia's expenditures on education. These detailed reports offer statistical analysis, recommendations, and trends seen with education spending.
Natural Disasters and School Emergency Drills
Flooding: Namibia is at risk of both coast and river flooding in the north. Monitor the local news for pertinent information.
Droughts, Extreme Heat, and Wildfires: These three natural disasters are becoming more common in Namibia with climate change. Temperatures are rising and water is becoming scarcer, causing these three phenomenon to exacerbate one another.
Education System Background Information
- Namibia's Ministry of Education, Arts and CultureThis online portal for the Ministry of Education provides information for students, details about the agency's response to the COVID-19 pandemic, upcoming events, and photo galleries.
- Namibia's National Institute for Educational DevelopmentThe National Institute for Educational Development (NIED) is a distinct group within the Ministry of Education, Arts and Culture that focuses on curriculum development. Based on research and classrooms trials, NIED creates thoughtful curriculum for learners of all ages, from elementary school students to instructors' continuing professional development.
Challenges and Issues Facing the Education System in South Africa by Call Number: LA1536 .C53 2014 (Main Stacks) and onlineISBN: 9780798304634Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Democracy and education in Namibia and beyond : a critical appraisal by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionISBN: 9789991642321Publication Date: 2017
Education in Southern Africa by Call Number: LA1536 .E35 2013 (Oak Street)ISBN: 1474235158Publication Date: 2015-11-05
- UNESCO Sustainable Goals for EducationData from UNESCO's Institute of Statistics provides detailed information on education, literacy, funding, and more for each country.
Cultural Norms
Culture and Customs of Namibia by Call Number: DT1552 .E38 2011 (Main Stacks)ISBN: 9780313358913Publication Date: 2011-07-22
Historical Dictionary of Namibia by Call Number: 968.81003 G916h2012 (Main Stacks) and onlineISBN: 9780810879904Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Namibia and Germany : negotiating the past by Call Number: UIUC Online Collection and DT1603 .K67 2015 (Main Stacks)ISBN: 9991642099Publication Date: 2015- The Peace Corps welcomes you to Namibia : a Peace Corps publication for new volunteers. byCall Number: Online ResourcePublication Date: 2013Although this online guide is aimed at incoming Peace Corps volunteers, it also contains general information about the country, culture, and customs relevant to any American traveler to Namibia.
- CIA World Factbook: NamibiaFor more general information about the country of Namibia, try the CIA World Factbook. This resource provides information about the geography of the country, including natural hazards. Some educational information is included underneath the "People and Society" section.
For more information about the history and cultural norms of Namibia search the library's catalog.
Try searching using the following keywords:
- Namibia -- social life and customs
- Windhoek (Namibia)
- Namibia -- History
- Namibia -- Politics and culture