Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is in your research toolkit?
The University Library subscribes to hundreds of research databases. As a UIUC student, you have access to all of them - anywhere, anytime. Since you are potentially looking at multiple time periods and education practices in other countries, the following databases should be in your research toolkit. Some of these databases may be searched at the same time.
Education Full Text
Provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. Indexing coverage begins in June 1983, abstracts are included beginning in the spring of 1994, and the full text of some journals is available beginning in January of 1996. Indexing and abstracting coverage is identical to that of Education Index and Education Abstracts.
Education Index Retrospective
A bibliographic database of more than half a century of indexing from an international range of English-language periodicals. Subjects covered include adult education, arts, comparative education, continuing education, curriculum, distance learning, educational law and litigation, elementary education, ethnic/multicultural education, government funding, higher education, language arts, literacy, parent-teacher relations, preschool education, school administration, science and mathematics, secondary education, special education, teacher education and evaluation, teaching methods, tests and measurements, and vocational education.
ERIC - EBSCO
ERIC is a Web-based digital library of free education-related sources of interest to educators, researchers, and the general public, and consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature. The collection is to be expanded to include full-texts of articles and other electronic resources such as audio and video materials.
International ERIC is an excellent resource for non-U.S. writing about education, particularly in Pacific Rim countries. Covering education since 1966 to the present, International ERIC consists of three separate databases: the Australian Education Index (1978 to present), ERIC (1966 to present), and PsycINFO (1806 to present). In addition to significant literature in the field of Australian and Oceania education, these indexes provide access to international topics in education. These indexes can be searched together or separately. Abstracts and some full-text available.
British Education Index
The British Education Index provides information on research, policy, and practice in education and training in the UK. Strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology, and special educational needs. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education. Sources include education and training journals, mostly published in the UK. Some international literature is included.
OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for books, papers, and statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD and contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998. The library includes education statistics compiled in the OECD's annual Education at a Glance publication.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997). Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat.
For additional resources, please consult the online Resources in Education Guide at the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library (SSHEL). This guide contains a larger listing of education-related databases that may be useful in your research.
External websites may also provide useful information. In addition to the links below, be sure to consult the website for the department or ministry of education of country to which you are traveling. Additional useful websites are linked in each country's section of this guide.
CIA World Factbook
This U.S. government resource is useful for finding current background information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, and communications of a country. Some information about the country's educational system may also be included.
This database is part of Eurydice and contains historical backgrounds and analyses of the various education systems of Europe.
Eurydice: The Information Network on Education in Europe
This comprehensive site offers information about the national education systems and policies throughout Europe. Included in the site are comparative analysis reports, key statistics, education reference tools, and news.
World Data on Education: Seventh Edition 2010-2011
This publication from UNESCO's International Bureau of Education provides detailed information on the education systems of 163 countries worldwide, with an emphasis on curricula and curriculum development processes.