Map of Argentina
Travel Information
The U.S. Department of State provides information on traveling to various countries, including passport and visa requirements. Further information about Argentina can be found on their website.
Spanish Language
Collins Spanish dictionary. by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionISBN: 0007382383Publication Date: 2009
- Rosetta Stone at University of IllinoisThis online language learning tool is available through the Literature and Languages Library under their quick-links section.
Natural Disasters and School Emergency Drills
Information about school emergency drills such as fire drills or drills for other natural disasters may not be available online. However, another way to be prepared is to be aware of some of the common natural disasters that occur in Argentina, some of which are listed below:
Earthquakes: There is a high risk of earthquakes in Argentina, with central western Argentina being the most active and intense region in the country.
Extreme Heat and Drought: Drought has become more frequent over the last decade in Argentina, exacerbating the effects of heatwaves.
Flooding: Floods are a common hazard in Argentina, and can occur due to heavy rainfall, river overflow, and coastal storms across most regions, including heavily populated areas.
Tornadoes: The provinces of Entre Ríos, Córdoba, Santa Fe, Le Pampa, and Greater Buenos Aires are located along the South American tornado alley. Central and northern Argentina see frequent tornadoes during the months of April to November.
Volcanoes: Risks associated with volcanoes are most prominent in western Argentina near the Andes mountains. In this area there is also the possibility of landslides.
Wildfires: As temperatures rise, wildfires have become a recurring issue in Argentina. In recent years the number and intensity of fires affecting all provinces has increased.
- Argentina National Disaster Preparedness Baseline AssessmentThis assessment was conducted by the Pacific Disaster Center in partnership with Argentina's Ministry of Security and Secretariat of Civil Protection. It includes information on natural hazards in the region.
Argentina Secretariat of Education
- Argentina Secretariat of EducationArgentina’s Secretariat of Education is operated under the Ministry of Human Capital and is responsible for educational policy across Argentina’s twenty-three provinces and the autonomous city of Buenos Aires. Their website provides information on the country’s educational structure, statistics and news related to education, and resources for students and teachers—including scholarships, information on higher education, and teaching materials.
- Educate PortalThe Educate Portal is maintained by the Argentina Secretariat of Education and provides educational resources for families and educators. There are multiple toolkits, interviews, and digital libraries intended to help teachers develop their pedagogy, giving a useful perspective on teaching in Argentina. The website also has a strong focus on literacy education and includes an overview of current literacy plans across Argentina's provinces.
Information on the Education System
- English Language Education in Primary Schooling in ArgentinaThis 2016 article’s focus is on English language education in primary schools in Argentina, including curriculum policies and legislation. It also includes a helpful historical overview of the country’s education system.
- Equality of Educational Opportunities at Public Primary Schools in ArgentinaThis article from 2013 discusses the quality of education offered across jurisdictions in Argentina and the disparity that exists in the distribution of educational resources. It provides a valuable perspective on current issues in the education system.
- UNESCO Sustainable Goals for EducationData from UNESCO's Institute of Statistics provides detailed information on education, literacy, funding, and more for each country.
Examining Educational Policy in Latin America by
This book synthesizes and analyzes the complex map of educational reforms in Latin America in the first two decades of the 21st century. The book offers insights into the agendas, processes and political economy of educational reforms in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Mexico and Peru. Written by renowned contributors from each country, chapters present systematic, critical and reflective accounts of an intense period of education reforms. The book fills a gap in educational research and provides a systematic study that compares the cases analyzed. The first broad, comparative collection of its kind, the book is well-suited to courses in international and comparative education policy.
Call Number: UIUC Online ResourceISBN: 1003225780Publication Date: 2021
Going to School in Latin America by
Looks at what it is like to attend school in Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, El Salvador, Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, and Uruguay; providing an overview of each country, and discussing the historical development of its educational system, modern school practices, curriculums, challenges, and other topics.
Call Number: 370.98 G561 (Main Stacks)ISBN: 9780313338151Publication Date: 2007
History and Cultural Norms
- CIA World Factbook: ArgentinaFor more general information about the country of Argentina, try the CIA World Factbook. This resource provides information about Argentina's history and an overview of important areas such as its government, economy, and security. Some educational information is included under the "People and Society" section.
The Argentina Reader by
This diverse collection brings together songs, articles, comic strips, scholarly essays, poems, and short stories. Many selections deal with the history of indigenous Argentines, workers, women, blacks, and other groups often ignored in descriptions of the country. The Argentina Reader covers the Spanish colonial regime; the years of nation building following Argentina's independence from Spain in 1810; and the sweeping progress of economic growth and cultural change that made Argentina, by the turn of the twentieth century, the most modern country in Latin America. The bulk of the collection focuses on the twentieth century: on the popular movements that enabled Peronism and the revolutionary dreams of the 1960s and 1970s; on the dictatorship from 1976 to 1983 and the accompanying culture of terror and resistance; and, finally, on the contradictory and disconcerting tendencies unleashed by the principles of neoliberalism and the new global economy.
Call Number: 982 Ar3732 (Main Stacks)ISBN: 0822328852Publication Date: 2002
Culture and Customs of Argentina by
Argentina, one of the most dynamic societies in Latin America, is known for its impressive level of cultural production. This examination of the social and cultural institutions of Argentine society contains a series of comprehensive and informative essays that focus on the most important forms of cultural production in terms of major works, major artists, and major venues. Students and interested readers will discover what is unique about Argentina's culture and customs in this thorough and engaging overview. The authors describe the issues that have dominated Argentine society and place everything in its proper context by including a chronology of major historic events. This volume also contains chapters on Religion, Social Customs, Broadcasting and Print Media, Cinema, Literature, Performing Arts, and Art (including Sculpture, Photography, Architecture, Painting).
Call Number: 982.06 F812c (Main Stacks)ISBN: 0313303193Publication Date: 1998
Culture Shock! Argentina by
Culture Shock! Argentina brings you more than a few steps closer to the country, the people and the culture. Most importantly, it is your survival guide to living there. Argentina is more than just footballer Diego Maradona or beautiful Buenos Aires.
Call Number: UIUC Online ResourceISBN: 9814346772Publication Date: 2011
A History of Argentina in the Twentieth Century by
A History of Argentina in the Twentieth Century, originally published in Buenos Aires in 1994, attained instant status as a classic. Written as an introductory text for university students and the general public, it is a profound reflection on the "Argentine dilemma" and the challenges that the country faces as it tries to rebuild democracy. Luis Alberto Romero brilliantly and painstakingly reconstructs and analyzes Argentina's tortuous, often tragic modern history, from the "alluvial society" born of mass immigration, to the dramatic years of Juan and Eva Perón, to the recent period of military dictatorship. For this second English-language edition, Romero has written new chapters covering the Kirchner decade (2003-13), the upheavals surrounding the country's 2001 default on its foreign debt, and the tumultuous years that followed as Argentina sought to reestablish a role in the global economy while securing democratic governance and social peace.
Call Number: UIUC Online Resource and 982.06 R664b:E2013 (Main Stacks)ISBN: 0271062282Publication Date: 2013
Quality of Life in Argentina by
This book studies inequalities in the quality of life of the Argentine population at the regional level. It considers the six regions of the National Statistical System: Northwest, Northeast, Cuyo, Pampa, Metropolitan, and Patagonia. A series of thematic maps is provided and interpreted, which are related to: a. socioeconomic issues (education, health, housing) and b. environmental aspects (environmental problems and recreational resources). These dimensions (socioeconomic and environmental) are integrated into quality of life indexes that allow the comparison of the situation of the population residing in any region of the national territory.
Call Number: UIUC Online ResourceISBN: 9783031482113Publication Date: 2024
Argentine Education Periodicals
The following open access journals are all published through higher education institutions in Argentina and provide contemporary perspectives on issues of teaching and education within the country.
- Educación, Formación e Investigación (Education, Training, and Research)This journal is published biannually by the General Directorate of Higher Education of Córdoba. It publishes research focusing on practices and experiences in teacher training and professional development in education.
- Itinerarios Educativos : la Revista Anual del INDI (Educational Itineraries : Annual Journal of INDI)This journal reports the research and activities of the Institute for Development and Teacher Training and has a strong focus on pedagogy. It is published through the National University of Litoral in Argentina.
- Revista IRICEThis journal publishes research on education sciences in Spanish, English, and Portuguese. It is edited by the Rosario Institute for Research in Educational Sciences, part of the National University of Rosario in Argentina.
- Revista Pilquen Sección Psicopedagogía (Pilquen Journal Psychopedagogy Section)This journal is published by the Regional University Center for the Atlantic Zone of the National University of Comahue in Argentina. It focuses on research in education and psychopedagogy.
Finding More Resources in the Library Catalog
To find more information about the educational system and culture of Argentina, try these tips for searching the library catalog to find books, magazines or journals, DVDs, and many other resources:
Here are some keywords that may be useful in your search:
-
Argentina -- History
-
Argentina -- Social life and customs
-
Education -- Argentina
-
Education -- Latin America
-
Politics and culture -- Argentina