Reference Sources
Start your research with one of these reference sources about international education. Some of these resources are available online and others are available in print on campus. Generally print reference sources are non-circulating, meaning they cannot be checked out and must be used in the library, so make sure to take this into account when planning your research!
International Encyclopedia of Education by Call Number: Online ResourceISBN: 9780080448947Publication Date: 2010
International Education by Call Number: Q. LB15 .I565 2013 SSHEL Reference Non-circulatingISBN: 9780765620491Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionEducation at a Glance: OECD Indicators is the authoritative source for information on the state of education around the world. This annual publication looks at who participates in education, what is spent on it, how education systems operate, and the results achieved. Also provided are indicators on a wide range of outcomes, from comparisons of students’ performance in key subject areas to the impact of education on earnings and on adults’ chances of employment. The book includes links to spreadsheets containing the background data.
The SAGE Handbook of Research in International Education (Second Edition) by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionISBN: 9781473943513Publication Date: 2015This handbook analyzes the origins, interpretations, and contributions of international education and explores key contemporary developments. Fully updated and revised, it includes contributions from research in South East Asia, the Middle East, China, Japan, Australasia, and North America. It is also available in print in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library Stacks (LC1090 .S29 2015).
Early Childhood Education by Call Number: 372.2103 Ea76 (Main Stacks)ISBN: 0313331006Publication Date: 2007This four-volume handbook discusses key historical and contemporary issues, research, theoretical perspectives, national policies, and practices in the field of early childhood education.
Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education by Call Number: Q. 370.117 En192 (Social Sciences Health, and Education Library)ISBN: 9781412981521Publication Date: 2012This encyclopedia, available in the Social Sciences, Health, and Education Library's reference collection, contains 695 entries with cross-references and recommended readings that present research and statistics, case studies and best practices, policies and programs at pre- and post-secondary levels. Diversity is a worldwide phenomenon, and to illuminate the many aspects of diversity, this volume contains entries from different nations in the world in order to illuminate the myriad aspects of diversity. This four-volume reference work is the definitive reference for diversity issues in education in the around the world.
Bibliographies
If you're unsure where to start on a complex research project, try consulting a bibliography. Bibliographies are like print databases that allow you to see what articles, books, dissertations, and reviews have been published on a specific topic. By consulting both general and subject specific bibliographies, you can efficiently browse through previous research on any topic. The research is already done for you, and all you have to do is browse these lists of titles and collect relevant citations for your project. Try browsing these education-related bibliographies to jump-start your research:
- Oxford Bibliography of EducationExtensively annotated bibliographies and bibliographic essays authored by experts on all aspects of education. The collection of bibliographies can be searched or browsed to find topics of interest. Part of Oxford Bibliographies Online.
- Education byCall Number: UIUC Online ResourceISBN: 9780313022777Publication Date: 2000Focusing on English-language publications of the last decade, this guide identifies and describes key reference and information sources in the field of education today. This title is also available in the Main Stacks (011.02 B983e 2000).