LibGuides: Pollution Prevention 101: Where to start

Search tips from an info pro

Although most people can find what they need eventually when searching the web, the strategies outlined below will help improve the techniques of even the most experienced searchers.

Use your time wisely

If you're a busy professional and haven't found it in 10-15 minutes, ask a librarian. Students, research is part of the learning process. Give yourself at least 45 minutes before throwing in the towel and going to a librarian for help.

Don't believe everything you read

Choose your resources carefully. Library resources are evaluated before purchase. Don't assume that the web has the most recent (or accurate) information.
Trust, but verify. Always check to see how recently a page has been updated. Always look for information about the author of the page. Ensure that the source is accurate. Check out this short video on ways to evaluate information on the web.

Know what tool to use and when to use it

Use a directory or guide with curated links (like this one) when you're looking for lots of information on a particular topic or you aren't quite sure where to start.
Use the database resources at your local public, university, or community college library, especially if you're looking for journal literature. Google Scholar is also a good option. Use synonyms and advanced search features here too.Your local library's interlibrary loan service will help you get full-text copies of articles that you locate using these databases.
Use a search engine when looking for something specific, an unusual term, or an exact phrase.
- Use advanced search features to refine your search or filter your results by type of content. Some options include web, images, maps, videos, news, books, places, blogs, discussions, applications, and patents.
- Try variations on your search terms: "pollution prevention" "waste reduction" "source reduction" "waste minimization" "zero waste"
- Below are some particularly useful Google search tricks. Find links to more search tips on the General Search Tools tab below.
  - Site search: Use site: to restrict your search to a specific web site. Example: “pollution prevention” site:epa.gov
  - Exclude a word: Add a dash (-) before a word to exclude all results that include that word. Example: “solvent use” printers –computers
  - Use Google as your dictionary: If you're looking for a definition, try the define: operator. Example: define:biomimicry
  - Not sure why Google sent you to a particular page? Use [Ctrl][f] to search for your terms on a web page or in a PDF document.

It isn't always on the Internet

Use your local library's catalog and commercial databases, WorldCat (link on the General Search tab below), and Google Scholar to identify relevant print materials, including books, government reports, and journal articles. Much of the pollution prevention information published in the pre-Web era is still helpful, particularly in industries that still use twentieth-century production processes.

City of Toronto ChemTRAC Tools and Information for Businesses
ChemTRAC requires businesses to report the use and release of 25 priority substances (chemicals) that are in Toronto’s air environment at levels of concern for health to Toronto Public Health (TPH) each year under the Environmental Disclosure and Reporting Bylaw. The ChemTRAC program has developed pollution prevention guides for a number of different industrial sectors to help them reduce emissions. Includes guides for food manufacturing, auto body shops, metal processing, and general manufacturing.
Finding aids from the Librarian's Environmental Toolkit
Databases and finding aids to locate a wide variety of environmental information.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Digital archive of EPA's publications. Also searchable via Google using their site search feature. Type your search terms into the Google search box, followed by site:epa.gov.
OSTI.gov
OSTI.gov is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
P2 InfoHouse
Searchable online collection of more than 50,000 pollution prevention (P2) related publications, fact sheets, case studies and technical reports.

Filter Your Google Search Results
If you want to filter and customize the search results you see, use the options and tools at the top of the Google results page. This Help page explains these features in detail.
Find books and reports in WorldCat
Find books from libraries worldwide. Request copies through your local library's interlibrary loan service.
Google Advanced Search
Find pages that are similar to a URL, search pages you've visited, use operators in the search box, and customize your search settings.
Google for Academic Research
The librarians at the University of Illinois developed this guide that explains the basics of advanced search and image, as well as tips for searching other Google products, including Scholar, Books, and Dataset. Includes links to other search engines.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources. Use your local library's interlibrary loan service to get full-text of paywalled articles.
Google Search Help
Google Search’s Help Center lets you ask questions about how to search Google more effectively.
Google Search Operators
A complete list of Google's search operators.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is an online database that attempts to provide "Universal Access to All Knowledge." The Internet Archive collaborates with the Smithsonian and Library of Congress, to provide access to video, audio, live music, and text. It was also recently designated a federal depository library.