LibGuides: Pollution Prevention 101: Statistics & Data Sets

Toxics Release Inventory

TRI is a database containing data on disposal or other releases of over 650 toxic chemicals from thousands of U.S. facilities and information about how facilities manage those chemicals through recycling, energy recovery, and treatment.

Basics of TRI Reporting
Exploring the Toxics Release Inventory’s Pollution Prevention (P2) Information: A New Resource and a P2 Provider’s Perspective This webinar provides an overview of the pollution prevention and waste management data collected by the TRI Program and introduce participants to a new search tool that makes this information easy to access, visualize, and use. Additionally, participants will hear about the Minnesota Technical Assistance Program (MnTAP), how they use the TRI information, and how they plan to integrate the new pollution prevention tool into their outreach activities.Includes a link to the archived webinar; speaker slides; and a webinar transcript.
P2 Reporting Tip Sheet
Pollution Prevention (P2) and TRI Under the Pollution Prevention Act of 1990 (PPA), TRI collects information to track industry progress in reducing waste generation and moving towards safer waste management alternatives. When providing this information, many facilities choose to describe the measures they have taken to prevent pollution and reduce the amount of toxic chemicals entering the environment. As a result, TRI serves as a tool for identifying effective environmental practices and highlighting pollution prevention successes.
TRI Covered Industries
TRI Data and Tools
TRI Facitlities Portal
TRI Listed Chemicals

Statistics and Data Sets

Canadian Industrial Energy End-Use Data and Analysis Centre
Census Links (international census info)
Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors (AP-42) AP-42, Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors, has been published since 1972 as the primary compilation of EPA's emission factor information. It contains emission factors and process information for more than 200 air pollution source categories. A source category is a specific industry sector or group of similar emitting sources. The emission factors have been developed and compiled from source test data, material balance studies, and engineering estimates.
Current Industrial Reports The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products.
Data.gov Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
ONEMercury: A Search Tool for Scientific Data DataONE is a community driven program providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data. DataONE promotes best practices in data management through responsive educational resources and materials.
Guide to Data Sources for Manufacturing from the U.S. Census Bureau This Library of Congress guide is designed as a starting point for those looking to do research on industries. It includes links to U.S. Census Bureau data sets related to industry.
Manufacturing Energy and Carbon Footprints Manufacturers often rely on energy-intensive technologies and processes. AMO conducts a range of analyses to explore energy use and trends by sector. Tools include Manufacturing Energy and Carbon Footprints; Static Manufacturing Energy Sankey Diagrams; Dynamic Manufacturing Energy Sankey Tool; Energy & Environmental Profiles; Bandwidth Studies; and Large Energy User Manufacturing Facilities by State.
Energy Information Administration Energy statistics and data sets
Energy Information Administration Consumption and Efficiency Channel
Energy Information Administration Environment Channel
Envirofacts
Facility Level Information on GreenHouse gases Tool (FLIGHT) FLIGHT provides information about greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from large facilities in the U.S. These facilities are required to report annual data about GHG emissions to EPA as part of the Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program (GHGRP).
FedStats
Greenhouse Gas Emissions Information and data about greenhouse gas emissions are available at the global, national, facility, and individual levels.
RTKnet Databases Search box at the bottom of the TRI main page allows users to locate toxics information based on address, state, metro area, watershed, tribal land, or facility name.
MyEnvironment
National Centers for Environmental Information NOAA OneStop can be used to search for any NOAA data with a metadata record. It is an interoperable tool designed to explore data from across scientific disciplines, formats, time periods, and locations. OneStop’s wide range of filtering options can pinpoint specific collections or granules that may not be discoverable in other mediums.
National Minerals Information Center Statistics and information on the worldwide supply of, demand for, and flow of minerals and materials essential to the U.S. economy, the national security, and protection of the environment.
North American Industry Classification System The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Sources of Greenhouse Gas Emissions Includes GHG emissions data for electricity, transportation, industry, commercial, residential, agricultural and land use & forestry.
State of the Climate The State of the Climate is a collection of monthly summaries recapping climate-related occurrences on both a global and national scale.
U.S. EPA Clearinghouse for Inventories & Emissions Factors The National Emissions Inventory (NEI) is a comprehensive and detailed estimate of air emissions of both Criteria and Hazardous air pollutants from all air emissions sources. The NEI is prepared every three years by the USEPA based primarily upon emission estimates and emission model inputs provided by State, Local, and Tribal air agencies for sources in their jurisdictions, and supplemented by data developed by the USEPA.
U.S. EPA Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program EPA’s Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program will help us better understand where greenhouse gas emissions are coming from and will improve our ability to make informed policy, business, and regulatory decisions. With EPA’s GHG data publication tool, you can review information quickly and easily by filtering GHG data in a variety of ways, including by facility, industry, location, or gas.
U.S. EPA Where You Live
U.S. Manufacturing Energy Use and Greenhouse Gas Emissions Analysis This report documents the energy pathway, from supply through demand, for several of the most energy-intensive manufacturing sectors. It captures step-by-step energy use and losses from offsite sources, onsite generation, and process and nonprocess end uses. A key output of this analysis is the “footprint” that graphically displays energy use and associated greenhouse gas (GHG) combustion emissions across U.S. manufacturing process and nonprocess end uses. Areas of high energy losses and GHG emissions represent central targets of opportunity for more advanced, efficient energy systems.
United Nations Environmental Statistics Division
Water Quality Data Portal The Water Quality Portal (WQP) is the premiere source of discrete water-quality data in the United States and beyond. This cooperative service integrates publicly available water-quality data from the United States Geological Survey (USGS), the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), and over 400 state, federal, tribal, and local agencies.

Pollution Prevention 101: Statistics & Data Sets

About Statistics and Data Sets

Toxics Release Inventory

Statistics and Data Sets