Pollution Prevention 101

Reports and publications from the Advanced Materials and Manufacturing Technologies Office (AMMTO) and its predecessor, the Advanced Manufacturing Office. AMMTO releases a variety of reports and publications to describe the results of its research and development, summarize data collected, and educate the public about the state of advanced manufacturing and domestic supply chains. Database is sortable by publication type.

To find resources related to a specific technology or resource type, use the check boxes to filter results. You can also search by author's last name and other keywords through the search box in the top right of the site. "Featured" resources are shown first, followed by the most recent.

ITAC Case Studies are detailed summaries of IAC assessment success stories involving both assessments and recommendations of significance.

Digital archive of EPA's publications. Also searchable via Google using their site search feature. Type your search terms into the Google search box, followed by site:epa.gov.

Searchable online collection of more than 50,000 pollution prevention (P2) related publications, fact sheets, case studies and technical reports.

A set of pollution prevention options (Best Management Practices) that can be used to save money by reducing waste. Many of the options are submitted by people in the private sector who have found solutions to a variety of problems.

The SUBSPORT Plus Case Story Database provides substitution examples as well as information on alternative substances and technologies from enterprises, published reports and other sources. The case stories can serve as inspiration and offer concrete help to companies or organisations searching for substitutes to hazardous chemicals and may also prove useful in e.g. procurement and in legislative processes.

A wide range of pollution prevention activities can be implemented at an agricultural establishment, ranging from those that are fairly simple and inexpensive (such as material substitution) to those that are more complex. Includes links to case studies and best practices for the agriculture sector.

This collection of DOE Building Technologies Office success stories highlights the positive impact of their work with businesses, industry partners, universities, and research labs to increase the use and effectiveness of affordable, energy efficient technologies and solutions. Learn how these innovative solutions are saving homeowners and businesses money on their utility bills, improving our energy independence, and protecting the environment.

The Climate Leadership Awards is a national awards program that recognizes and incentivizes exemplary corporate, organizational, and individual leadership in response to climate change. Leaders recognized represent a wide array of industries, including construction, finance, manufacturing, defense, transportation, retail, energy and technology, as well as local government, higher education, and individuals who are tackling climate challenges. Recipients have demonstrated leadership in managing and reducing greenhouse gas emissions in internal operations and throughout the supply chain, as well as integrating climate resilience into their operating strategies.

Many organizations have found that implementing lean concepts and tools results in improvements in environmental performance, even when lean activities were not initiated for environmental reasons. Since environmental savings are often not part of the "business case" for lean improvement activities, however, organizations implementing lean do not necessarily quantify the environmental performance gains associated with their lean initiatives.

The Federal Energy Management Program (FEMP) offers case studies featuring federal agencies that have successfully implemented energy- and water-efficient technologies and measures into their buildings and operations. Examples of the successful use of FEMP financing mechanisms are also available.

Overview of green chemistry and product design. Includes links to brief summaries of green chemistry curriculum grants awarded to Minnesota universities. From the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Collection of program booklets from ISTC's Governor's Sustainability/Pollution Prevention Awards. Each booklet includes brief descriptions of the winning projects.

Includes case studies and other general information on P2 and sustainability.

The Cumulative P2 Intern Project Index cross references intern host companies, along the side, with project types across the top. When you click in the year, that is cross referenced with the specific P2 Case Summary with all the project information.

Project summaries from the Kansas Pollution Prevention Institute's intern program.

Includes links to intern summaries and presentations.

Print copies of early MnTAP intern projects from the late 1980s. Most are for metal finishing and coating operations and may contain have valuable information. Contact your local library to obtain copies through interlibrary loan.

To celebrate P2 Week, MnTAP shares a mini-webinar each day to highlight a success story in one aspect of pollution prevention.

Customer success stories and impacts collected using information from the independent NIST MEP survey

This brochure presents case studies of five projects carried out under the pilot program in FY 1991 to demonstrate how municipalities can benefit from pollution prevention. The case studies outline the goals and strategies employed by each of the grant recipients. In addition, they highlight program accomplishments and resolution of problems encountered by recipients, where possible.

Collection of summaries of P2 demonstrations, assessments, and research projects conducted by U.S. EPA's P2 Research Branch from the late 1980s-early 1990s.

The Waste Reduction Innovative Technology Evaluation Program (WRITE) was a pilot program
with six (6) states and one (1) local government, to identify priority needs at the respective governmental level, find promising waste minimization technologies and perform an evaluation to determine performance, pollution prevention (P2) impact and costs. The research concentrated on environmental problems and (P2) opportunities for small to medium-sized businesses, technology at pilot- or full-scale, and use of voluntary business/EPA partnerships. A total of 41 technologies were tested and evaluated. Industries included were coating, depainting, electronics, metal plating and finishing, printing, surface cleaning, steel, and a number of miscellaneous categories.

This project entailed the analysis of five assembly case studies and two metal fabrication case studies at the Boeing Company, an enterprise that has adopted, lean manufacturing principles. The case studies describe various lean efforts at Boeing’s Auburn Machine Fabrication Shop and its Everett airplane assembly plant, and demonstrate how Boeing implements and
utilizes lean strategies in its manufacturing settings. The case studies also describe various resource productivity gains associated with the identified lean activities, and several obstacles encountered by the company in its efforts to implement specific lean projects.

The concept of pollution prevention, or "P2," signifies a new, proactive environmental mindset that targets the causes, rather than the consequences, of polluting activity. While anecdotal evidence suggests that P2 opportunities exist and that many have been pursued, there is also the perception that the pace of P2 is far too slow. To explore that claim—and to shed light on barriers to P2 innovation—this paper presents case studies of industrial P2 projects that were in some way unsuccessful. While based on a very limited sample, the evidence contradicts the view that firms suffer from organizational weaknesses that make them unable to appreciate the financial benefits of P2 investments. Instead, the projects foundered because of significant unresolved technical difficulties, marketing challenges, and regulatory barriers. Based on evidence from the cases, the paper concludes with a discussion of environmental policy reforms likely to promote P2 innovation..

Many organizations have found that implementing lean concepts and tools results in improvements in environmental performance, even when lean activities were not initiated for environmental reasons. Since environmental savings are often not part of the "business case" for lean improvement activities, however, organizations implementing lean do not necessarily quantify the environmental performance gains associated with their lean initiatives. This page includes examples of the types of environmental benefits that result from lean implementation

The Massachusetts Toxics Use Reduction Act (TURA) program works with Massachusetts businesses and communities to reduce the use of toxic chemicals. The TURA program is designed to help protect workers, public health, and the environment while also promoting the competitiveness of Massachusetts businesses. The economic benefits of pollution prevention in general, and of TURA program activities in particular, have been documented in a variety of publications. This overview summarizes and updates selected TURA program resources on the business impacts of toxics use reduction and resource conservation.

Case studies from many projects done by the Toxics Use Reduction Institute.

Case studies, webinars, tools and articles about P2 solutions, practices, and technologies from EPA grantees.

WasteWise launched in 1994 and has more than 1,700 members in more than 54 industry sectors. WasteWise partners have reported more than 120 million tons of waste reduced and made significant achievements reducing their impact on global climate change. The success stories here are of WasteWise partners who have made significant progress toward their waste reduction goals. This page has been archived by U.S. EPA and is no longer updated.

Case studies from the Office of Naval Research's Best Manufacturing Practices (BMP) Program, an industry and government cooperative technology transfer effort. The primary goal of the initiative was to identify best practices, document them, and then encourage industry and government to share information about them. Includes manufacturers (particularly aerospace) as well as base operations. Available online through the Defense Technical Information Center.

Print copies available through interlibrary loan from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library.

The Safer Choice Partner of the Year Awards recognize organizations that advance the goal of chemical safety through exemplary participation in or promotion of Safer Choice, which helps consumers, businesses, and purchasers find products that perform well and are safer for human health and the environment.