LibGuides: Pollution Prevention 101: Energy data and statistics

About the Energy Information Administration

EIA provides a wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest. Although EIA data tables are available for download, most of the information is available in reports and analyses.

Manufacturing Energy Consumption Survey

The Manufacturing Energy Consumption Survey (MECS) is a national sample survey that collects information on the stock of U.S. manufacturing establishment, their energy-related building characteristics, and their energy consumption and expenditures.

Manufacturing Energy Consumption Survey (MECS)
The Manufacturing Energy Consumption Survey (MECS) is a national sample survey that collects information on the stock of U.S. manufacturing establishment, their energy-related building characteristics, and their energy consumption and expenditures.
MECS Data
Covers the 50 States and the District of Columbia. Surveys are conducted every three years.
Chemical Industry Analysis
The chemical industries are a cornerstone of the U.S. economy, converting raw materials such as oil, natural gas, air, water, metals, and minerals into thousands of various products. Chemicals are key materials for producing an extensive assortment of consumer goods.
Steel Industry Analysis
The steel industry is critical to the U.S. economy. Steel is the material of choice for many elements of construction, transportation, manufacturing, and a variety of consumer products. It is the backbone of bridges, skyscrapers, railroads, automobiles, and appliances. Most grades of steel used today - particularly high-strength steels that are lighter and more versatile - were not available a decade ago.
U.S. Manufacturing Energy Use and Greenhouse Gas Emissions Analysis
This 2012 report documents the energy pathway, from supply through demand, for several of the most energy-intensive manufacturing sectors. It captures step-by-step energy use and losses from offsite sources, onsite generation, and process and nonprocess end uses. A key output of this analysis is the “footprint” that graphically displays energy use and associated greenhouse gas (GHG) combustion emissions across U.S. manufacturing process and nonprocess end uses. Areas of high energy losses and GHG emissions represent central targets of opportunity for more advanced, efficient energy systems.

Other energy data and statistics from EIA

Energy Information Administration Consumption and Efficiency Channel
Links to residential, commercial building, and manufacturing energy consumption surveys, as well as energy and electricity consumption data, analyses, and projections.

Canadian Energy and Emissions Data Centre (CEEDC)

The Canadian Energy and Emissions Data Centre (CEEDC, formerly the Canadian Industrial Energy End-Use Data and Analysis Centre) is a non-profit organization funded through government and industry sponsorship. It was established in 1993 through an initiative by Natural Resources Canada to develop a system of National Energy Use Database centers. It's part of the Energy and Materials Research Group in the School of Resource and Environmental Management. They're located within the Faculty of Environment at Simon Fraser University.

CEEDC Biofuels and Solid Biomass Data
This database provides Canadian data on biomass-derived energy sources including liquid biofuels, solid biomass, and biogas/biomethane.
CEEDC Database on Energy, Emissions, and Production for Canadian Industry
These data are obtained by CEEDC from a number of sources, including Statistics Canada and Natural Resources Canada. Searchable by NAICS code.
CEEDC Innovative Energy Facilities
This database combines information on district energy, cogeneration, renewable electricity, and biofuel production. Data is searchable and interactive; instantly filter data about many of the most advanced electricity and thermal installations across the country. Different views provide a drill-down on specific technology types, while the full dataset can be easily downloaded for further analysis.