The Boneyard Creek is a stream in the Vermilion watershed located in Champaign County, IL, flowing into the Saline Branch of the Salt Fork River, which in turn flows into the Vermilion River. The Boneyard basin contains portions of Urbana, Champaign, and the University of Illinois campus, and the creek's watershed is completely urbanized. Flooding and water quality have been issues of concern for the communities through which it flows.
The Boneyard Creek Bibliography was created by then Illinois State Water Survey's (ISWS) Librarian Pat Gobert, in 1998. Gobert gathered and provided detailed annotations for published and unpublished documents dating from 1915 to 1998 which described the history and management of the stream. Gobert's bibliography was used as the basis for this collection, for which documents not restricted by copyright were digitized. Digitization was performed by the University Library.
- Boneyard Creek (Champaign-Urbana, Illinois) Select Management Documents (1915-2000)Select documents from the Boneyard Creek Bibliography have been digitized and are available via the University Library's Digital Collections portal.
Protozoa of the Salt Fork and its Tributaries [thesis presented for a B.S. in Zoology) by
Publication Date: 1900The work focuses on Boneyard Creek, and provides a description of the creek habitat and biota.
- Inventory and analysis of urban water damage problems: city of Champaign, Champaign County, Illinois (1981)Analysis by the Army Corps of Engineers of flooding events and damage of 3 drainages, including the Boneyard Creek.
- Nationwide Urban Runoff Project, Champaign, Illinois: Assessment of the Impact of Urban Storm Runoff on an Agricultural Receiving StreamPublication date: 1983
ISWS Contract Report CR 319 - Determination of Boneyard Creek flow capacity by hydraulic performance graph
by Ben Chie Yen and Juan A. GonzalezPublication date: 1994
WRC Research Report no. 219 - Report on Boneyard Creek Improvement PlanIllinois Department of Natural Resources, Office of Water Resources, 1998. IDNR/SES/98-002
- Using Observed Postconstruction Peak Discharges to Evaluate a Hydrologic and Hydraulic Design Model, Boneyard Creek, Champaign and Urbana, IllinoisPublication date: 2011
Prepared in cooperation with the City of Champaign, Illinois, the City of Urbana, Illinois, and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Boneyard Bridge, ca. 1907
From the University Archives Photographic Subject File.
Arboretum and Boneyard Creek, ca. 1893
From the University Archives Photographic Subject File.
Boneyard flood, ca. 1910
From the University Archives Photographic Subject File.
Aerial photograph from June 1940 of Champaign-Urbana; confluence of Boneyard Creek with Saline Branch is visible in the upper right quadrant.
From 1937-1947 Illinois Historical Aerial Photography, in the Illinois Geospatial Clearinghouse.
Boneyard Creek Data
- Boneyard Creek at Urbana IL, monitoring station (USGS)Gage height, discharge, and precipitation data