IDEALS Metadata Policy last revised July 2014
Deposit of materials to IDEALS requires a minimum set of descriptive information (metadata) to be provided at the point of deposit. Some of this metadata will be automatically generated by the software used by IDEALS; other pieces will be provided by the depositor. See the Required Metadata Fields for IDEALS table below for more information. The metadata will be indexed and will be used in both the search and browse functions of IDEALS. In addition, the metadata will be made available for services to gather and include in external databases through the use of the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (IDEALS OAI data provider). The metadata is also available for search engines to index and provide in external search services. Additional metadata fields are also available. These may or may not be applicable to deposited resources and are not required.
Metadata fields in IDEALS have instructions in the submission process, including for those that require particular forms. Using controlled vocabularies and forms makes metadata more accessible by search. Our page on Controlled Vocabularies and Standards in Use assists with some of these fields.
See also the Metadata Best Practices.
Specific metadata fields such as abstracts may be subject to copyright. IDEALS does not provide its metadata under an open license at this point.
|
Deposit Interface |
Metadata Element |
Depositor or Software Supplied |
Recommendation for Use |
Repeatable? |
Free Text/Controlled |
Display Label |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Title |
dc.title |
Depositor Supplied |
Required. The main title of the resource. An additional title may also be supplied (for example, a translation). |
Yes, depositor may supply alternate title |
Free text |
Title |
|
Date of Publication or Distribution |
dc.date.issued |
Depositor supplied |
Required. Date of publication or first public distribution. |
Yes, but not from deposit interface |
Issue Date |
|
|
Not available |
dc.date.accessioned |
Software supplied |
Required. Date resource was first deposited into IDEALS |
No |
Not Displayed |
|
|
Not available |
dc.date.available |
Software supplied |
Required. Date resource was made available in IDEALS. This may be different from date.accessioned if resource went through workflow process |
Yes, but not from deposit interface |
Date Available in IDEALS |
|
|
Subject Keywords |
dc.subject |
Depositor supplied |
Required. At least one subject term is required |
Yes |
Free text, although controlled vocabularies are encouraged. |
Subject(s) |
|
Identifiers: URI or URL |
dc.identifier.uri |
Software supplied (Depositor may supply additional URIs) |
Required. Contains the handle assigned by IDEALS. |
Yes. Depositor may point to additional URLs in the Identifier field if desired. |
URI |
|
|
Not available |
dc.description.provenance |
Software supplied |
Required. Contains information about the files deposited including checksums and who deposited. |
Yes |
System generated text that may be altered if needed. |
Not Displayed |
|
Type |
dc.type |
Depositor supplied |
Required |
Yes |
Type |
|
|
Not available |
dc.format.mimetype |
Software supplied |
Required. Registered MIME type identifiers. Encoding scheme (MIME) in use. |
Yes |
System supplied based on file extension. |
Not Displayed |
| Deposit Interface | Metadata Element | Depositor or Software Supplied | Recommendation for Use | Repeatable? | Free Text/Controlled |
Display Label |
| Title | dc.title | Depositor Supplied | Required. The main title of the resource. An additional title may also be supplied (for example, a translation). | Yes, depositor may supply alternate title | Free text | Title |
| Date Published / Disseminated | dc.date.issued | Depositor supplied | Required. Date of publication or first public distribution. | Yes, but not from deposit interface | Controlled | Issue Date |
| Type |
dc.type | Depositor supplied | Required | Yes | Controlled | Type |
| Subject Keywords | dc.subject | Depositor supplied | Required. At least one subject term is required | Yes | Free text, although controlled vocabularies are encouraged. | Subject(s) |
| Identifiers: URI or URL | dc.identifier.uri | Depositor supplied | Required. Contains the handle assigned by IDEALS. | Yes. Depositor may point to additional URLs in the Identifier field if desired. | Controlled | URI |
| Author(s) or Creator(s) | dc.creator | Depositor supplied | Highly recommended for resources with an author or creator | Yes | Free Text, but format should be last name, first name or last name, first name middle initial or last name, first initial.middle initial. | Author(s) |
| Contributor(s) (e.g. editors, illustrators) | dc.contributor | Depositor supplied | Recommended for all resources with additional contributors like editors | Yes | Free Text, but format should be last name, first name or last name, first name middle initial or last name, first initial.middle initial. | Contributor(s) |
| Abstract or Summary | dc.description.abstract | Depositor supplied | Highly recommended for all resources | No | Free text | Abstract |
| Geographic Coverage | dc.coverage.spatial | Depositor supplied | Recommended for resources with a geographic component | Yes | Free text, but recommended best practice is to use a standard controlled vocabulary such as the Getty Thesaurus for Geographic Names | Geographic Coverage |
| Genre of Resource | dc.type.genre | Depositor supplied | Highly recommended for all resources | Yes | Controlled | Genre |
| Primary Language of Resource | dc.language | Depositor supplied | Highly recommended for all textual resources | No | Controlled | Language |
| Complete Citation for this Item | dc.identifier.bibliographicCitation | Depositor supplied | Highly recommended for previously published resources | No | Free text | Citation Info |
| Publisher | dc.publisher | Depositor supplied | Highly recommended for previously published or disseminated resources | No | Free text | Publisher |
| Series Name/Report No | dc.relation.ispartof | Depositor supplied | Recommended for resources in a series (e.g. a working paper series) | Yes | Free text but a standard format is encouraged | Series/Report |
| Sponsor | dc.description.sponsorship | Depositor supplied | Highly recommended for resources based on work sponsored or supported by an external agency or organization. See the Deposit Agreement. | Yes | Free text, but inclusion of sponsor name and grant identifier is encouraged | Sponsor |
| Copyright Statement | dc.rights | Depositor supplied | Recommended for all resources | Yes | Free text | Rights Information |
| Additional Identifiers_DOI | dc.identifier.doi | Depositor supplied | Recommended for resources that have a DOI supplied by a publisher | No | Controlled | DOI |
| Additional Identifiers_ISSN | dc.identifier.issn | Depositor supplied | Recommended for resources with an ISSN | Yes | Controlled | ISSN |
| Additional Identifiers_ISBN | dc.identifier.isbn | Depositor supplied | Recommended for resources with an ISBN | Yes | Controlled | ISBN |
| Additional Identifiers_Other | dc.identifier | Depositor supplied | Recommended for resources with another identifier | Yes | Free text, but should use standard identifier schema and should include a prefix to indicate which identifier scheme is in use. | Other identifier(s) |
| Choose the Appropriate degree | thesis.degree.name | Depositor Supplied (System supplied if using ETD submission interface) | Required (if using ETD submission interface) | No | Controlled | Degree Name |
| Dissertation or Thesis | thesis.degree.level | Depositor Supplied (System supplied if using ETD submission interface) | Required (if using ETD submission interface) | No | Controlled | Degree Level |
| Dissertation Chair | dc.contributor.committeeChair | Depositor supplied | Required (if depositing a dissertation using ETD submission interface) | Yes | Free Text, but format should be last name, first name | Doctoral Committee Chair(s) |
| Dissertation Director of Research or Thesis Advisor | dc.contributor.advisor | Depositor supplied | Required (if using ETD submission interface) | Yes | Free Text, but format should be last name, first name | Director of Research (if dissertation), Advisor (if thesis) |
| Dissertation Committee Member | dc.contributor.committeeMember | Depositor supplied | Required (if depositing a dissertation using ETD submission interface) | Yes | Free Text, but format should be last name, first name | Doctoral Committee Member(s) |
| Degree Granting Institution | thesis.degree.grantor | Depositor Supplied (System supplied if using ETD submission interface) | Required (if using ETD submission interface) | No | Free Text, but should conform to standard institution name with no acronyms | Degree Granting Institution |
| Dissertation/Thesis Degree department | thesis.degree.department | Depositor Supplied (System supplied if using ETD submission interface) | Required (if using ETD submission interface) | No | Free Text | Department of Study |
| Dissertation/Thesis Degree discipline | thesis.degree.discipline | Depositor Supplied (System supplied if using ETD submission interface) | Required (if using ETD submission interface) | No | Free Text | Discipline |
| Dissertation/Thesis Degree program | thesis.degree.program | Depositor Supplied (System supplied if using ETD submission interface) | Required (if using ETD submission interface) | No | Free Text | Degree Program |
|
Deposit Interface |
Metadata Element |
Depositor or Software Supplied |
Recommendation for Use |
Repeatable? |
Free Text/Controlled |
Display Label |
|
Not available |
dc.coverage.temporal |
Depositor Supplied |
Recommended for resources with a temporal component |
Yes |
Free text, but recommended best practice is to use a standard date encoding scheme if possible |
Temporal Coverage |
|
Not available |
dc.date.submitted |
Depositor Supplied |
Required when depositing thesis or dissertation |
Yes (when resubmitting thesis/dissertation |
Date Deposited |
|
|
Not available |
dc.description.tableofcontents |
Depositor Supplied |
Optional. A table of contents for a resource. |
No |
Free text |
Table of Contents |
|
Not available |
dc.description |
Depositor Supplied |
Optional. General description of resource |
No |
Free text |
Description |
|
Not available |
dc.format.extent |
Depositor Supplied |
Optional. The size or duration of the resource. Examples include a number of pages, a specification of length, width, and breadth, or a period in hours, minutes, and seconds. |
Yes |
Free text |
n/a |
|
Not available |
dc.relation.isversionof |
Depositor Supplied |
Recommended when resources also have a catalog record in Voyager. Generally automatically supplied. |
No |
Identifier in Online Catalog |
|
|
Not available |
dc.relation.isversionof |
Depositor Supplied |
Optional. For resources that have an available later version. |
Yes |
Free text |
Has Version(s) |
|
Not available |
dc.relation.isversionof |
Depositor Supplied |
Optional. For resources that have an available earlier version. |
Yes |
Free text |
Is Version Of |
|
Not available |
dc.relation.hasPart |
Depositor Supplied |
Optional. For resources that have available parts. For example, a journal issue that has articles available. |
Yes |
Free text |
Has Part(s) |
|
Not available |
dc.relation.replaces |
Depositor Supplied |
Optional. For resources that replace an available previous version. |
Yes |
Free text |
Replaces |
|
Not available |
dc.relationisreplacedby |
Depositor Supplied |
Optional. For resources that are replaced by an available later version. |
Yes |
Free text |
Replaced By |
|
Deposit Interface |
Metadata Element |
Depositor or Software Supplied |
Recommendation for Use |
Repeatable? |
Free Text/Controlled |
Display Label |
|
Not available |
dc.identifier.bibapp |
Software Supplied |
Required when depositing a resource from BibApp |
No |
Not Displayed |
|
|
Peer Reviewed |
dc.description.peerReview |
Depositor Supplied |
Highly recommended for published resources |
No |
Peer Reviewed |
|
|
Publication Status |
dc.description.status |
Depositor Supplied |
Highly recommended for resources for or in publication process |
No |
Publication Status |