To Add Additional Files:
Log into IDEALS and go to the item page. To the right of the item's title, select "Upload File." A popup will open displaying the existing files within the item above a space to drag-and-drop new files, or click the space to select files from your computer. When finished, simply close the popup.
To Edit Item Metadata:
Log into IDEALS and go to the page for the item whose metadata you want to change. Below the item viewer and permalink you'll find the "Description" section. Next to the section header, click "Edit." The item's metadata will appear in popup, where it can be edited. To add new metadata elements, scroll to the bottom of the popup and select the "Add Element" button.
To ensure that the type of material you would like to include in your unit meets the IDEALS criteria, review the:
To Start a Unit:
Departments, research centers, research labs, and other groups may establish a unit in IDEALS for your research and scholarship.
To start a new unit, email firstname.lastname@example.org with the following information:
IDEALS content is organized around units which generally correspond to scholarly or research units such as schools, departments, labs and research centers. Units can be organized into parent and child units, often used for narrower research units, or collections. A collection can contain deposited items. A full list of units and collections is available to browse.
IDEALS requires every unit to have an administrator who is responsible for child units and items; for example, unit administrators can decide:
The structure of their unit;
Who can submit items;
Whether there will be a review process for submitted items; and
Whether there will be access restrictions on a specific collection.
Only a unit administrator may manage a unit or collection.
As a unit or collection administrator, when you navigate to your unit or collection in IDEALS, you will see new options in the Items, About this Unit/Collection, and Access pages.
For detailed information about your privileges as an IDEALS Administrator, please visit the IDEALS Wiki page on Managing Units and Collections.