It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
"The journal of South Asian Popular Culture seeks to serve as an innovative and informative venue to discuss and debate the emergence and vibrancy of new forms of social, economic, cultural and political strategies and representations including those in film, music, radio, television, the press, fiction, sports, visual and cyber cultures, fashion, dance and sexuality." --Publisher website
"Published since 1974, Media Asia is a scholarly journal that shares research-based findings and critical insights addressing contemporary media issues and communication challenges in Asia. The journal welcomes articles in either the social scientific or humanistic tradition and in any disciplinary orientation." --Publisher website
General information about researching South Asia in the library, including popular keywords, information about library holdings, and a tab on South Asian film in the library.
Pop Culture India! by Asha KasbekarThe over-the-top musicals of Bollywood may be the most familiar aspect of Indian popular culture, but there are many more, all explored in this fascinating volume. * A rich collection of stills from Indian cinema, theater, television, and sports, plus photographs of significant sites and celebrities * A multidisciplinary bibliography covering cinema, theater, television, radio, print media, sport, and sociology, plus a helpful glossary of key terms such as cablewallahs, bhajan, and playback
Call Number: DS428.2 .K38 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-24
Media, Gender, and Popular Culture in India by Dipankar Sinha; Sanjukta Dasgupta; Sudeshna ChakravartiMedia, Gender and Popular Culture in India talks about media representations of popular culture and gender since the 1950s and tracks the changes that have taken place in Indian society. The authors give us a candid portrait of transformations in Indian culture, represented through the lens of the camera in films, television, advertisements and in a wide array of magazines, all of which focus on gender and familial representations and patriarchal norms in Indian society.
Call Number: HM621 .D37 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-16
Popular Culture in a Globalised India by K. Moti Gokulsing (Editor); Wimal Dissanayake (Editor)This book explores India's rich popular culture. Chapters provide illuminating insights into various aspects of the social, cultural, economic and political realities of contemporary globalised India. Structured thematically and drawing on a broad range of academic disciplines, the book deals with critical issues including: - Film, television and TV soaps - Folk theatre, Mahabharata-Ramayana ,myths, performance, ideology and religious nationalism - Music, dance and fashion - Comics, cartoons, photographs, posters and advertising - Cyberculture and the software industry - Indian feminisms - Sports and tourism - Food culture
The Library collection includes over 500 films from South Asia, mainly in Hindi, Tamil, and Bengali. You'll get the most accurate search results with a subject search for "feature films" plus the country or language you are looking for. You can further filter your results by subject, language, format, and genre using the links along the right side of the page.
With a mix of ethnographic, historical, auteur, and textual approaches, this collection presents a wide-reaching analysis of South Asian cinema. It extends well beyond Bollywood to Nepali, Sri Lankan, Pakistani, Bengali, and Kannada cinema, exploring music, dance, audiences, and filmmakers.This book was originally published as a special issue of South Asian Popular Culture.
This volume brings together a group of international scholars to analyze the globalized networks of Indian cinema. It provides a critique of a common scholarly tendency in the field of popular cinema of defining Indian films in terms of their modernity and desire for nationhood. Bollyworld argues that Indian cinema cannot be understood in terms of this national paradigm, and must be more properly described as a field of visual and cultural production that interlinks sites as diverse as the cosmopolitan city of Bombay, the provincial region of Maharashtra, and countries such as Nigeria, Germany, South Africa and the United Kingdom. The twelve essays track the intra-national and trans-national movements of Bollywood cinema. Divided into three sections, the first discusses the technology and aesthetics of India′s commercial cinema as it developed in the period that spans the silents from 1913 to the advent of the talkies in 1931. The second section studies these films as ′local′, ′intertextual′ manifestations of globalization and highlights the changes in post-liberalization cinema. Against the backdrop of economic liberalization, the institutionalization of multiculturalism and a strong voice of migrant Indian populations, the third section focuses on the overseas reception of Indian films.
Focusing exclusively on the cinema produced in Bombay between, roughly, the 1910s and the early 2000s, the book explores moments in the history of a cinema in which a category that can be found in all the cinemas of the world--the action ingredient--acquired prominence as a narrative element and as a means to make and sell films. Among other things the book traces the emergence of the stunt film which began to be made in the 1920s; examines the presence and function of women in action roles from the mid-1920s to the end of the 1930s; explores the wrestling films of Dara Singh; and revisits the films of Amitabh Bachchan. The final chapter examines the interconnections between, on the one hand, real estate and the emergence, in India, of multiplex cinemas in shopping malls, and, on the other hand, changes in the filmic representation of urban environments, contemporary actors bodies as sites of display, and the cinematic rendition of those bodies movements in that changing environment.
In his talk show Satyamev Jayate, film star Aamir Khan focuses on social issues in India and encourages viewers to take action to make positive change. You can learn more and watch full episodes on the show's website here. The videos include an option to add English subtitles.
Indian soap operas are extremely popular throughout South Asia. Learn more:
This book focuses on 'urban family soaps' on television and analyses them as an important resource for anthropological insights into contemporary social issues and practices. It studies the 'popular' and 'everyday' while also concentrating on the middle class.
At least one third of India's billion inhabitants regularly watch Indian soap operas, which have displaced popular cinema as the prime entertainment genre. And in the Indian diaspora on every Continent, Indian soap operas are a feature of life -- a source of pleasure, discussion and shared identity. This book characterizes the forms of these soap operas and relates how they have evolved. It explores how they have contributed to shaping the identity of modern India. Initially developed by the national telecast service, Doordoshan, specifically to convey messages about women's role, contraception and other family issues. Doordoshan also engaged viewers with serializations of the two great epics, the Ramayana and the Mahabarata. But with the onset of cable TV, soap operas became primarily entertainment driven and progressively more sensational. The book traces the impact of these different strands of soap operas and considers their impact on India's dominant concerns: the search for national unity, identity, the changing role of women, and the ideology of consumerism.
Watch South Asian TV in the US:
While the Library currently has limited holdings in South Asian television, both Sling TV and YuppTV offer international packages to stream South Asian television shows and channels.
Preview: Beyond All Boundaries
This 2013 documentary explores India's passion for cricket through three people's stories in the lead-up to the 2011 World Cup of Cricket. The full film is available to stream on Netflix.
Ramachandra Guha is one of the world's foremost historians and writers on cricket. Charting the social history of cricket in India he not only sheds light on the way a society works during a time of massive social and political transformation (the small but important social arguments that take place - for example, the staking out of territory in terms of public parks; the changes in position between the ruler and the ruled and within the limits of caste and class) but he also brilliantly traces the links between sport and politics.
This original collection demonstrates the importance of sporting practices, spaces and leisure affiliations to understanding issues around identity, (post-) migration, diaspora and transnationalism for global South Asian populations. The chapters provide a critical (re-) examination of the roles that sport plays within and in relation to South Asian groups in the diaspora, and raises a series of pertinent questions regarding the multifarious relationships between sport and South Asianness. The chapters range across a wide variety of disciplines, regions, sports and identifications. They are in conversation with each other while showing the particularity of each diasporic context and relationship to sport. The book encompasses a number of global contexts from the "homeland" (India, Pakistan, Afghanistan) to the diaspora (Fiji, Norway, the US, the UK), and addresses a broad range of sporting contexts, including basketball, boxing, cricket, cycling, field hockey, soccer and golf. The chapters combine a range of qualitative methods, including ethnography, auto-ethnography, participant observation, memoir, interview and textual analysis (film, television and print media). This collection comprises the latest cutting edge research in the field, and will be essential reading for scholars and students both of sport and South Asian diasporas. This book was published as a special issue of South Asian Popular Culture.
Sport, Culture and Nation by Kausik Bandyopadhyay
Publication Date: 2015-10-26
An in-depth analysis of the intricate relationships among sport, culture, politics, identity and regional cooperation in South Asia. In South Asia, sport has long been a site--albeit ignored by social scientists--which articulates the complexities and diversities of the everyday life of the nations. This book highlights the importance of sport in colonial and postcolonial times in India and South Asia as an essential cultural experience, a political tool, a social instrument and a commercial force. It reveals how sport has become politically, socially, culturally and emotionally significant, particularly, football in India and cricket in South Asia.Sport, Culture and Nation would be useful to historians, political scientists, sociologists and to scholars of South Asian studies as well as culture and leisure studies.
The Library collection includes over 200 Indian popular music recordings, housed in the Residence Hall Libraries and the Music and Performing Arts library.
Bhangra is commonly understood as the hybrid music produced in Britain by British Asian music producers through mixing Panjabi folk melodies with western pop and black dance rhythms. This is derived from a Punjabi harvest dance of the same name. This book looks at Bhangra's global flows from one of its originary sites, the Indian subcontinent, to contribute to the understanding of emerging South Asian cultural practices such as Bhangra or Bollywood in multi-ethnic societies. Gera Roy contrasts the frames of cultural imperialism with those of cultural invasion to show how Indian cultures have constantly reinvented themselves by cross-pollinating with 'invading' cultures such as Hellenic, Persian, Arabic and many others in the past.
This is the first book to tackle the diverse styles and multiple histories of popular musics in India. It brings together fourteen of the world's leading scholars on Indian popular music to contribute chapters on a range of topics from the classic songs of Bollywood to contemporary remixes, summarized by a reflective afterword by popular music scholar Timothy Taylor. The chapters in this volume address the impact of media and technology on contemporary music, the variety of industrial developments and contexts for Indian popular music, and historical trends in popular music development both before and after the Indian Independence in 1947. To illustrate each chapter author's points, and to make available music not easily accessible in North America, the book features an Oxford web musiccompanion website of audio and video tracks.
This companion website to More Than Bollywood includes streaming video and music clips for several chapters.
--> move this, not SA (global studies, or another general tab...?
The South Asian comics collection, housed in the Undergraduate Library, has over 1500 circulating titles, many in English. Visit the South Asian Comic Collection LibGuide and the International Comics tab above to learn more.
Commercial cinema has always been one of the biggest indigenous industries in India, and remains so in the post-globalization era, when Indian economy has entered a new phase of global participation, liberalization and expansion. Issues of community, gender, society, social and economic justice, bourgeois-liberal individualism, secular nationhood and ethnic identity are nowhere more explored in the Indian cultural mainstream than in commercial cinema. This book is a significant addition to the study of post-Global Indian culture. The articles represent a variety of theoretical and pedagogical approaches, and the collection will be appreciated by beginners and scholars alike.