Narrow your subject searches by country and/or language for the most accurate results. In addition, try these broad subject terms to append to your search terms (e.g., Popular Culture -- Latin America).
Latin American Popular Culture since Independence by
This unique reader offers an engaging collection of essays that highlight the diversity of Latin America's cultural expressions from independence to the present. The authors analyze case studies from Argentina, Brazil, the Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, and Trinidad-Tobago, tracing how their examples resonate in the rest of the region.
Latin American Popular Culture by
This fascinating book gives readers a firsthand look at the popular culture of Latin America -- its dance, cooking, art, carnivals, music, romance, funerals, monuments, medicine, and humor. This book is an entertaining introduction to the complex and unique world of Latin American history, popular culture, and civilization.
In this award-winning Mexican Film, Pedro returns to his remote Mexican village after 2 years of working in the U.S. and works to reconnect with his family. Watch the trailer below and stream the full film on Kanopy.
The Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies hosts an annual Latin American Film Festival in the fall at the Art Theatre in downtown Champaign. Visit the CLACS site for the 2017 program and information about future festivals.
Mex-Ciné by 
A Companion to Latin American Film by 
The Film Edge by The University of Illinois has an extensive collection of material on sport in Latin America and the Caribbean, comprising nearly 4,000 volumes--the only collection of its kind in the United States. Explore some of the highlights below, and visit the Research Guide to Latin American and Caribbean Sport for more information about the Library collections and tips to get you started on your research.
The University of Illinois is home to a significant collection of Latin American sport magazines from the 20th century, many of which can only be found at Illinois:
The Sovereign Colony by 
Women and Sport in Latin America by 
Sports Culture in Latin American History by 
Made in Latin America by 
Rockin' Las Americas by 
The best way to find international comics in the library is to do a subject search for "comic books, strips, etc" or "graphic novels" and then use the links on the right side of the page to filter by region and/or language. You can also try adding one of the broader geographical terms at the left (e.g., "graphic novels -- Latin America").
The library collection includes over 200 Spanish-language graphic novels, and titles from Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Mexico, Colombia, Cuba, Puerto Rico, and Nicaragua.
For information and updates about the Latin American comics scene, check out los Cómics, a weekly, (mostly) Spanish-language feature on the Pittsburgh-based site Comics Workbook. Comics Workbook also has features on comics in Brazil and Colombia (both in English).
Comics and Memory in Latin America by 
Redrawing the Nation by The 68 Voces project of the Mexican government aims to preserve and promote pride in Mexico's indigenous languages by producing short animated films highlighting poetry and oral traditions. Watch one of the short films below, learn more at the 68 Voces site (in Spanish) or read about it in English at Remezcla. The article linked below gives an overview of indigenous film making in Latin America.
Latin American soap operas, or telenovelas, have gained wide international popularity. Search for information about telenovelas in the library catalog with a subject search for "television soap operas" or a keyword search for "telenovelas." The resources below will get you started.
The Library has a collection of 25 Brazilian telenovelas on DVD, mainly in Portuguese without subtitles, but some also have English, Spanish, or Portuguese subtitles. You access a list of the telenovelas with call numbers and descriptions here.
Living with the Rubbish Queen: Telenovelas, Culture, and Modernity in Brazil by
An examination of the role of telenovelas-a Latin American sister to the Western soap opera-this book looks at their impact on the everyday lives of Latin American audiences. It seeks to explain telenovelas' cultural and commercial success; the meanings, identities, and social actions articulated through watching telenovelas; and how audiences-often first- or second-generation migrants in the huge cities of Latin America-use telenovelas in coping with urban life and modernity.
Argentinian Telenovelas by
This work explores the way in which telenovelas (TV serial dramas) give voice to contemporary and historical Argentinian social and political issues. The book explores how telenovelas might offer a subversive interpretation of reality; or provide a channel of dialogue with the government's political aims.
Telenovelas in Pan-Latino Context by
This concise book provides an accessible overview of the history of the telenovela in Latin America within a pan-Latino context, including the way the genre crosses borders between Latin America and the United States. Telenovelas, a distinct variety of soap operas originating in Latin America, take up key issues of race, class, sexual identity and violence, interweaving stories with melodramatic romance and quests for identity.
Drugs, Thugs, and Divas: Telenovelas and Narco-Dramas in Latin America by
In this first comprehensive analysis of telenovelas and narco-dramas, Hugo Benavides assesses the dynamic role of melodrama in creating meaningful cultural images to explain why these genres have become so successful while more elite cultural productions are declining in popularity.
